We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel! Please disregard the bad reviews!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
MABLETON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel! Please disregard the bad reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2004

We stayed in this hotel over Thanksgiving and were very happy with everything. The room was thouroughly clean and neat, smelled very nice (not strong, just fresh), and had all the features promised in the website, including A/C, spacious desk, comfortable chairs, comfortable beds and pillows, windows that open for fresh air, numerous toiletries in the bathroom, free parking, free shuttle to the nearest Metrorail station, good housekeeping service, and helpful staff. Our window got stuck, we called the front desk and a maintenance person was sent up immediately to fix the problem. The restraurant's nice, with pleasant decor and polite waitstaff, and the food's pretty good (we had breakfast, and also scanned the selections in the menu for lunch and dinner). The restaurant had special Thanksgiving menus both for lunch and dinner, as well as cocktail hour in the bar, a very nice touch. The indoor heated swimming pool and jacuzzi are excellent, we used them and enjoyed them very much.

We would stay in this Hilton again and highly recommend it to visitors of the area!

  • Stayed November 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    80
    76
    42
    21
See reviews for
59
46
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2004

In my personal opinion, The Hilton Washington is delicously divine in every possible way. First, I must say that I very strongly disagree with the reviewer who mentioned that the hotel has a "musty smell" to it, please allow me to mention that it most certainly does not. The lobby and halls and suites smell of fresh lavender and a pine tree-like accent on the side. Secondly, the rooms, I dare say, are most surely not dirty or dusty in any way. I must declare that they were so clean I slipped on departing my luxurious tile floor suite. The housekeepers came instantly when I called the front desk to report my slight accident. As people usually are, the people at the Hilton were kind and courteous to me. I, after all, am royalty. Queen of England, I am! Ha to you pxxx faced prats who dare accuse the Hilton Washington of being under royalty standards!!!! xxx to you too editor!

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2004

While the previous reviewer seemed to have more problems than we did, I also did not care for the hotel. We got it on Priceline for $55/nt. Firstly, while the rooms have been "renovated", the renovation was half-hearted. The beds, fixtures, a/c system are still original. The room was still very dim with all of the lights on. Bathroom is perhaps the smallest I've seen, even for other Hilton hotels where I've stayed. The biggest negative would be the train that runs very close to the hotel. Even with the A/C running, the trains can be heard AT ALL HOURS. On the positive side, the rooms were kept very clean, housekeeping services were fine. I can't see a reason why I would stay here again given the choices nearby.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central coastal nj
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2004

Booked rooms through Priceline, have gotten this dump so many times through Priceline that we have stopped using Gaithersburg as an area for consideration. We've stayed here 4-5 times over past 2 years so the problems with this place are ongoing and persistent, not occasional flukes. Only good point is we get this room for $29 bid each time, so if you just need a place to lay your head and aren't planning on bathing, this hotel may work for you. We have written to priceline.com several times to let them know their 3 star rating is ridiculous for this motel 6 type facility.Each room has had a musty mildew odor that becomes worse with the a/c turned on. Plumbing problems are pervasive each time we've stayed here. All showers taken above the 3rd floor have very uneven water pressure, uneven water temps while showering, and on 3 occasions lost all water during middle of shower. It took upwards of 15 minutes for water to come back on each time. All sinks have backed up while brushing teeth to a point that hotel maintenance had to be called each time.Rooms have dirty tired feel to them, rugs are worn and all rooms have had stains on carpets. Linens have been thin on several beds, truly threadbare on 2 of them. Dirt and dust accumulated in corners, looks like someone needs to come in with a corner vacuum or broom and get to work.No direct Metro access nearby. There is a bus stop about 1/4 mile away, but it's a regular in town route that will eventually get you to the Metro via several transfers if you have an hour or 2 to spare each way. There is an onsite restaurant but we've never eaten there, so can't evaluate it. There are many many other places to stay in this general area that are a much better value for the money, and much closer to the Metro and provide free shuttle service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2004

This is a good location for doing business in the NW suburbs. The decor is dated and the elevators are painfully slow. Beware large groups of school children who call this hotel home in the spring.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Address: 620 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington DC North/Gaithersburg Hotel is conveniently located just outside Washington D.C. in the heart of the highly active I-270 Corridor. Gaithersburg, MD is an upscale business, entertainment and residential area in suburban Maryland, in close proximity to Bethesda, Rockville and Germantown Maryland as well as Washington, D.C. and Northern Virginia. The Metro station is close by and easily accessible via the hotel complimentary shuttle service.Style, comfort, service and convenience are pillars of the Hotel which is richly appointed throughout with the Signature Hilton Serenity Beds, 37" flat screen high definition TV's, complimentary in-room WiFi, in-rrom single cup coffee makers, luxury amentities and a host of other upgrades to make your stay comfortable. The hotel also has an indoor-outdoor pool and a fully Precor equipped health and fitness facility. For dining and entertainment, the hotel is proud of its Rooks Corner Restaurant serving three meals a day in a comfortable and inviting setting. The plentiful offerings include a full breafast buffet with omelet and waffle station as well as a la carte breakfast and for lunch and dinner are of American fare including succulent steaks, seafood sandwiches and salads. The hotel also presents a Starbucks coffee shop, and a bar and lounge with a complete selection of beverages including single malt scotches and small batch bourbons served along side complimentary hors d'oeuvres on week nights. If you are planning a meeting or conference, the hotel is fully equipped with a ballroom and meeting spaces totaling over 17,000 square feet and complete banquet and catering menus and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dc North Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.