We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for your group!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Tree Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gapland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maple Tree Campground
Save
You added Maple Tree Campground to your Saves list
20716 Townsend Road, Gapland, MD 21779   |  
Hotel amenities
South Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great place for your group!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Just came back from a weekend with the Boy Scouts at the Maple Tree Campground (December 2012). We also stayed here back in February 2011. While we certainly stay here at odd times of year, we love this place!

Right off the bat, location: it's on the side of a mountain. Not carved into a mountain, it's on the mountain slope. This means it can be a bit hairy getting your car in and out, but it also means great views through the trees from every site that we explored! I've never camped at a campground at a mountain location like this that I didn't have to backpack in to. If you want to drive your RV in a park it, taking a golf cart around, this place is not for you. If you want a site or a lovely treehouse with nature around you and the beautiful Appalachians out your window, this is for you. We stayed here because it was the closest camping to Antietam National Battlefield 20 minutes down back roads), but it's also walking distance from Gathland State Park (five minute walk) and a great base for hiked on the AT (located on the ridge above your sites - 10 1/2 beautiful miles into Harper's Ferry, WV). We'll definitely be back for that hike.

Accommodations: We tent camped both times. The first time we stayed with ten boys and three adults in Lion and Leopard sites at the top of the mountain, with great views and a few inches of snow for the fun of it. The road up is steep (we walked our gear up due to ice on the road), but the sites are spacious, spread out, and equipped with picnic tables. Our stay this weekend was the the tipi field with sixteen boys and six adults, so we needed the extra space. We were the only campers outside, so we had a ton of space for the boys to run around in, views of the sunset, and some festive Christmas lights to look at. Our only disapointment was that this site was right on the road, so cars came pretty close (although they didn't come by often). If you don't have a large group like us and are tent camping, get a site up top. Nice, clean bathrooms are available, and showers too (we didn't partake of outdoor showers, as it's winter).

Staff: Staff were helpful and friendly. Booking was easy by phone. Very tolerant of having sixteen boys run all over the property (they are good kids, but they are still energetic boys). Gave us the run down on hiking the AT if basing from the campground, which has us excited to come back.

Minor issues:

* Only one, online booking was very glitchy. Look at the map on the website, but save yourself time and make your reservations by phone. They'll be friendly.

Room Tip: If tent camping, get one higher up the mountain, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. Our online booking system is 4 years old, by computer standards that is ancient, we are in process of up-dating it to the next version, and that will be done in a few weeks.
Thanks for your kind words, it was great having you guys here, Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    20
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My boyfriend, two friends, and four dogs rented two tree cottages in early September. We all loved it! Some of the reviews I read before we decided on the trip had me concerned that the place was going to be a police state as far as having a few drinks and laughing around the fire. Absolutely NOT THE CASE. While this is clearly a family oriented establishment, we were a group of 30/40 yr olds with no children, and I'm certain we ( and the dogs a few times) were happily loud. We DID make sure to adhere to the quiet time at 11pm, but no one came to complain that we were simply awake around the fire after 11.

This place is very pet friendly. Our canine friends consisted of two pitbulls, a pitbull/african mastiff puppy, and a shepherd/mastiff. They are all well behaved, friendly dogs and were kept leashed , of course, but these are breeds that are often discriminated against. We appreciated the lack of discrimination.
The cabin, bathroom facilities and showers ( outside showers, but nice hot water) were immaculate. Our campsite had two picnic tables, a nice fire pit, and a charcoal grill, and was quite large. The camp store had firewood, ice, lots of things you may have forgotten, and some neat jewelry for sale. The owner and employees were all super pleasant and helpful..providing info and a map of the surrounding area. The campsite is close to Aintetum, the C & O canal, Appalachian trail, Harpers Ferry. We had a marvelous time and can't wait to go back when it's a little cooler to take advantage of the wood stoves in the tree cottage.

Room Tip: Call the owner with your concerns/requirements and she will help you pick the best available site/tr...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hi. Thank you for your review. It is true, peaceful people who abide by the rules, and are considerate of their neighbors, are very much appreciated and welcomed here. They keep the wind in our sails, thanks again, Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights/3 days in a tree cottage, and before our trip ended, the girls (aged 6 and almost 8) were already asking if we could return next summer. They thought I was sleeping when I heard one of them say, “Isn’t the tree cottage so cool?” and the other replied, “Yeah, it’s so quiet and peaceful!”

Here’s what the kids liked about the Tree House Camp and the area:

- Living without running water & electricity in the home, “like in the olden days” (their words).
- The cuteness of the place, like staying in a life-sized play house.
- Knowing that we were on the side of a mountain.
- Climbing up and down the bunk beds (they don’t have those at home!).
- Eating breakfast outside on the patio under the trees.
- Reading the names of the different tree houses and tree cottages (we were in “Cypress”).
- Finding animals in nature (including deer, fish, cranes, squirrels, butterflies, an insect that looked like a leaf, and lots of daddy-long-legs).
- Looking up & seeing the sky while taking a shower.
- The friendliness of the owner (Louise) who talked with the children directly, and let them borrow a book about fairies.
- Seeing nearby farms whenever we drove in or out of the campground, and pointing out silos, cows, horses, barns, corn, and even soybeans.
- Making smores at the campfire.
- Using their own flashlights.
- Playing the board games that we had packed.
- Tubing on the Shenandoah River in the sunshine, followed by wading in the water, & then a picnic and ice cream.
- An afternoon at Harpers Ferry, running in & out of the historic buildings that have been made into museums, learning about John Brown’s raid, and completing the free children’s activity book provided by the park service to earn their junior ranger badges.

Here’s what the adults liked:

- We could afford it!
- We didn’t need to pitch a tent.
- Our cottage was clean and ready when we arrived.
- Being under solid shelter from the rain during an evening thunderstorm.
- We had mattresses to sleep on.
- Showers with hot water at the main building.
- Having lots of family-friendly activities in the area to pick from.
- Despite lack of electricity in the cabin, we could still charge our cell phones at the office.
- The friendly owner really wanted us to have a good time, and asked for our feedback.
- Telling the girls about our own camping experiences when we were growing up.
- Good distance from the DC area – close enough that we didn’t have to spend too much time driving there, but far away & different enough that it felt like we were “getting away from it all.”
- Being able to drive 10 minutes to Dan’s Restaurant & Taphouse in Boonsboro, MD for dinner on the night we just didn’t feel like grilling.
- Big smiles in the adorable pictures that we took.
- Not needing to be on a tight schedule - definitely a change of pace from our day-to-day lives.
- Lots of time and space to have quality conversations with the kids and each other.
- The kids were happy.

Can you handle staying at a place without a fridge/air conditioning/electricity, and walking a couple minutes down a hill for running water for a few days? (If not, then you shouldn’t be at any place called a “campground.”) If your answer is “yes,” then I definitely recommend the Tree House Camp for an affordable family trip that will result in some fond memories.

Room Tip: All of your options are NOT the same - the tree "houses" are more rustic than the tree &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

What I liked best about this campground was that unlike a State park the campsites were not right ontop of each other. Each cabin has its own picnic table and fire pit, however the site is on such a steep hill they are kind of difficult to use. The major drawback to this campsite is the shower situation. There are only two shower stalls for the entire campground. They are seperate from the bathroom areas and are open, which is actually really neat because you can see the sky. It looks as though they are building another stall but when I went this past weekend there were only two, one of which only had cold water. To take a shower in the morning meant you had to get in line because the two available were coed, making the lines even longer.
Overall a neat campground, I was glad to try it once but probably wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: The camping cottages are not really worth the extra fee in the summer. Although they are larger the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We recommend taking a shower at an odd time, not 9 a.m.. The afternoon sun, sunset, or even late night with the starsis a great time for an outdoor shower. Getting a great shower is like finding the perfect parking spot at the perfect time, some people have a knack for it.
We are on top of a mountain, and that has advantages and dis-advantages. we have the views.
Most sites have level areas. Some are more level than other sites. If you take the time to walk around on a Sunday after everyone has checked out, you will find sites that work best for you. If you scroll down to the blue F on our web site and click on it, it takes you to our Facebook page. Go to photos and then "see all." June 9, there is an album with 64 photos of all the tent sites. I am always adding more photos. These will give you a good and clear understanding of our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We found this location last minute and emailed an inquiry for availability. Within 15 minutes I had a reply and we were able to get a cabin that had just received a cancellation. The owner was very clear about the rustic conditions we were reserving, so we went in eyes wide open. However, if we had long been planning a get-away trip to a tree house camp, we would have been more disappointed. On the whole site there seem to be only two true "tree houses." Everything else, including ours, was essentially raised cabins on a very hilly terrain. Our cabin was one of the older ones (Bluebird). And while the stairs had been redone fairly recently, the roof leaked during the rain storm and the screen had several patches covered over with duct tape and a few not covered at all. There was an inordinate amount of poison ivy on our small camp site, and the parking space would have been near-impossible were it not for all-wheel drive. We were also closer to the port-a-potty than the map indicates, and unfortunately were downwind most of the time.

Would we go there again? Absolutely, but I would give much more lead time to allow booking one of the newer cottages or tree cabins. The owners were wonderful and I wholly support their philosophy of peaceful, respectful camping for all. They were responsive and customer focused. I never for a moment expected we'd be staying in anything more that what we had. They are clear in their communications. They run a camp store with everything you might need that you forgot. They have the cleanest bathrooms I've EVER seen while camping, and they have wonderful showers, a separate dish washing sink, and a dumpster for trash, and roped off pathways between the campgrounds. Also, the prices are wonderfully reasonable.

Room Tip: Book early for roomier cottages or more recently built/renovated cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I'd like to clarify a few things. The treehouse sites are quite large, at least 900 square feet of ground. There is about 50 yards between sites that has dense forest, but there is little vegetation at the site. You will not encounter poison ivy IN any site, it is in the woods, between sites, so, if you stay in your site and on the pathways, you will not encounter it.
Yes, we have a variety of cabins and tree houses, the Robin and the Falcon and Hawk are new, and very "tree-housey", even though they don't have trees inside, they are high up off the ground, with covered porches and lofts.
Screen maintenance is constant. Sometimes a camper will put duct tape on a hole in the screen, and then we replace the screen.
The port-o-johns get cleaned every thursday. If you had a bad experience with them, it was likely because it was the July 4 Holiday that fell on Wednesday, and we were extremely busy mid-week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My daughter, her dog, and I recently camped at the Maple Tree Campground in a Tree Cottage. Louise greeted us when we checked in and she was very friendly and helpful, providing us with a bag of wood for the overnight stay, (which included a starter for only $11). Our cottage, The Hickory, had the USA flag proudly waving from the balcony...inside was spacious, with mattresses on the bunks, a working woodstove, and dining table and chairs. The site itself was also large enough to accommodate picnic table, firepit, grill (which I will keep in mind for future visits) and ample parking spot. The Campground is pet friendly, which for us was very important, most campsites will not allow a dog in a cabin. We enjoyed a hike through the campground checking out recently upgraded cottages and tree houses. The campground is situated on South Mountain which allows for wonderful views, peace and quiet, and historical attractions closeby. The bathrooms/shower and office building was a short walk from our campsite, and there was also a portajohn a short distance from our site. I am a morning coffee drinker and enjoyed Louise's fresh brewed coffee (only $1) and conversation in the morning. I highly recommend this campground! I have enjoyed camping for about 30 years now in tents, popup camper, and cabins, but this was truly a fun experience as the campsite was not overloaded with hundreds of campers. Camping in a tree cottage instead of on the ground for me, was fun! It is open year round and I hope to return later in the fall season.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My son got sick two days before our one-night camping trip to this lodge. It was mid-November, and not a high capacity time, so I called and asked for a refund - and was flatly refused. The owner said, 'I wouldn't make any money if I refunded a deposit every time someone got sick!' So she kept our $25 - and lost our business for good. I would never stay at a place where the owner is more concerned about keeping $25 than she is in keeping her customers happy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Hello,,
Our refund policy is written in large red ink on the 'rules' page and 'camping options' page of the web site.
We do not give refunds, we give credits.
If someone cancels with enough notice and I am able to re-book, I give them a week end credit.
if someone cancels last minute and the space goes unused , and we lose the Saturday night revenue, their deposit becomes a Sunday through Thursday credit, they can sell it or give it as a gift, it is good for a year.
Everyone has a life, and things happen, people get called back to work, cars break down, people or pets get sick, every reason for cancelling is a good reason, and we expect cancellations.
However, our policy is such for a good reason. If we gave refunds, it would jam up the booking system, people would book when they didn't quite have plans in order...and it simply would not work with this small business.
Most people appreciate the ability to reschedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maple Tree Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Tree Campground

Address: 20716 Townsend Road, Gapland, MD 21779
Location: United States > Maryland > Gapland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gapland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and a half hours from D.C. and Baltimore we have a small tree house campground and are open year round. There are a variety of camping options, the Hobbit House and Tree Cottages have wood stoves and mattresses, there are new ones and older ones. There are a variety of tree houses, they do not have mattresses or wood stoves. Each site has a fire circle, picnic table, and grill.The bathrooms and showers are centrally located. We have secluded tent sites. We are 7 miles from river rafting, tubing, horseback riding, zip-lining, and a ten-minute walk from the Appalachian Trail. Also, 10 minutes from a train into D.C. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Tree Campground Hotel Gapland
Maple Tree Campground Maryland/Gapland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Tree Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.