We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but need better sound proofing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 20%
Ranked #8 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Northport, Alabama
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great location, but need better sound proofing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night here and our overall impression was disappointment. The in-room air conditioning unit noisy. Additionally, even though we were in the top (12) floor, we could hear road and train noise.
The bathroom floor was dirty, too. Otherwise the deluxe room was an acceptable size.
Would not recommend this hotel because of the noise.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Hello Crazydukefan-- Thank you for choosing our hotel and for posting a review to let us know about your stay and how we may be better able to serve you. I’m concerned that we did not live up to your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about noise coming from outside as well as the HVAC units. Your comments will help us to correct these issues. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    77
    73
    40
    20
See reviews for
53
44
27
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a ok-ok hotel. The room is equipped with 2 queen beds, a flat screen tv etc. The shuttle service is a bit of wait. Had to wait 25 min. in the lobby to get the shuttle going. Then there was some argument between a hotel guest and the shuttle driver. Not sure who was right(or wrong).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Hello Svemana—Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and for letting us know of your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed the room and amenities, but sorry that you experienced less than satisfactory service on our shuttle. We’ll look into it and get it corrected, so that you will see improved service on your next stay. We look forward to having you return.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice establishment. Could use a little TLC. Carpets need cleaning or replacing. Stains were everywhere from hall to rooms. Rooms were clean. Had several problems but all were taken care of quickly and efficiently by staff. When we arrived my husband quickly realized the remote did not work and there wasn't a fridge in our room. I called down to front desk and was informed we could upgrade to a different room for an additional $20. I didn't feel it necessary so asked for remote only. Went to use bathroom and urine was on seat. Called back down to front desk and was asked if we would like another room or a quick cleaning. I asked for cleaning. All of the staff was very kind and helpful. Cleaner and remote guy came quickly as well as a guy wheeling in a complimentary fridge. When problems are resolved no need to complain. Enjoyed my stay there.

Room Tip: We stayed for $59/night through hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Hello Crabtree 10—thak you for taking the time to post a response about your recent stay. I appreciate your comments, both positive and negative as we grow our effectiveness through guest feedback. I understand your comments about the carpet, but I assure you they are clean. We vacuum daily and shampoo frequently, on a schedule or as needed. I will look into your specific comments, though. I am glad that your other concerns were taken care of promptly and that you thought our staff was efficient. We will use your feedback to review our procedures to ensure that they improve. We look forward to serving you when you come back in the future.
Yale Feldman,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife, niece, and I stayed in two neighboring rooms for four nights while we toured Greater Washington DC by car and metro in mid-July, the high season. Our reservation did not include breakfast, so we had to forage locally. The best we found was a Panera, despite the fact that there is a Holiday Inn around the corner. With two hotels, we had hoped for a Bob Evans or something similar. The hotel is not easy to find in its nook behind a strip mall and around a traffic circle (two out of four days we took the wrong turning despite being able to see the hotel). Parking is convenient, though, and check-in/check-out was efficient. The rooms are standard in layout. We did have trouble getting the HVAC to work properly the first night but thereafter slept well each night. Bathrooms are well-appointed. Despite the fact that we had to pay for two newspapers (and presumably each room's bottled water), it seemed odd that we got them only 2 days out of 4; one day, the maid took the tip I had left but still gave us no water! Not the end of the world, but it suggests that maid service needs standardization. We chose this hotel for its relatively easy access (4-5 miles) to the Gaithersburg Metro stop ($3 one way to Capitol South, eg), where we parked our car ($5 flat rate, free on weekends) and the DC beltway (for access to Annapolis and later Northern Virginia). Given the price we paid for each room (less than $85 per night), we found the hotel good enough but the service a little erratic.

Room Tip: We noticed no noise from the elevated freeway, so that doesn't seem to be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hello XuXiakeColumbusOhio—thank you for choosing the Gaithersburg Hilton for your recent visit to the Greater Washington D.C. area and for letting us know of your opinions on our area and hotel. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be suitable for your needs as visitors to Washington DC are very important to our business. I have shared your comment with our staff and those items that are within our control will be addressed and corrected. Your other comments represent good information for us to be able to anticipate needs or information for future guests. I hope that you will choose us again when you come back for your next visit to Washington.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Below what I have come to expect from Hilton. The room was in desperate need of updating. The first room I was given had smelled like it was cleaned with a dirty rag. The staff was friendly and professional and did not have any issue switching my room. The Rooks Corner, although expensive, was very good. The reason for a 2 is because it is such a desperate need of an update.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hello IAHawkeyes99—thank you for taking the time to post a response about your recent stay at the Hilton Gaithersburg. I am sorry that you weren’t happy with your originally assigned room, but glad that we were able to take care of you in a professional and friendly manner. I have had our Executive Housekeeper look into your concerns and the cleaning issues have been corrected. Thank you also for your comments about our restaurant. Please come back soon as we have recently changed our menu and you will find some new and creative items to tempt your palate.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Me and 2 friends came here because we didn't want to have to drink & drive so we chose a hotel close by to a party we were at to walk to and crash at. Little did we know, that this hotel has 0 tolerance.

We came here, not even lying, inebriated enough not to be able to drive home so we were really planning on crashing here. We may have made a bit of noise but instead of getting a hotel call warning us to be quiet, or even someone coming up to tell us, we got police.

Yeah, the hotel literally called the police to "escort" us off the premise without a prior warning whatsoever. I mean, we were trying to be responsible and not drink & drive; however, little did we know, they had other plans.

So, the cops came and gave us no choice to leave AND we still had to pay for the room, that's just freaking ridiculous. On top of the that, one of the idiotic cop broke the bathroom door and said we have to pay for it! There was no hotel staff present with the cops!!! What kind of service is this? I went downstairs, literally asked the women in the front desk why she called the cops on us, and she said there was NO NOISE COMPLAIN, but she heard that we were loud. THERE WAS NO WARNINGS WHATSOEVER!

We were scrambling trying to figure out where to go, what to do because our cars were there. I ended up WALKING home, 2 hours later finally arriving. One of my friends is unreachable at this moment in time and the other slept outside in their car which we weren't even allowed to do... but he was able to sneak away and just get into his car and sleep.

This is just ridiculous. I've never had an experience like this and we were all of drinking age. All-in-all, i'd avoid coming to this place. They have no respect for their customers and definitely do not know how to do business.

I've never been this heated about service received. I personally will go out of my way to defer any future business to this establishment.

To sum it up: AVOID THIS PLACE.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Hello chen2001md--I have read your review thoroughly and have investigated all of your comments with the Manager on Duty, security and staff that were involved in your stay that evening. I commend you for the decision to not drink and drive, however I am sorry that utilizing our hotel did not work out exactly according to your plan. You admit that you were inebriated when you arrived. After you vacated the room(s), we found a large amount of empty alcohol containers, spilled wine, beer cases and the bath tub being used as a cooler. Perhaps, as a result of these circumstances, some of the interpretations of events, or information relayed to you by your friends are not quite clear or accurate. I have found out from our Manager on Duty that there was a significant amount of noise and that many people not registered in the hotel were going in and out of your room. You or someone in your group was spoken to more than one time, but the noise and disturbance (there was even a “Beer Pong” event going on in the room on a table that you brought in) did not subside. As we had a full hotel with the responsibility for the safety and quiet enjoyment of all other guests in the hotel, we had no choice but to call the police. It was then in their hands and they handled it like a police matter of disturbing the peace. That they chose to put you out of the hotel was not a matter of negotiation. We do have respect for our customers and do know how to run the business, which is why we took the actions that we did.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I spent an evening at the Hilton Gaithersburg after spending a day in Washington, D.C. We arrived late in the evening, and the check in staff was helpful. We are Hilton Honors members, so we received complimentary breakfast vouchers and our room was on the 12th floor with a balcony. The room was clean and fairly well appointed. While it was apparent that the hotel was older since the bathroom was smaller, the room was updated with newer fixtures and a flat-screen tv. There was free WIFI and complementary bottled water and chocolate for HHonors members in the room.

In the morning, we went down to the breakfast buffet. It would typically cost $16 a person without the voucher. While the food was above the average continental "pastries and cereal," it was definitely not worth $16. The best item was the omelet since it was made right in front of you.

Everyone at the hotel was pleasant, especially a manager at the breakfast. He was very conversational and you could tell that he was putting his best foot forward.

Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongaithersburgGM, General Manager at Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hello Echelmeier1- Thank yo0u for choosing the Hilton Gaithersburg for your recent visit to Washington D.C. As a Hhonors member, I realize that you have a lot of choices and appreciate the fact that you chose us. Your comments are well received and you have mentioned many of the things that we are very proud of. It makes it more worthwhile providing such services when we know that they matter to our guests. I will share your comments with our staff and hope that you choose us again for your next visit to the Washington D.C. area.
Yale Feldman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg

Address: 620 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Washington DC North/Gaithersburg Hotel is conveniently located just outside Washington D.C. in the heart of the highly active I-270 Corridor. Gaithersburg, MD is an upscale business, entertainment and residential area in suburban Maryland, in close proximity to Bethesda, Rockville and Germantown Maryland as well as Washington, D.C. and Northern Virginia. The Metro station is close by and easily accessible via the hotel complimentary shuttle service.Style, comfort, service and convenience are pillars of the Hotel which is richly appointed throughout with the Signature Hilton Serenity Beds, 37" flat screen high definition TV's, complimentary in-room WiFi, in-rrom single cup coffee makers, luxury amentities and a host of other upgrades to make your stay comfortable. The hotel also has an indoor-outdoor pool and a fully Precor equipped health and fitness facility. For dining and entertainment, the hotel is proud of its Rooks Corner Restaurant serving three meals a day in a comfortable and inviting setting. The plentiful offerings include a full breafast buffet with omelet and waffle station as well as a la carte breakfast and for lunch and dinner are of American fare including succulent steaks, seafood sandwiches and salads. The hotel also presents a Starbucks coffee shop, and a bar and lounge with a complete selection of beverages including single malt scotches and small batch bourbons served along side complimentary hors d'oeuvres on week nights. If you are planning a meeting or conference, the hotel is fully equipped with a ballroom and meeting spaces totaling over 17,000 square feet and complete banquet and catering menus and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Washington Dc North Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Hotel Gaithersburg
Hilton Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.