We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found Another Winner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Market Bistro

Black Market Bistro
4600 Waverly Ave, Garrett Park, MD 20896-9998
301-933-3000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
North Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Found Another Winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a neat place this is! Located in a historic building formerly the Garrett Park MD Post Office. The Black Market Bistro is in a wooded setting near the railroad tracks at the back of a residential neighborhood. Although a bit off the main drag, it's very easy to locate and well worth a visit. I went for Sunday Brunch and had a very nice Eggs Benedict dish and my wife really liked her vanilla french toast with an orange infused maple syrup. Took a look at the dinner menu which includes Hardwood Grilled Atlantic Salmon, Grilled Cocoa Spiced Pork Tenderloin, Pepper Crusted Yellow Fin Tuna and Roasted Organic Free Range Chicken. They feature PEI mussels served several different ways and cornmeal fried oysters as appetizers. Quality food in a very unique and pleasant facility that has real charm. Dinner entrees run in the $22 - $30 range and are accompanied by local produce sides such as a golden cauliflower-thyme puree, madiera infused pears, fresh vegetable of the day and sweet corn and scallion creamy grits. Nice selection of salads and soup of the day is usually creative and fresh.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    39
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We go to Black Market Bistro at least once a month. It is always good. The food is very fresh, well made, and tastes delicious. Some of our favorites are the shrimp and grits, butternut squash soup, warm squid salad, Addies style mussels, and their homemade ice creams, really just about any dessert. No matter what you order, you can't go wrong.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Just what we had in mind for New Year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went to Black Market Bistro for a quiet, relaxing, intimate dinner for New Year's Eve and got just what we wanted. The place is quaint and pretty--in an old post office building right next to a tiny train station. During our dinner, 3 passenger trains and one freight train went by... and we just loved it. Food was very good, particularly the chestnut soup, lobster resotto, and and duck main dish. The wine paring was just okay.

The reason for only 4 stars is the price tag. We had two standard dinners plus only one wine paring and nothing else. The total (plus tips) was $260.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Terrific food and service - moderate prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The Market Bistro is probably the most informal restaurant in the excellent Black's chain of eateries in the Washington DC area. This one is located in the middle of suburban Maryland (Bethesda/Rockville more or less) and occupies a restored former railroad hotel/inn. I've eaten lunch and brunch there and both times was very impressed with the quality of the food. The brunch menu is fairly limited and traditional (eggs benedict, croque monsieur/madame, pancakes, etc.) but the freshness of the food and the accompanying sauces are way above average in a city with very good food options. The eggs benedict (ham or salmon) are served on a homemade biscuit; the sauce has a perfect tartness and the plate comes with grilled asparagus and a small salad ($14.00). Most of these choices can be made as vegetarian plates (no problem for the kitchen). Nice wine list and some excellent desserts. We had a lemon mousse roulade that was terrific.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington ontario
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Best Salmon Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My choice, the Planked Salmon was very good. The other 3 in the party also rated their choices as very good, pizza, chicken and roast pork.. Service was quick and the food arrived promptly and perfect temperature. Wouldhave liked some gluten free choices but thats hard to come by in lots of places. Nice atmosphere too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Market Bistro also viewed

Been to Black Market Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Market Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.