We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cream of Crab” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Inn

Fisherman's Inn
3116 Main St, Grasonville, MD 21638
410-827-8807
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Grasonville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A dining landmark since 1930 for lunch and dinner open year round. Relax as you dine in spacious dining rooms with a panoramic view of the water. There is also a must see G scale train running on 280 feet of track suspended over two dining rooms. Our menu features only the freshest crabmeat for our award winning crab cakes, fish, oysters, lobster, shrimp, steak and clams. Surf &Turf combos, we pair a juicy cut of roasted prime rib with our choice of 7 delicious seafoods.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Cream of Crab”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

First let me say this place has a train that runs on the ceiling of the restaurant. And i was not aware of this until my husband mentioned this was one of his favorite seafood places as a child because of it. So we had to make a quick stop when passing by...so this place holds some special childhood memories for him. Other than that, the seafood was good for the dead of winter.

Cream of Crab was 10/10 and the Crab Cakes were also very good. I would recommend for a family gathering. Not fancy, but it is pricing since its seafood.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    79
    32
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Really worth the drive across the Bay Bridge to experience this seafood restaurant. This was our 2nd visit,first time was during the Christmas season in 2011 and we had to wait 40 minutes to be seated today was the Saturday before New Year's at 6 pm and we were seated promptly. My boyfriend had the butternut squash/cream and crab soup, and the Sea Bass/shrimp and grits special. I had the cream of crab soup and the Crab Imperial, their specialty. The entire meal, soups, entrees were top notch. No room for dessert. The holiday decorations were up and very festive, the train overhead added to the enjoyable atmosphere. Service was good. The oyster plate collection near the front of the lobby area was very pretty to look at. Good 2nd visit, would go there again. No reservations accepted.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never fails us.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have been to the Fisherman's Inn three times over the past year. Every time we go the food is good and plentiful. It can be on the more expensive side but you are definitely getting what you pay for. The menus are all available on-line so you have a good idea of what your cost will be.

The decor is older but well maintained. There is a train that runs along the ceiling which helps keep the kids entertained while they wait.

Tonight I had the Seafood Cioppino which was from the "Casual dining" menu on the last page (sorry this one isn't on the website). It was plenty of food for me. My 7 year old had the steamer pot from the appetizer and was thrilled, my 10 year old had the shellfish linguine, my 13 year old had the broiled trio and my husband had the Mako special. Everyone was thrilled and we brought a lot home despite healthy appetites. My 7 & 10 year olds also learned how much they loved cream of crab soup when they snuck bites of my husband's bowl of soup.

We were part of a party of 10 and everyone went home happy and stuffed. I don't know how anyone would have room for dessert though those options looked very tempting. In fact, two of the 10 took home a slice of coconut cream pie.

It is not super fancy. It's good food with fair prices and a good place to take a large group with or without kids.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Disappointment on the Chesapeake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

After seeing the annual St Michael MD Christmas parade we were thinking about lunch and our next stop in Annapolis. With so many fine choices in St Michael's and Annapolis it was hard to choose but we settled on splitting up the trip with a stop by the Bay Bridge. Being a Saturday the restaurant had about half the tables occupied and wait staff scurrying about. Having had many a fine dinner there we did not give it a second thought to get some good food for lunch. The three of us went across the food groups with one getting the chicken special, one a seafood quesadilla, and a piece of broiled rockfish (striped bass) with crab imperial. The chicken and fish both had very plain and unappealing presentations. Basically a very small portion on a very large, barren white plate. The chicken and seafood quesadilla were reported as very good tasting and the portion size reasonable. The fish was an extremely small portion for $19.95. The crab imperial on top of the fish was a very thin coating that might have added up to a tablespoon in total. the fish was also overcooked and quite chewy. I should have returned the meal but with guests and an otherwise enjoyable outing just toughed out. Eighty five dollars for lunch for three without alcohol, painful lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is an acceptable alternative to the Narrows. The restaurant could use a renovation, there is still a heavy smoke odor from when smoking was allowed. The carpet is old, the booth seating in the bar needs to be redone.
Having said that, there is a charming train that travels around the ceiling, the view is scenic, the wait staff is very pleasant.
They have delicious cream of crab soup, their mussel appetizer is enough for a meal. They have good salads, fish and chips, and crabcakes. Not too expensive, it is well worth it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Inn also viewed

 

Been to Fisherman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.