We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Black/White cookies!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Bagel Bakery & Deli

Royal Bagel Bakery & Deli
19725 Germantown Rd, Suite B, Germantown, MD
(301) 428-1888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 113 restaurants in Germantown
Cuisines: Bakery, Delicatessen, Bagels
Restaurant details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Real Black/White cookies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Several years ago while in New York I had my first black/white cookie. For many years the only place i could find a "real" black/white cookie was here. Since the new owners have taken over, they actually have some left by the time I get there at noon. In the old days, if you didn't call ahead, they were gone by 9:00 am. BTW, they are still as good as they ever were.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    16
    7
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A weekly visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My family and I go here most weekends after Church! It is amazing! The bagels are delicious and the service is outstanding . I feel like I'm back in NYC! The new owners are super friendly ! Everything on the menu is to die for though I thoroughly recommend the asiago cheese bagel with strawberry cream cheese ! YUM!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Just average for bagels and baked goods.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am disappointed that the bagels are not better. There are two Einstein Brothers mini restaurants and bagel bakers in nearby Gaithersburg and both are more efficiently run and both offer better bagel values. Yes, and the Einstein deli offerings are also superior. The new management at Royal Bagel has lessened the quality and value of both the the deli and the bakery. Many sweet offerings are over iced with too sweet frostings. I hope that with more experience that the new managers will get back on an improved track. I wish them luck.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Used to be a great Deli, now just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Things changed when the original owners sold the place. Portions are smaller, baked goods not as well done. The new owner is cutting corners and it shows. Used to love this place, now it's just OK. My personal favorite it the Bronx - Hot Pastrami on Rye with Swiss and Thousand Island. There's just not as much of it as there used to be.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome bagels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Go here if you want an experience! Not only are the bagels the best in town, but their sandwiches and lunch menu is very tasty and fresh. Great place!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Bagel Bakery & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Royal Bagel Bakery & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Bagel Bakery & Deli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.