We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place for Chinese in Germantown, MD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Hong Kong

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Hong Kong
13038 Middlebrook Rd, Germantown, MD 20874-2617
301-972-6363
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 124 Restaurants in Germantown
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Good Place for Chinese in Germantown, MD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friends and I have eaten here two times and ordered off the menu. I haven't tried the lunch buffet, therefore, cannot comment on it. Both times we had excellent service and the food was nice and hot when it was presented at our table. The staff is friendly and accommodating. They will prepare the food in the way you want it; that is, no msg, no added soy sauce, not too spicy or any other preference. This restaurant is very clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food for chinese delivery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a delivery, the person who took my order was kind of rude, but over all food tasetd good,was still warm when delivered and wasn't a long wait.Its a good place for getting chinese delivery prices are decent too.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Germantown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

This is my go to Chinese restaurant in Germantown. There are many many Chinese restaurants in the area but this is the real deal. They cook down home style as well as the Americanized favorites. I usually go once or twice a week.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“go elsewhere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Rude, slow, hostile service when picking up a take out order that the restaurant misplaced.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
“Bad Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

I have lived in Germantown for quite some time and have dined in and used their take out fairly often. I have seen a consistent pattern of argumentative behavior when the wrong order was received. They seemed more concerned with losing money than making the customer happy - no compromise at all. Clearly they were wrong on the last order - I wrote it out and went over the order twice and several selections were incorrect. When I called back they told me I was wrong and refused to budge. I WILL NEVER ORDER THERE AGAIN. Not nice people and since I have a choice I will take my business elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Hong Kong also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.