We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Except for Noisy AC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Piscataway, New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good Except for Noisy AC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I arrived very late. Too late to eat at the hotel restaurant but the man working at the front desk was very friendly. Got a room on the 11th floor which was nice. There was a coffee machine but no fridge (It looked like there was a place for a fridge so they might provide one if you ask). The room was a decent size, however the bathroom was small. I was traveling solo so this was fine but might be an issue for a family. Both the remote and phone were not working so I called the front desk and they had someone come up in a matter of minutes to fix both. The only really bad thing about the room was the ac. When it came on, it made a loud humming sound. It annoyed me so much that I took a chance on sleeping in a hot room vs listening to the AC all night. Fortunately even with no AC, the room temp. stayed at a comfortable level.

Room Tip: If traveling with family, get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello PrettyNJMomma—Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Gaithersburg Hilton. We benefit from all comments such as your and use them as tools to improve our service and product. I am please that for the most part, everything was to your satisfaction, but am sorry that you had a problem with some of the items in your room including the noise from the air conditioner. I assure you that we do regular preventive maintenance on all mechanical items in the room, and am sorry that this problem slipped through. I am pleased though, that our staff responded quickly when called and that room stayed cool enough even without the air conditioner. I hope you will again choose our hotel when your travels bring you back to the area.

Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    68
    62
    35
    18
See reviews for
42
39
26
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I recently hosted an event at the Hilton in Gaithersburg. (Class Reunion).
Everyone went above and beyond to take care of my guests. The night of the event people requested sleeping rooms last minute, and they accommodated all of the guests. Looking forward to planning and staying at this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hello swtheartmb03—Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your class reunion held at the Gaithersburg Hilton. We thank you for choosing us and were proud to be the host for this event with so many of the attendees part of our local community. I am pleased that everything went well and hopefully we will see you back in five years for your next reunion event.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Booked & confirmed a smoking room, when I arrived I was informed that the hotel is now non-smoking, a phone call to advise would have been nice, could have made other arrangements. Pool is open from 6-10 am & 4-10 pm, forget about working on your tan at this location! Ended up cutting my stay short!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello Elizabeth W—Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent experience at the Gaithersburg Hilton. I am sorry that you were not aware that the hotel is now entirely “smoke free”. We have been planning this change for some time, unfortunately, due to cleaning and other considerations necessary, we did not know the exact day we would convert. We only completed a short while ago and it would not have been feasible for us to contact those who specifically needed smoking rooms. As there are more and more hotels going completely “smoke free”, I hope that this will not deter you from choosing us for your next visit. We would be pleased to have you back.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

The pros: front desk staff was very friendly and welcoming; lobby is attractive and rooms are clean and in good condition. (Bonus: bathroom mirrors are heated automatically so they don't fog up.) Also, the free shuttle to the Metro was nice.

Cons: our room had a sofa bed but no sheets or pillows for it. Had to ask the front desk for that, and it took them over an hour to arrive. There was supposed to be a "mini bar," but there was nothing other than a coffee maker. No coffee cups/mugs--only glasses. The instructions in the room for printing from your computer to the hotel's printer didn't work.

I usually stay at Hampton Inns but thought I'd splurge for a Hilton this time. But my Hampton Inn stays have actually been nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello PennHoosier—Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Gaithersburg Hilton. I am pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and were able to point them out, but certainly disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations in other important aspects of your stay. I have addressed your concerns related to housekeeping with our Executive Housekeeper and will be considering your comment about “mini bars” when we plan future changes to our rooms. This is very valuable information for me to have.
We thank you for choosing our hotel and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a nice hotel. They apparently do a number of conferences, so the hotel was extremely busy. We were there for travel sports, so we had the whole family with us. The lobby was nice with plenty of room. The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff did a great job with our room. The only downfall was the noise of the air conditioning unit within our room. The only real complaint I had with the hotel was the pool. They had both an indoor and outdoor pool combined. They offered life guard services, which was nice, but the hours were terrible. The pool was open from 7 AM till 10 AM and 3 PM to 6 PM.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello bigdaddycool492—Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Hilton during your recent travels with your family and for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel and service. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to comment positively. I understand your comments about the noise of the air conditioner, and only wish you had let us know so that we could have adjusted it while you were here. As for the pool, our experience shows that for the most part, these hours work for most of our guests, but am sorry if you were disappointed. I do hope you will choose our hotel when you are coming back to the area as we would love to have you back.
Best Regards,
Yale Feldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Adequate. Nothing special and expensive for what it is. Air conditioning noisy. Bathroom small and no fan. Rooms are decent size. All in all, an average experience. Staff are pleasant and housekeeping good. Breakfast expensive for what it is. No gift shop to get emergency items.

Room Tip: There are deals to be had if you are staying for 4 or more days. But otherwise, it is expensive for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello Rettenger- Thank you for choosing the Gaithersburg Hilton for your recent stay and for posting your comments. I am pleased that you were overall satisfied as indicated by your rating and that you were able to comment positively about our staff, but disappointed that you feel we are only adequate. We strive to be better than that and take your comments to heart for improvement. I hope you will give us another opportunity to excel the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Best regards,
Yale Feldman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I were visiting MD and spent 2 nights at the Hilton. Overall, its a decent hotel and could definitely use some renovation upgrades.

Pros:
1. The hotel is easily accessible to I-270 and other major highways in and around Gaithersburg.
2. Rooms are clean and ok. But could definitely have refrigerators and microwave.
3. There are 3 elevators and at times it can be a testing waiting game.
4. Complimentary free internet available.
5. Ample parking space. Self-parking is free.

Cons:
1. Could use some renovations. Feels outdated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello SR007—Thank you for choosing the Gaithersburg Hilton for your recent travels and thank you for taking the time to post a Trip Advisor Review to let us know of your experience, I have reviewed your comments and certainly understand the things that you feel would enhance your stay. As always, we look into what it would take to satisfy your needs, as the voice of the customer is the loudest voice we hear and the one we listen to most attentively. We do have future plans for all of the comments you mentioned and you should see some changes the next time you visit.
We hope to see you back again in the near future.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dc North Gaithersburg Hotel
Hilton Washington Dc North Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hilton
Address: 620 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington DC North/Gaithersburg Hotel is conveniently located just outside Washington D.C. in the heart of the highly active I-270 Corridor. Gaithersburg, MD is an upscale business, entertainment and residential area in suburban Maryland, in close proximity to Bethesda, Rockville and Germantown Maryland as well as Washington, D.C. and Northern Virginia. The Metro station is close by and easily accessible via the hotel complimentary shuttle service.Style, comfort, service and convenience are pillars of the Hotel which is richly appointed throughout with the Signature Hilton Serenity Beds, 37" flat screen high definition TV's, complimentary in-room WiFi, in-rrom single cup coffee makers, luxury amentities and a host of other upgrades to make your stay comfortable. The hotel also has an indoor-outdoor pool and a fully Precor equipped health and fitness facility. For dining and entertainment, the hotel is proud of its Rooks Corner Restaurant serving three meals a day in a comfortable and inviting setting. The plentiful offerings include a full breafast buffet with omelet and waffle station as well as a la carte breakfast and for lunch and dinner are of American fare including succulent steaks, seafood sandwiches and salads. The hotel also presents a Starbucks coffee shop, and a bar and lounge with a complete selection of beverages including single malt scotches and small batch bourbons served along side complimentary hors d'oeuvres on week nights. If you are planning a meeting or conference, the hotel is fully equipped with a ballroom and meeting spaces totaling over 17,000 square feet and complete banquet and catering menus and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg to your Saves list