We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual family style dining for a reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grille

Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grille
901 Dual Highway, (next to the Clarion Hotel), Hagerstown, MD 21740
301-797-4424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 194 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Casual family style dining for a reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Good pub food in a relaxing and fun atmosphere. So much better than a chain restaurant. The very friendly staff makes you feel at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    37
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PFAFFTOWN
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Awesome Service & Outstanding Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The service was excellent - Ask for Allen, he was Awesome!
We had the steamed shrimp appetizer and the Steak & Cake entree. We highly recommend both.
We ate at a booth in the bar ... the drunks and "trolls" were a bit much if you are not prepared for vulgarity and minimal clothing choices.
THE FOOD AND SERVICE WERE EXTRAORDINARY!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good specials, good service, bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was in Hagerstown for business with a colleague and we decided to watch some football while having a couple of beers. The beer specials were okay, if you like light beer - no full flavors were on special. They had a rib special with three different flavors, so we both decided to order them. It took over a half hour to get the food, and the ribs were very dry and not real tasty.
I have to say the waitress we had was absolutely wonderful. She kept up with refills, and was apologetic about the time for the food. I don't think we will ever go back, though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry,OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a good sports bar.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The food was great, especially the steaks. It was a bit noisy but it was a sports bar after all. I also had BBQ Ribs one night and it was good also.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good selection of food and drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed at Clarion and this was the on site restaurant. Very convenient after long day on road. Could relax, eat and drink, and walk back to room without any worries. Menu choices were extensive. Special of day was ribs and those were very good value. Service was attentive and timely. We would come again when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grille also viewed

 
Hagerstown, MD
 

Been to Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.