We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Washington, D.C.
1 review
“very welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2008

I've stayed here before and as usual the desk staff was welcoming and efficient, the other employees always doing their jobs very well and were always pleasant. Everything was clean. I was especially surprised at how good the restaurant food was--some of the best fries I ever had. The prices were a bit high as one would expect in a hotel restaurant but the quality was much better than one would expect . They have some good chefs, though I think the lighting needs to be better in the area as I could hardly read the menu. Otherwise, no complaints.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    99
    82
    45
    22
See reviews for
66
52
29
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

Good location, nice facility, good food and GREAT people.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

My husband attended a class for work in Gaithersburg. I had never been to the Washington DC area so I went with him. While the room was a typical hotel room, the staff was excellent. We had trouble connecting to the Internet and they sent some one up immediately to help us. Another time I found water dripping from the vent in the bathroom above the tub, again someone came immediately. I had forgotten to remove the "do not disturb" sign off the door and they didn't knock, they radioed to the front desk who called me to let them in. It was nice knowing that they honor the sign even though I had called them.

The hotel has a complimentary laundry which I used a few times. Every time I happened to meet a staff person, no matter what their position was, they always spoke and inquired how my stay was going. Everyone was very friendly and quick to take care of you.

They also offer a shuttle to the metro station and will come pick you up when you return. They gave me a card with the number so I could call and a metro map so I could figure out where I needed to go.

I would definitely stay there again if I am in the area.

  • Liked — The Friendly Staff.
  • Disliked — No refrigerator in room.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel March 20-24, 2008 while visiting our son in nearby Montgomery Village. Everything about our stay was very pleasant. There were jelly beans in the lobby each day (Easter weekend), small pasties were set out one night, and we had a chocolate bar and a nice welcoming letter on our bed upon arrival. The room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfortable and the wireless internet worked flawlessly. The only reason I did not give this hotel an excellent mark is that the bathroom is quite small, especially when there are two people staying in the room. I am a fairly light sleeper, and I found the room to be very quiet. We did not eat any meals there, so I can't comment on the food, but we used the pool area and the fitness room, and they are nice amenities to the hotel. There is plenty of shopping nearby, as well as places to eat. I would definitely stay here again next time we go out to visit.

  • Liked — Spaciousness of room
  • Disliked — Bathroom size
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

We stayed at the Hilton Gaithersburg for three nights while my husband was on business in the area. We were very happy with the hotel overall. It was quiet, clean and comfortable and the rooms were spacious and well equipped. All the food we had in the hotel - breakfast, dinner and room service - was delicious.

The hotel is quite some way from downtown DC but the hotel operate a free shuttle bus to Shady Grove which only takes 5 minutes or so. This makes it very easy to get in and out of the city.

What sets this hotel apart from the standard business hotel is the staff. Without exception they were friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough for us. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Liked — Rooms, staff, food, value for money
  • Disliked — Location - but well compensated by shuttle bus
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

Had to go to Gaithersburg, Md. for a business trip. Because of the way DC highways are connected, I had to drive through the Beltway to get from Dulles to Gaithersburg. For this reason, I figured I'd better stay in Gaithersburg than risk a trip to my destination during morning rush hour. The Hilton in Gaithersburg is a bit tricky to find because there are several entrances off Perry Parkway that lead to parking lots that are not connected to the Hilton's. Checking in at night took 15 to 20 minutes since there was only one woman working the desk. She was polite, but kind of busy. The room itself was comfortable, neat and quiet. Connecting to the internet was a bit of a pain -- the wireless internet wasn't working and the ethernet cord they put on the desk had a broken tab. I called downstairs for internet assistance and it took about 15 minutes -- not bad for a hotel. I was eventually able to put the ethernet cable into my computer even though the tab was broken. I was worried I wouldn't be able to get it out, but it was OK. There's a mall near the Hilton, but it is only OK as far as malls go. All in all, I had a pleasant stay, but it wasn't anything special.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2007

What a disappointment. We visit bunches of very close friends in Bethesda/Rockville at least four times/year and stay in DC on business as often, always in Hilton Family hotels. The Doubletree Rockville right by the Metro has served as our "second home" for years, but it's under renovation to become a Hilton. So we decided to try the Gaithersburg Hilton from amongst many Hilton Family options, mostly because of its large indoor swimming pool. (I make all my lodging choices based on the pool.)

When we arrived late Friday night, police cars were herding several cars and groups of high school kids in the parking lot, since there was at least one prom going on in the hotel. Teens were bouncing around the lobby furniture as we checked in. A few were stretched out, sleeping. Although we had requested a deluxe room with a balcony, we were given an ordinary king room which looked out over the empty and treeless Montgomery County Fairgrounds adjacent to a shopping mall. We were too tired to ask for more.

This is a boring hotel in the middle of tasteless suburban sprawl. A number of fast food places offer quick breakfast, and since we're used to the I-270 traffic, we were back south in Bethesda in less than 20 minutes. All day, we looked forward to that swim in the large pool. When we returned to the hotel for some exercise before going back out to dinner in Rockville, the pool water was bone-chilling. The heating system was broken, and they had no information on when it would be fixed. Of course, they did not tell us this when we signed in at the pool, took our towels and jumped in. The "gym" was minuscule.

The bathroom light was so dim I couldn't see to put on my make-up. We were the only two at the bar at 10:30 p.m. on Saturday night, so we were keeping the bartender up. The Sunday morning breakfast buffet was pleasant, as at most Marriotts and Hiltons of this ilk, and actually reasonably priced. People at the front desk were pleasant and attentive at all times.

The only reasons for anyone to stay here would be to visit someone in the immediate area or to attend a mandatory meeting. Even large groups (high school bands, seniors, whatever) touring the DC area would be better served staying in Alexandria or Arlington than in this sad and isolated location.

  • Liked — We did not get bed bugs.
  • Disliked — The pool heating system was not working.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Address: 620 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington DC North/Gaithersburg Hotel is conveniently located just outside Washington D.C. in the heart of the highly active I-270 Corridor. Gaithersburg, MD is an upscale business, entertainment and residential area in suburban Maryland, in close proximity to Bethesda, Rockville and Germantown Maryland as well as Washington, D.C. and Northern Virginia. The Metro station is close by and easily accessible via the hotel complimentary shuttle service.Style, comfort, service and convenience are pillars of the Hotel which is richly appointed throughout with the Signature Hilton Serenity Beds, 37" flat screen high definition TV's, complimentary in-room WiFi, in-rrom single cup coffee makers, luxury amentities and a host of other upgrades to make your stay comfortable. The hotel also has an indoor-outdoor pool and a fully Precor equipped health and fitness facility. For dining and entertainment, the hotel is proud of its Rooks Corner Restaurant serving three meals a day in a comfortable and inviting setting. The plentiful offerings include a full breafast buffet with omelet and waffle station as well as a la carte breakfast and for lunch and dinner are of American fare including succulent steaks, seafood sandwiches and salads. The hotel also presents a Starbucks coffee shop, and a bar and lounge with a complete selection of beverages including single malt scotches and small batch bourbons served along side complimentary hors d'oeuvres on week nights. If you are planning a meeting or conference, the hotel is fully equipped with a ballroom and meeting spaces totaling over 17,000 square feet and complete banquet and catering menus and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dc North Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.