We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butler's Orchard

Butler's Orchard
22200 Davis Mill Rd, Germantown, MD 20876
301-428-0444
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 3 attractions in Germantown
Type: Farms
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A family farm providing good, green fun and local produce for over 60 years. We offer 300 acres of pick-your-own fruits and vegetables, a Farm Market, and special events throughout the year. At our annual Pumpkin Festival enjoy a hayride, jump in the hayloft, swoosh down the giant slides, visit barnyard buddies, play the rubber duckie derby, and explore the straw maze! Enjoy beautiful fall foliage, live music, hand dipped caramel apples, crafts, and lots more!
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I like how everything is fresh. All the pies are really good and the ice-cream is sooo good (especially on top of the pies!)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great fresh items especially fruit in season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Although a bit on the pricey side the pick-it-yourself or buy ready to go produce is excellent and the location is extremely easy to get to from I-270. October is especially fun with displays of pumpkins and lots of cute photo opportunities.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“New to the neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have lived in the area for several months but this was my first time visiting Butler's Orchard. It is very close to our home, raspberries were amazing, tomato's were good and corn was just okay. We got a frozen blueberry lemon buckle pie that was awesome. I imagine because it was 4th of July weekend they were busy and we probably didn't get the best pickings of the corn and tomato, we purchased them at the store and not through pick your own. Only real downside was the price of their milk, we wanted to try it and then realized after that is was $5 for a half gallon which seems very high.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Cute Local Market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

In season the veggies are good and local. I like the various sauces. This time I got the habanero mustard. I will have to go back for more.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Go now for pick-your-own blueberries and blackberries!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I'm a longtime Butler's fan but never wrote a review. However, this year's fruit crop is so good that I want to encourage anyone who hasn't gone yet to go this season. We went two weeks ago for strawberries, which were wonderful, and today for blackberry picking, equally wonderful. Both were way better than last year's. The blackberries are amazing, twice the size compared to what you can get at the store, and half the price per pound. Blueberries are also ripe and excellent now. It's great for all ages, there is a wagon ride to the blueberry patch, a great playground (optimally ages 3-7 or thereabouts) and a wonderful market with extensive local produce and much more. It's easy to spend money here especially at the market, but there is no minimum or per-person charge, you just pick and pay by the pound. The operation is well run and the fields are very clean. Also beautiful views driving into the orchard and up and around the property. Don't miss it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butler's Orchard also viewed

 

Been to Butler's Orchard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butler's Orchard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.