We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Germantown - Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Germantown - Gaithersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20260 Goldenrod Lane, Germantown, MD 20876   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Germantown
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding package for a family member that was getting married in the area and it was excellent. The room was clean and comfortable with 2 Queen beds that felt like newer mattresses. There was no sag or springy feel you get in some lower cost hotels. There was a nice flat screen TV, refrigerator, free wifi, and plenty of space for a family of four to enjoy the room. The bathroom seemed recently updated with nice dark wood vanity and beautiful towel rack with cute boxes to hold extra towels - it looked real sharp and added some shelving to place things. The shower was nice with a very large shower head and was high enough to allow a person of average height to fit without having to duck underneath.

The hotel staff, especially at the front desk, were all extremely friendly and new we were in the wedding and asked how things were going. It was great to see such personable people running the front of a hotel - great job! The breakfast was excellent for a free hotel breakfast, with eggs, sausage, biscuits, muffins, bagels, toast, cereal, fruit, and yogurt. They also had the coolest automatic pancake maker the the kids loved. Unfortunately it repeatedly broke down during our stay, but it was nice having pancakes rather than the make your own waffles that are typically part of hotel fair. The hotel has an outdoor pool, but as we are in late September it was closed - it would have been nice to see that enclosed to allow year round usage.

There were only a few small issues we had with the room. First the toilet in the bathroom was a very high pressure flush and therefore was extremely loud. The high pressure was good, but when you can hear people in other rooms flushing their toilet at 1 in the morning - it gets kind of annoying. Our room was also just down the hall from the elevators and we could hear the ding of the elevators throughout the night. The room seemed well soundproofed from outside noise, but internally the noise seemed to carry a bit more than I would have expected.

Overall this was a great hotel with an excellent location right off I270 and although there were a few issues it really deserves consideration as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms near the end of the hall away from the elevator and the internal foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
5
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This place was great!!! The girls at the front desk were wonderful!!! They could answer all our questions. In their ad they say they have a free shuttle to Shady Grove subway, they don't. Shady Grove is 8 miles away and it's very easy to get to (especially on the week end). I can't praise this place enough. The lobby is great, the rooms were wonderful, and clean. We stayed there 3 days and loved it. We had to leave by 6:00 a.m. to catch the subway every morning and the gals who run the kitchen opened early to accommodate us. This hotel is so helpful!!!! Everyone is so nice! It's the best.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are nice and the building is somewhat modern and clean but I would stay here again mostly because.of the staff. Jacob works the night shift and personable, friendly, and very attentive to your needs. Nana and Michelle work the evening shift and they are awesome. Whenever I needed something they handled my request instantly and with a smile. Thank you Jacob, Nana, and Michelle!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were greeted with the biggest smile from Karlos, she treated us like we were a friend of hers, made sure we had everything we could want, our room was clean, and pretty much like most hotel rooms, we were on the 5th floor, it was quiet, breakfast selection was good, but the best part was that we were made to feel like we were at a friends home, Karlos made our stay a very pleasant one, we'll go back to this hotel again, the next time we visit.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Warm staff, nice lobby, free breakfast, wifi and parking, very clean at great rates. All that you could ask for in a hotel.
Rooms are kind of small, but works well for business travel.
Would be nicer if breakfast started at 6AM vs. 6:30, but no biggie.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable & quiet place for accommodation in Germantown Maryland. Good staff, & plenty of parking spaces. Good gym & breakfast with good fresh fruits. Good value for money, Hotel staff is very accommodating & nice team.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from elevator is always good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel for the complimentary shuttle provided to the Metro Station. We called the hotel to ask about the shuttle service - was told one schedule on the phone, a different time at check in, a different time when we arrived to take the shuttle, yet another time when the shuttle dropped us off and a different time when we called to have the shuttle pick us up at the Metro (which they were not going to do, but I insisted I was told earlier in the day I would be picked up anytime between 7 PM and 9 PM). When I asked to have the schedule clarified, yet again, the front desk staff was very rude. Please, it would be so helpful if everyone was on the same page. The website says check in is at 4 PM and checkout is at 11 AM, but the sign on the back of the door in the room says check in is 3 PM and checkout is 12 PM. Be aware when you stay of the time difference so you are not faced with additional fees. The breakfast bar was not stocked during our stay - I understand it was close to being sold out, but knowing this should allow the staff to be prepared. Our room was extremely musty smelling and damp. I was not impressed with our stay and do not believe we will be returning. I was excited to stay, but found too many negatives to enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-GG, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Germantown - Gaithersburg, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Germantown. My apologies that you did not have a good experience while at the hotel. We work hard to ensure that all guests feel good about being at our hotel and it is disappointing when we come up short. The shuttle hours and the check-in/check-out times have recently changed, and obviously we have not done a good job with correcting existing collateral or communication. Again, I do apologize for the confusion. There is no place for discourteous desk clerks, and this will be addressed. Thank you for the feedback regarding breakfast and the guest room as well. Our complimentary breakfast is immensely popular and we constantly look at ways to make it a better experience for all. Thank you for the feedback it is an integral part of our ongoing improvement, and once again please accept my apologies.

Paul Reynolds
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Germantown - Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Germantown - Gaithersburg

Address: 20260 Goldenrod Lane, Germantown, MD 20876
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Germantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Germantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Germantown - Gaithersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Germantown - Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Germantown / Gaithersburg Hotel Germantown
Germantown Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Germantown - Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.