We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AS GOOD AS THE AURORA, CO LOCATION?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carrabba's Italian Grill

Carrabba's Italian Grill
19935 Century Blvd, Germantown, MD 20874-7120
240-686-1100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 113 restaurants in Germantown
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“AS GOOD AS THE AURORA, CO LOCATION?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Last June 2012, we ate our dinner at the Carrabba's Italian Grill Restaurant located in Aurora, Colorado next to our hotel. We were very impressed with the excellent service, delicious foods and reasonable prices of our dishes. In my review of this restaurant, I gave it a score of A+.

This is not true in the Germantown, Maryland location. The "$15 combination menu" is no longer available so we had to order our appetizer and main dishes separately. Prices ranged between $16.00 - $22.00.

We were not given bread while waiting for our orders because they were still baking them. We were there about 5:30 p.m. The guy (different from our waitress) who gave us our calamari did not say a word when he handed us this dish. Later on, we overheard him introducing himself to the customers across our table as the Assistant Manager.

I was disappointed to see my main dish. It only has 4 shrimps and 4 scallops. For the price of this dish, I was expecting more shrimps and scallops!

Our waitress did not introduce herself to us when she came to our table. She was forgetful; we had to remind her twice that we needed a spoon for my companion's pasta.

Overall, I would give this restaurant a grade of C. It does not compare to the service we received at the Aurora location. Prices are higher and foods we ordered were average.
Management might try spending more time training their employees about providing excellent services to their customers.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    12
    19
    20
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Like every other Carabbas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Food is the same as is the decor to every other Carrabba's. This review rating is based against other Carrabba restaurants. It's ok food for a chain restaurant. The service in Frederick has always been quick.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Finally got to eat here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Have only eaten here once since it has opened. The hours have been very limited and somehow whenever we headed in that direction, we found them closed. But, one night we lucked out. Good atmosphere. Excellent waite staff. Good food.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I got a dish I could not pronounce with shrimp and scallops. The dirty martinis were excellent!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Part of chain, and even though my true Italian friends wouldn't be caught dead in a 'chain' Italian restaurant, from a pure enjoyment perspective, it's good decent food...

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrabba's Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.