We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Selection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Butler's Orchard

Butler's Orchard
22200 Davis Mill Rd, Germantown, MD 20876
301-428-0444
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family farm providing good, green fun and local produce for over 60 years. We offer 300 acres of pick-your-own fruits and vegetables, a Farm Market, and special events throughout the year. At our annual Pumpkin Festival enjoy a hayride, jump in the hayloft, swoosh down the giant slides, visit barnyard buddies, play the rubber duckie derby, and explore the straw maze! Enjoy beautiful fall foliage, live music, hand dipped caramel apples, crafts, and lots more!
Highland Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
352 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great Selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Butler's Orchard is very nice with a wide selection of merchandise. It was very similar to the farms and orchards we are accustomed to in our area. It is definitely worth a visit during the fall harvest season.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    22
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
1 review
“Excellent blueberry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went there three four times for strawberry, blueberry and blackberry. Blueberry is our favorite. Sweet and juicy than any store purchases.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful farm for picking your own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I went to pick apples and ended up with two bags of wonderful, delicious apples, within a few minutes! Raspberries were also available but, as it is the end of the season, they weren't quite as plentiful. Still, we ended up with about half a bucket. The lady who greeted us - dressed up as the Great Pumpkin- was great and helped by giving us good, clear directions on how to get back to the apple trees. The apple trees are loaded with apples and it's very easy to go overboard. I plan on freezing nearly 15 lbs of apples I got on this trip!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely day for Apple, Potato, and Pumpkin Picking!I”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I went here just this past Saturday and I had a blast! I went with 4 adults and 4 kids and we were there for at least 2.5 to 3 hours. We spent most of the time picking, picking, picking! The apples were so sweet and delicious. There were only 2 varieties available when I went. Staymen which were plentiful and Golden Delicious which and average to above average available. When we went there were 2 places to find and pick your own pumpkins the kids all spent an hour picking the 'perfect' pumpkin. And we didn't mind because they had so much fun walking the fields, looking at bugs and deciding whether or not a perfect roundness trumps perfect orange color! Next we moved onto the potatos, they only had white and reds when we were there but they boys had a blast digging around for them. We ended up buying almost 15 pounds of tubers but I am sure its worth it.

Last but not least lets not forget the Country Store. We loaded up on the SWEETEST tomatoes and cucumbers. And of course the pies. The apple one was a hit BUT the very berry one was AMAZING!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Old Fashioned Family Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were there to pick blackberries and the crop was abundant and tasty. Our sons picked away as they ate their way through the blackberry bushes. We then drove over to dig potatoes (Appalachian Blue variety I believe) & had the best time with our very young boys digging in the dirt. Though we brought our own shovels, Butler's Orchard will provide them for you free of charge. The potatoes were absolutely delicious with a more meaty & less starchy flavor. A-W-E-S-O-M-E! We are looking forward to returning for apple picking & pumpkins
very soon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butler's Orchard also viewed

 

Been to Butler's Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butler's Orchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.