We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Crab House

Harris Crab House
433 Kent Narrows Way North, Grasonville, MD 21638
410-827-9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Grasonville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Great atmosphere to relax and enjoy a good seafood meal and ice cold beverage. The setting is at a marina area so good views all around if you like being near the water and boats. I enjoyed the food and will likely go there again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    75
    30
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Reliable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Had a pleasant St. Patrick's Day lunch here. A couple of po'boy sammitches and a cup of the shrimp and corn soup that was so good we bought a quart to take home. Nothing fancy here, tall paper coffee cups for the very good Irish coffees and plastic cups for beer. Nice views of the harbor if you have a window table.

To be honest, The Narrows (It opened late due to a snowstorm.) is always our first choice in Kent island, but Harris Crab will be our fallback. Excellent, friendly service from Brandy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Always a Great Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

We used to stop here often on our way home from Ocean City but since we have relocated to the Eastern Shore we get up this way not so much. When we wanted to meet our kids, who were coming over from Annapolis, we suggested Harris and none of us were disappointed.

The waiters still write their names on the brown paper table cloths and they still write the legal-to-drink-alcohol birthday there too...some things never change.

I had an oyster rarebit, spicy, cheesy, and oystery all in one bowl, along with an appetizer of 8 lightly fried oysters. Perfect, combined with a locally brewed draft beer. My wife had a dozen clams, half of them steamed and half raw, combined with a fried oyster sandwich, and seemed to enjoy every bit of it.

Our son, daughter-in-law, and granddaughter shared a crab dip, which I had a taste of...wonderful! Granddaughter also had a shrimp salad sandwich which she raved over, daughter-in-law had the Oyster rarebit, and a half pound of steamed shrimp, and son had a mixed oyster platter (raw, steamed, and fried) which he thoroughly enjoyed.

We had time to chat and eat without feeling rushed, we were all happy and full when we left, and none of us had any complaints. If anything, the menu here has gotten a lot more extensive than it used to be, the service just as cheerful and efficient as ever, and the prices quite reasonable.

It was raining and sleeting while we were there but in more clement weather the view of the constant stream of boats passing through Kent Narrows is a guaranteed crowd pleaser. This is a great place to stop on your way home to the congestion of the Western Shore so don't miss it!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammonton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Went 2 times in 3 days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Went on a Friday night. Ate the all you can eat crabs and honestly, wasn't worth it for this time of the year. they mix #1 and #2 crabs, males and females both. The crabs were flavorless and dry. Got the crawdads and they were the same. had a nutty buddy that was good on a previous visit but this time it tasted like sand--freezer burnt.

We decided before we left to try again for lunch since this type of food wouldn't have been gotten anywhere along our ride home. we got a few crabs each (#1 males) and 3lbs of crawfish, 3 dozen oysters on the half shell and some beers. This time we noticed everything was as excellent as we'd remembered it and we shared our Friday night experience with the waitress. She said that she'd heard that Friday night there was a problem in the kitchen. (I was a bit disappointed that we weren't offered at least a free appetizer for our trouble but...) We also saw Mike Harris, one of the owners of the crab house. Mike is a definite stand out in the place, you'd know him if you see him. (Quite tall). He was there on Sunday and the crabs were bangin', the oysters fresh and the crawfish were on the money! And all was right with the world!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just came across this restaurant while birding in the area. The food was delicious and the service was great.. We sat upstairs so we could have a higher view of the area.. I had the lunch Crab Cake..a perfect Maryland crabcake, fries and yummy coleslaw and my hubby had the Crab Imperial..tasty hush puppies and potato salad. We shared our meals. We also took home a piece of Smith Island cake for later.. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris Crab House also viewed

 

Been to Harris Crab House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harris Crab House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.