We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My family LOVES Dolce!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce

Dolce
792 Frederick Street, Hagerstown, MD 21740-6823
(301) 745-6300
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 197 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My family LOVES Dolce!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I live here in Hagerstown and will say that this is the best pizza in town. I encourage trying any of the authentic Eastern European cuisine as well. Julia's hospitality is out of this world. Agreed, it is small with a lack of any true ambiance, but you aren't paying for that, either. The prices are excellent for the quality of the food. Bring your own bottle of wine to enjoy with your meal, and bring cash or check book.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    27
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food but not great cramped location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My family and I went to Dolce while visiting Hagerstown. I chose the restaurant based upon the trip advisor ratings and rave reviews. The restaurant was clean and the server was very attentive. We went on a Saturday night and it was very cramped inside so cramped that when the server was helping the table next to us we had to scoot our chairs in so that we were jammed next to the table. I got the Gyros and while they were good I wouldn't go out of my way to get them again. But my husband got the pizza and it was very good. I would get that again. Also I got a salad instead of fries for my side and it was good. It had tomatoes, chopped carrots,peppers and onions. We would return for the salad and pizza and I think any other time other than Saturday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's is not worth the drive, but ok for local cooking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

A small pizza joint that we drove right past and had to circle back to try based on the reviews. Allot of pasta, bread and potato dishes. Fresh salad with over the counter bottled dressing. The Moussake was basic sliced potato casserole. Not all the potatoes were tender. Nothing special. The best part of the meal was the fried dumplings at the end covered in powder sugar.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

From the menu and the signs in the windows you'd think this was just a pizza-and-sub joint but they also have some ethnic Romanian dishes. So we had JULIA STUFFED CABBAGE, MOLDAVIAN CHICKEN, MOUSSAKA and Rice with Chicken. All were great. Whichever salad you get, choose the house dressing to go with it---superb.

From the outside the place is so non-descript that it's easy to drive by it. And inside is nothing to write home about. But the service is friendly and efficient. They don't have an alcohol license so you'll have to settle for soft drinks, tea, etc.

Afterward I wanted to travel to the casino at Charlestown, WV, to play the craps tables but my wife said "no dice".

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We stopped in for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff was very friendly. We chose from the European dinner menu and although the food was good it was not special. The restaurant would hav e been had to find had we not used our GPS. The decor was very clean but pretty basic.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce also viewed

 

Been to Dolce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.