We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat in the Woods” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maple Tree Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gapland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Maple Tree Campground
Save Saved
You added Maple Tree Campground to your Saves list
20716 Townsend Road, Gapland, MD 21779   |  
Hotel amenities
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Retreat in the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

My daughter, her dog, and I recently camped at the Maple Tree Campground in a Tree Cottage. Louise greeted us when we checked in and she was very friendly and helpful, providing us with a bag of wood for the overnight stay, (which included a starter for only $11). Our cottage, The Hickory, had the USA flag proudly waving from the balcony...inside was spacious, with mattresses on the bunks, a working woodstove, and dining table and chairs. The site itself was also large enough to accommodate picnic table, firepit, grill (which I will keep in mind for future visits) and ample parking spot. The Campground is pet friendly, which for us was very important, most campsites will not allow a dog in a cabin. We enjoyed a hike through the campground checking out recently upgraded cottages and tree houses. The campground is situated on South Mountain which allows for wonderful views, peace and quiet, and historical attractions closeby. The bathrooms/shower and office building was a short walk from our campsite, and there was also a portajohn a short distance from our site. I am a morning coffee drinker and enjoyed Louise's fresh brewed coffee (only $1) and conversation in the morning. I highly recommend this campground! I have enjoyed camping for about 30 years now in tents, popup camper, and cabins, but this was truly a fun experience as the campsite was not overloaded with hundreds of campers. Camping in a tree cottage instead of on the ground for me, was fun! It is open year round and I hope to return later in the fall season.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    20
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

My son got sick two days before our one-night camping trip to this lodge. It was mid-November, and not a high capacity time, so I called and asked for a refund - and was flatly refused. The owner said, 'I wouldn't make any money if I refunded a deposit every time someone got sick!' So she kept our $25 - and lost our business for good. I would never stay at a place where the owner is more concerned about keeping $25 than she is in keeping her customers happy.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Hello,,
Our refund policy is written in large red ink on the 'rules' page and 'camping options' page of the web site.
We do not give refunds, we give credits.
If someone cancels with enough notice and I am able to re-book, I give them a week end credit.
if someone cancels last minute and the space goes unused , and we lose the Saturday night revenue, their deposit becomes a Sunday through Thursday credit, they can sell it or give it as a gift, it is good for a year.
Everyone has a life, and things happen, people get called back to work, cars break down, people or pets get sick, every reason for cancelling is a good reason, and we expect cancellations.
However, our policy is such for a good reason. If we gave refunds, it would jam up the booking system, people would book when they didn't quite have plans in order...and it simply would not work with this small business.
Most people appreciate the ability to reschedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We camped there once during 2011 - stayed in the Willow tree cottage. Clean and roomy. We have booked 3 more camping dates for 2012. Can't wait to go back!!! Dog friendly, clean bathrooms and showers, and the people who run the place are amazing. Our friends stayed at a neighboring tree cottage - they have booked 2 trips this year. Relaxing, private, a real get away that is close to home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed one night in the Cypress cottage while hiking the nearby Appalachian Trail. The cottage was spacious, and spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and mattress. I had a couple special requests and the owner and associate were very gracious and went far, far out of their way to help me. This is a fantastic place run by fantastic people.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for positive feed-back. It is a joy to have gracious people pass through here, thanks, Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goflyergo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I stayed with my husband, another couple, and our two dogs in the Magnolia, and we had a fantastic time! It was small but clean, with more than enough bed space (two single bunks, a double bed, and a queen bed). Even though there were about a million Boyscouts staying there that weekend, we felt relative peace and privacy. The location is gorgeous, with easy access to the Apalachian trail. The facilities were lovely (try the outdoor showers!), and our campground was spacious and nice. There were a campfire ring and grill, as well as a wood stove inside (though we didn't use the stove). Firewood was for sale at a reasonable price at the office, in addition to a bunch of canned goods and other necessities, should you forget something (no perishables, though).

And the owners are the nicest people EVER! Truly, I want to come back just to interact with them more.

Room Tip: The Magnolia has great access to the showers and bathroom without being noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words, you really made my day, thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Owner - Fabulous!
Location - Perfect!
Facilities - Clean!
Showers - Fun!
Trip- Awesome!

We had a great time at this location. The owner is very accommodating and the campground is beautiful. The tree houses are clean. The showers are outdoors, which was kind of refreshing. The only issue we faced was the roads. The incline is very steep, making it an exhausting climb to and from the bathroom/shower/water/electricity/firewood source. The roads were in extremely bad shape (large holes and erosion causing you to bottom out on rocks) when we were there so we couldn't drive our cars up to our site without risking damage to them. Great camping location if you don't mind the hike and you don't have any physical limitations.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lower cabins/treehouses so you can avoid the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treehouse123, Owner at Maple Tree Campground, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thanks for your very positive review. The rough patch of the road has been paved since your visit. (see pictures on facebook.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I was wonderfully surprised how clean and bugless the inside of the cottages were! Very cute and comfortable. Even the outdoor showers were kinda nice with the natural stone and cement look going on there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maple Tree Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Tree Campground

Address: 20716 Townsend Road, Gapland, MD 21779
Location: United States > Maryland > Gapland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gapland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and a half hours from D.C. and Baltimore we have a small tree house campground and are open year round. There are a variety of camping options, the Hobbit House and Tree Cottages have wood stoves and mattresses, there are new ones and older ones. There are a variety of tree houses, they do not have mattresses or wood stoves. Each site has a fire circle, picnic table, and grill.The bathrooms and showers are centrally located. We have secluded tent sites. We are 7 miles from river rafting, tubing, horseback riding, zip-lining, and a ten-minute walk from the Appalachian Trail. Also, 10 minutes from a train into D.C. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maple Tree Campground Hotel Gapland
Maple Tree Campground Maryland/Gapland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maple Tree Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;