We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kent Island

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Kent Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Kent Narrows Rd., Grasonville, MD 21638   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Grasonville
Glenolden, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just an over night stop on a trip, and this hotel was a pleasant surprize. A bit dated, but they more than make up for it with decent rooms, a great location, and super friendly staff. The location is right off the highway, and there are at least 6 great bars/restaurants right on the water. Definitely worth another trip for a few days. There is a small pool and grassy area, and a nice little dock that juts into the lagoon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view in the back. It over looks a real nice little harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
30
50
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Camp Springs, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Celebrated my 8th wedding anniversary at the Kent Island Holiday Inn Express. Very, Very, surprised by the size of the King Room. Stayed in an Express over 15 years ago in Dallas and it was nothing like this. Hotel was clean, room was clean, the free popcorn was a plus :-) This will become our little get-a-way only 45 min. from home but far enough to relax. The bay view is a must! Friendly Staff and did I say clean.

Room Tip: Get the bay view, cost a little more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I was driving home from Berlin, MD with an appointment in Annapolis the following day, so I decided to spend last night at the HIX on Kent Island. I had driven by this property COUNTLESS times on the way back from the beach. I almost always stop at Harris Crab House, one of the best of several seafood restaurants nearby.

I was suprised to find a lovely outdoor area with a terrific bay view and perfect breezes. The hotel has a small pool. I'm a rehab nurse and I was in accessiblity heaven when I saw that the pool was eqipped with a lift chair so that those with limited mobility can use the pool!

There is some quirkiness: the hotel computer ( business center) is just sitting in a hallway outside of a guestroom; when you exit the first floor side door, ther is no card reader to get back in. Other than that, standard HIX fare for breakfast, awesome bed (better than mine at home), easy off the highway ( if you're going west. I agree that the room looked water damaged and hastily repaired, but hey - the property is sitting out there pretty unprotected from storms - remember Sandy?
I had a handicapped accessible room. I posted a picture of the BR. Roll in shower, very roomy.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the highway were suprisingly quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great location with several excellent seafood restaurants nearby. However, it is pricey for the quality of the rooms. There are water stains on the ceiling, carpets are well worn, and the bedding is not updated. Will not stay here again unless the hotel has been redecorated!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear 8Trixie,

Thank you for your review and enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comment, we truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, we wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Creek, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel and rooms clean. Breakfast very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. had no problem hooking up to their wi- fi. Good location for restaurants as well as a starting point for local trips to additional islands and coves around the Chesapeake area.
Have a nice seating area outside with a nice view of a portion of the bay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very much in the style of all Expresses. Very nice location weather permitting. Close to seafood restaurants. Nothing special. Staff is fine. Breakfast is OK, attentive breakfast person, but choices are limited. Room looks and feels like every HIE. Pricey for off season, probably whopping in season.

Room Tip: If you enjoy a view, ask for a room on the water side. You may have to pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear AnnoyingLittleMan,

Thank you for your recent comments about our Hotel. I am happy to know you found our location convenient. Please accept our apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations as well as competitive rates to the area. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department. We always welcome opportunity to improve. Hope to see you again soon.


Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

First off, great location. Next horrible hotel. Very expensive, we got a smoking room (didn't even know these still exhisted) , stink doesn't sum it up. The hallway smelled like some masking chemical/cleaner and the room like an ashtray. The beds weren't bad but overall the room felt dirty, we found what appeared to be a rather large "spitball" dried on the wall. The shower had zero pressure and the towels were like sandpaper. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Laird01,

Thank you for taking a moment to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know you like our location. However, I am very sorry about the experience you had in your room and the unusual smell you encountered. We would like to assure you that this is not normal and has been addressed with our housekeeping department. Kindly be assured that all your comments will be looked into and actions will be taken accordingly. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kent Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kent Island

Address: 1020 Kent Narrows Rd., Grasonville, MD 21638
Location: United States > Maryland > Grasonville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Grasonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kent Island 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Direct waterfront hotel on the Chesapeake Bay. Hot breakfast included with your stay, everyday. Observation Deck and Pier to get close to the Bay. Walking distance to all the restaurants and nightlife The Narrows offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kent Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island Hotel Grasonville
Holiday Inn Grasonville
Holiday Inn Express Grasonville
Grasonville Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Kent Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.