We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Longhorn

The Longhorn
1000 Prime Outlets Blvd, Hagerstown, MD 21740
(301) 393-8119
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 203 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ate here several years ago so we went with what we knew. Great location in the outlet mall parking lot so we knew it would be packed. It was also homecoming weekend for a couple of local schools. We were told approximately a 25-30 minute wait. We were seated within 5mins.

Waiter was great, food was great, great overall experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
grand island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The food was good, the waiting area smelled, the waiter was friendly. Surprising good for a chain restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“YOU COULD DO A LOT BETTER”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

After a long days drive from Boston to Knoxville we decided to spend the night in Hagerstown. Based on reading the reviews we decided to give this place a try. First of all this is a Longhorn Steak House, part of the chain.

We arrived at 6:30 p.m. and had a 15 minute wait to be seated. Once seated we waited another 10 minutes before the waitress acknowledged us. We ordered our drinks. My unsweet tea arrived as sweet tea. This was corrected and our order was taken. I had the Caesar salad nothing out of the ordinary. My wife's chopped salad was in fact a tossed salad and the greens looked liked they had been sitting out all day...Flo's filet had grizzle (very unusal for a filet) and was nothing to rave about. But to put the frosting on the cake our waitress put the check on the table before we were done with our main course and did not even ask if we were interested in a desert.

I'll take OUTBACK any day over this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“One very satisfying supper.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Was promptly seated in a booth, time being shortly before 6:00. My order was grilled fresh Rainbow Trout, with a cinnamon favored sweet potato, Trout very tasty & filling, with the sweet potato being very soft to the taste, no firmness at all. The cinnamon added much to the taste. The large toss salad served before the trout/potato was filling, where I could eat only half the main course.

For dessert ordered a Chocolate Stampede, a six favored cake, with two scoops of vanilla bean ice cream. Also very good. The cake was is enough for two people. Again I needed another box for a future meal.

I recommend both.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A little better than average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I suppose that I may have a higher expectations than most people when going to a steakhouse, however I cannot discount improperly prepared food on two out of two trips to the same restaurant.
To start with the positives, our waitress was attentive and did not take long to bring out drinks, and returned to the table often to see if we needed refills, or were ready to place our orders. The appetizer of Wild West Shrimp were good, were plentiful for two people, and were presented well. I would order them again based on having them this one time.
The negatives are in the preparation of the steaks. On two separate occasions, I've ordered a steak cooked to medium, which means "warm red center, perhaps a little blood on the plate." On both occasions, my steaks were grossly under cooked, to the point one may consider the steak rare. With my latest experience I ordered the 9oz filet, again cooked to medium, but was presented with a steak which was barely warm in the center and purple in color. hmm. While cutting the meat in the center of the steak ( at its thickest point ) and laying it wide open, it was evident the steak was well under cooked. So, goes the process of sending a steak back to the kitchen in hopes they will get it right on the second try.
A few minutes later I received the same steak, which I was "ok" with, but in my opinion I should have been presented with a new steak, and here's why. Any time a steak is either cut into, and/or re-heated, a steak will have the tendency to lose a lot of it's natural juices and tenderness. And this is exactly what I experienced with the filet, albeit being cooked to a satisfactory medium-well upon returning to my table.
My recommendation after having two steaks being undercooked, then returned to me being overcooked, is to not set your expectations too high when dining at this restaurant. If you're ok with a steak being cooked rare or well done ( the two easiest ) then you should be satisfied. If you want a really good steak, cooked to perfection try the tasting room in Frederick Md.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Longhorn also viewed

 

Been to The Longhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Longhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.