We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now this is what crispy duck should taste!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai House Restaurant

Thai House Restaurant
8369 Snouffer School Rd, Gaithersburg, MD 20879-1502
301-963-1800
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 292 Restaurants in Gaithersburg
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
“Now this is what crispy duck should taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My companion and I had our Friday dinner at the Thai House Restaurant yesterday, June 14, 2013.The goal was for me to try their "Crispy Duck" entree and then compare it with the one we had at another Thai Restaurant located in Kentlands (Gaithersburg, Maryland).

We gave this restaurant an " Excellent "rating due to the following reasons:

Delicious foods: The crispy duck we ordered was really crispy and the meat appeared to be and tasted like that of a duck. The big noodle dish we ordered was tasty and had several seafood such as shrimps, clams,and calamari.

Big Servings: We were given big servings so we had leftover foods to take home.

Reasonable Prices: the crispy duck was for $18.95 while the noodle dish was for $10.95. With our drinks and dessert (sticky rice with sweet mangoes), our total bill plus tip amounted to about $52.00.We felt that these prices are reasonable as long as we enjoyed our foods and drinks.

Wait Staff: Three of them alternated in looking after us while we were dining. Our drinks were timely refilled and our additional order of rice was quickly provided to us.

Ambience: The restaurant is small but is very clean. I like its simple wall decorations and apple green paint.

Conclusion: We plan to return to this restaurant to try their other dishes next time we have a yearning for Thai foods.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edgewood, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh Ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We drove an 1.5 to get to this restaurant in hopes to find great Pad Thai. We arrived and ordered two appetizers and received them within in 5 minutes OR less from ordering and they were both very fresh and tasty. Our food was only a few minutes behind that. This was some of the fastest service I've ever experienced and everything was extremely fresh when we received it. The Pad Thai was excellent, lighter than usual but still full of flavor. I would definitely return and recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food in Strip Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Food is always cooked fresh and to taste. Great for take out. Service is attentive. Interior of restaurant is not as depicted in TA presentation. Very disappointed in the mis-representation.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai, wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I'm so lucky to have this place a few miles away. The food is always delicious. They claim to have a 1-10 rating for spiciness. I find 3-4 to be plenty of heat so I can't imagine what the really hot levels must be like!

Everything's good. We get kee mao (drunken noodles) and green curry often. Golden triangles are yummy tofu puffs. If you order carryout goong phuket it'll arrive in separate containers so the shrimp stays crispy. We begged for the gaeng karee goong (yellow curry) with chicken instead of shrimp and it was fabulous. The only thing I don't love is Gai Sub which just tastes like standard Chinese restaurant yellow curry (but my daughter loves it). They have brown rice and sticky rice available even though they aren't aren't the carryout menu.

If you're calling in an order be sure to ask about specials... One day they had duck rolls on the specials and they were so, so good! If they have crispy chicken available get it!

If you eat in, expect a tidy little place in a strip center. Nothing special about the decor, but the staff are super nice and will give you pointers about the menu if you like. They have beer and wine but no liquor available.

Note: it's small and family run, so sometimes they close early if business is slow. Call if it's getting toward closing time. Also, their website has the menu but it's a PDF file,which may not be cellphone friendly... pick your order out while you have access to a real computer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Very very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Everything is amazing at that restaurant. From the good food, good and friendly owners, to the good and friendly service from the waitress.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai House Restaurant also viewed

 
Gaithersburg, MD
 

Been to Thai House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.