We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very satisified” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Tree Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gapland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maple Tree Campground
20716 Townsend Road, Gapland, MD 21779   |  
Hotel amenities
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“We were very satisified”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We found this location last minute and emailed an inquiry for availability. Within 15 minutes I had a reply and we were able to get a cabin that had just received a cancellation. The owner was very clear about the rustic conditions we were reserving, so we went in eyes wide open. However, if we had long been planning a get-away trip to a tree house camp, we would have been more disappointed. On the whole site there seem to be only two true "tree houses." Everything else, including ours, was essentially raised cabins on a very hilly terrain. Our cabin was one of the older ones (Bluebird). And while the stairs had been redone fairly recently, the roof leaked during the rain storm and the screen had several patches covered over with duct tape and a few not covered at all. There was an inordinate amount of poison ivy on our small camp site, and the parking space would have been near-impossible were it not for all-wheel drive. We were also closer to the port-a-potty than the map indicates, and unfortunately were downwind most of the time.

Would we go there again? Absolutely, but I would give much more lead time to allow booking one of the newer cottages or tree cabins. The owners were wonderful and I wholly support their philosophy of peaceful, respectful camping for all. They were responsive and customer focused. I never for a moment expected we'd be staying in anything more that what we had. They are clear in their communications. They run a camp store with everything you might need that you forgot. They have the cleanest bathrooms I've EVER seen while camping, and they have wonderful showers, a separate dish washing sink, and a dumpster for trash, and roped off pathways between the campgrounds. Also, the prices are wonderfully reasonable.

Room Tip: Book early for roomier cottages or more recently built/renovated cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I'd like to clarify a few things. The treehouse sites are quite large, at least 900 square feet of ground. There is about 50 yards between sites that has dense forest, but there is little vegetation at the site. You will not encounter poison ivy IN any site, it is in the woods, between sites, so, if you stay in your site and on the pathways, you will not encounter it.
Yes, we have a variety of cabins and tree houses, the Robin and the Falcon and Hawk are new, and very "tree-housey", even though they don't have trees inside, they are high up off the ground, with covered porches and lofts.
Screen maintenance is constant. Sometimes a camper will put duct tape on a hole in the screen, and then we replace the screen.
The port-o-johns get cleaned every thursday. If you had a bad experience with them, it was likely because it was the July 4 Holiday that fell on Wednesday, and we were extremely busy mid-week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    18
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My daughter, her dog, and I recently camped at the Maple Tree Campground in a Tree Cottage. Louise greeted us when we checked in and she was very friendly and helpful, providing us with a bag of wood for the overnight stay, (which included a starter for only $11). Our cottage, The Hickory, had the USA flag proudly waving from the balcony...inside was spacious, with mattresses on the bunks, a working woodstove, and dining table and chairs. The site itself was also large enough to accommodate picnic table, firepit, grill (which I will keep in mind for future visits) and ample parking spot. The Campground is pet friendly, which for us was very important, most campsites will not allow a dog in a cabin. We enjoyed a hike through the campground checking out recently upgraded cottages and tree houses. The campground is situated on South Mountain which allows for wonderful views, peace and quiet, and historical attractions closeby. The bathrooms/shower and office building was a short walk from our campsite, and there was also a portajohn a short distance from our site. I am a morning coffee drinker and enjoyed Louise's fresh brewed coffee (only $1) and conversation in the morning. I highly recommend this campground! I have enjoyed camping for about 30 years now in tents, popup camper, and cabins, but this was truly a fun experience as the campsite was not overloaded with hundreds of campers. Camping in a tree cottage instead of on the ground for me, was fun! It is open year round and I hope to return later in the fall season.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My son got sick two days before our one-night camping trip to this lodge. It was mid-November, and not a high capacity time, so I called and asked for a refund - and was flatly refused. The owner said, 'I wouldn't make any money if I refunded a deposit every time someone got sick!' So she kept our $25 - and lost our business for good. I would never stay at a place where the owner is more concerned about keeping $25 than she is in keeping her customers happy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Hello,,
Our refund policy is written in large red ink on the 'rules' page and 'camping options' page of the web site.
We do not give refunds, we give credits.
If someone cancels with enough notice and I am able to re-book, I give them a week end credit.
if someone cancels last minute and the space goes unused , and we lose the Saturday night revenue, their deposit becomes a Sunday through Thursday credit, they can sell it or give it as a gift, it is good for a year.
Everyone has a life, and things happen, people get called back to work, cars break down, people or pets get sick, every reason for cancelling is a good reason, and we expect cancellations.
However, our policy is such for a good reason. If we gave refunds, it would jam up the booking system, people would book when they didn't quite have plans in order...and it simply would not work with this small business.
Most people appreciate the ability to reschedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We camped there once during 2011 - stayed in the Willow tree cottage. Clean and roomy. We have booked 3 more camping dates for 2012. Can't wait to go back!!! Dog friendly, clean bathrooms and showers, and the people who run the place are amazing. Our friends stayed at a neighboring tree cottage - they have booked 2 trips this year. Relaxing, private, a real get away that is close to home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed one night in the Cypress cottage while hiking the nearby Appalachian Trail. The cottage was spacious, and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and mattress. I had a couple special requests and the owner and associate were very gracious and went far, far out of their way to help me. This is a fantastic place run by fantastic people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for positive feed-back. It is a joy to have gracious people pass through here, thanks, Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goflyergo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed with my husband, another couple, and our two dogs in the Magnolia, and we had a fantastic time! It was small but clean, with more than enough bed space (two single bunks, a double bed, and a queen bed). Even though there were about a million Boyscouts staying there that weekend, we felt relative peace and privacy. The location is gorgeous, with easy access to the Apalachian trail. The facilities were lovely (try the outdoor showers!), and our campground was spacious and nice. There were a campfire ring and grill, as well as a wood stove inside (though we didn't use the stove). Firewood was for sale at a reasonable price at the office, in addition to a bunch of canned goods and other necessities, should you forget something (no perishables, though).

And the owners are the nicest people EVER! Truly, I want to come back just to interact with them more.

Room Tip: The Magnolia has great access to the showers and bathroom without being noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words, you really made my day, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Owner - Fabulous!
Location - Perfect!
Facilities - Clean!
Showers - Fun!
Trip- Awesome!

We had a great time at this location. The owner is very accommodating and the campground is beautiful. The tree houses are clean. The showers are outdoors, which was kind of refreshing. The only issue we faced was the roads. The incline is very steep, making it an exhausting climb to and from the bathroom/shower/water/electricity/firewood source. The roads were in extremely bad shape (large holes and erosion causing you to bottom out on rocks) when we were there so we couldn't drive our cars up to our site without risking damage to them. Great camping location if you don't mind the hike and you don't have any physical limitations.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lower cabins/treehouses so you can avoid the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thanks for your very positive review. The rough patch of the road has been paved since your visit. (see pictures on facebook.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maple Tree Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Tree Campground

Address: 20716 Townsend Road, Gapland, MD 21779
Location: United States > Maryland > Gapland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Gapland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and a half hours from D.C. and Baltimore we have a small tree house campground and are open year round. There are a variety of camping options, the Hobbit House and Tree Cottages have wood stoves and mattresses, there are new ones and older ones. There are a variety of tree houses, they do not have mattresses or wood stoves. Each site has a fire circle, picnic table, and grill.The bathrooms and showers are centrally located. We have secluded tent sites. We are 7 miles from river rafting, tubing, horseback riding, zip-lining, and a ten-minute walk from the Appalachian Trail. Also, 10 minutes from a train into D.C. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Tree Campground Hotel Gapland
Maple Tree Campground Maryland/Gapland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Tree Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maple Tree Campground to your Saves list