We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One very satisfying supper.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Longhorn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Longhorn
1000 Prime Outlets Blvd, Hagerstown, MD 21740
301-393-8119
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 200 Restaurants in Hagerstown
Restaurant details
East Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“One very satisfying supper.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Was promptly seated in a booth, time being shortly before 6:00. My order was grilled fresh Rainbow Trout, with a cinnamon favored sweet potato, Trout very tasty & filling, with the sweet potato being very soft to the taste, no firmness at all. The cinnamon added much to the taste. The large toss salad served before the trout/potato was filling, where I could eat only half the main course.

For dessert ordered a Chocolate Stampede, a six favored cake, with two scoops of vanilla bean ice cream. Also very good. The cake was is enough for two people. Again I needed another box for a future meal.

I recommend both.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    17
    19
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little better than average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I suppose that I may have a higher expectations than most people when going to a steakhouse, however I cannot discount improperly prepared food on two out of two trips to the same restaurant.
To start with the positives, our waitress was attentive and did not take long to bring out drinks, and returned to the table often to see if we needed refills, or were ready to place our orders. The appetizer of Wild West Shrimp were good, were plentiful for two people, and were presented well. I would order them again based on having them this one time.
The negatives are in the preparation of the steaks. On two separate occasions, I've ordered a steak cooked to medium, which means "warm red center, perhaps a little blood on the plate." On both occasions, my steaks were grossly under cooked, to the point one may consider the steak rare. With my latest experience I ordered the 9oz filet, again cooked to medium, but was presented with a steak which was barely warm in the center and purple in color. hmm. While cutting the meat in the center of the steak ( at its thickest point ) and laying it wide open, it was evident the steak was well under cooked. So, goes the process of sending a steak back to the kitchen in hopes they will get it right on the second try.
A few minutes later I received the same steak, which I was "ok" with, but in my opinion I should have been presented with a new steak, and here's why. Any time a steak is either cut into, and/or re-heated, a steak will have the tendency to lose a lot of it's natural juices and tenderness. And this is exactly what I experienced with the filet, albeit being cooked to a satisfactory medium-well upon returning to my table.
My recommendation after having two steaks being undercooked, then returned to me being overcooked, is to not set your expectations too high when dining at this restaurant. If you're ok with a steak being cooked rare or well done ( the two easiest ) then you should be satisfied. If you want a really good steak, cooked to perfection try the tasting room in Frederick Md.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, WA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Didn't know it was a chain, but hey---”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were visiting family in MD and wanted to check out the Prime Outlets in Hagerstown. We were pleased to see this restaurant adjacent to the Mall. It was only much later that we became aware that it was part of the Olive Garden, Red Lobster family which we are familiar with on the west coast. My husband had the Sirloin Pepper Melt with fries which he liked very much. I ordered the Strawberry Grilled Chicken Salad, it was huge and tasted great. Hot bread came to the table immediately. Our server was so completely on top on things that he brought my husband a refill on his tea before we even asked. The restaurant is decorated nicely and it is always pleasant to have cloth napkins instead of the expected paper. If we ever have the opportunity to visit a LongHorn Steakhouse in the future, we will certainly do it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Good good, nice place to stop right after shopping at the outlets. I will be back to try more on the menu!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A well crafted meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This steakhouse is one of the favorites in this area. The food is fresh and well prepared. There is a variety of beverages for your enjoyment. We stopped for a late lunch on a weekday and were seated right away. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't wait long for our meals to be served either.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Longhorn also viewed

 

Been to The Longhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Longhorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.