We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical Residence Inn, which is a good thing. Also, a real lifeguard on duty at the pool.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9721 Washingtonian Blvd., Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Weehawken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A typical Residence Inn, which is a good thing. Also, a real lifeguard on duty at the pool.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

You stay here because you know what you are going to get. This hotel exhibited all the typical traits of a Residence Inn, meaning nice rooms, great service and of course the included breakfast. There was nothing exceptional about it, so that is why it earns a solid 4 stars. Pros list is all that is needed.

Pros:
1. Location is great, right in the middle of shopping, residential and corporate.
2. The rooms were big, accommodating and clean.
3. The staff was always very friendly.
4. The outdoor pool had an actual lifeguard on duty, which is a nice thing when you have kids going to the pool.
5. The breakfast was OK, nothing special, but it was included and good enough.
6. And this is all Residence Inns (as far as I know) but I enjoy the microwave popcorn that comes with the room.

Overall, I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Psudino,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott at Gaithersburg. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Traveling with kids is never easy and a pool can make all the difference at the end of a long hot day riding in a car. It makes our day to know that your stay was great and exactly what you expect in a hotel.

And I'm sure you will want to know that we are currently re-inventing our hotel and room decor with new updated colors and style! New carpets, cool furniture, and a whole new re-do is just starting...and we can't wait till you come back to enjoy!

Please let me know if you need anything and we hope to see you all soon!

Sincerely,
Karen Guinan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    8
    9
    3
See reviews for
26
8
4
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights on a mixed business/pleasure family trip. The staff was very friendly as were many of the guests. The area is close to good dining, movies and shopping. Breakfast was good and there is dinner offered a few nights a week.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The positives: Front desk staff efficient and pleasant. Breakfast-decent selections and quality. Location-though there are many choices in the neighborhhod.

Minor problems: Parking very tight on each of two stays, but that cant be attributed to current management. Room and property dated.

The more signficant problems: Hallways not well lighted. Fitness room small and inadequate. I ran the sink water on hot for many minutes at 6:00 am and no hot water arrived. After several more minutes of cold shower water, it did get luke warm. In all, this delayed my morning considerably. I left a note for the manager with my contact information (at least for an explanation) but as I write this more 2 days after departure I have heard nothing.

I dont consider his property up to typical Marriott standards. Ive looked at the pricing on many occasuons and I would not pay their typical rates to stay again, though I am in the area almost weekly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear insights 100,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott at Gaithersburg. We sincerely appreciate your business. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I know what it means to have a hot shower in the morning. Please know that this was a quick adjustment so you or other guests never have to experience these types of things. There is ample parking but limited spaces immediately at the entrance doors. My apologies for the parking inconvenience. This can be frustrating if you have more than one bag. Please know that we would be happy to assist you in the future. I also want to let you know that we did have our Assistant GM at the property on the day of your check-out. I (GM) was out of the region on personal business and was unavailable. I apologize that you did not speak with a manager while at the hotel or your message passed on to our manager on duty.

We hope you will return when you are back in the area as we look forward to having you stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Gaithersburg.

Sincerely,
Karen Guinan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Not up to Marriott’s standards

As a Marriott life Platinum member, I have stayed nearly as many nights in Marriott’s as my own home. The Marriott brand is generally known for quality, service and value.

Unfortunately, our Valentines weekend stay at the Residence Inn in Gaithersburg did not measure up and was a waste of 30,000 Marriott points that I cashed in to cover the stay. Thankfully, we didn't pay cash for this stay or we would have been even more upset.

Pros:

Front Desk staff. The front desk staff was very friendly and made us feel welcome. A+

Location. The location is very close to the Rio Center. Plenty of good restaurants, shopping and AMC movies.

Cons:

Cleanliness of our room, on the 3rd floor of Bldg B. was far below Marriott standards. As another reviewer wrote, the room had almost a distinct odor (a cross between mold and someone who tried to cover up pet urine). It was unpleasant.

The floor and counters in our room were filthy. Thank goodness we brought our own handy wipes (see attached pic) but I really shouldn't have to wipe down the kitchen counters, table and desk on my weekend away from home.

Room was dated and in need of an upgrade (burn marks on one side of the sofa cushion and a general appearance of needing to be updated.

Coffee machine and dishes not clean. The coffee machine was actually filthy. To be safe, we ran everything through the dishwasher (again, it was a minor inconvenience but not something I should have to do on my weekend away).

Hallway lighting was very dim. Not a problem during the day, but could pose a security concern at night.

Parking. Very limited. Best bet is to park at the hotel next door if you are in Bldg B.

Elevator and hallway. Carpet in elevator heavily stained and hallways were very dirty. Marks and tears on the walls.

Most hotel owners take pride in their properties not allowing them to look this way, and the general condition of the elevator and hallways is very telling to what we found in our room

Dog feces all over the sidewalks. I’m all for pet-friendly hotels but the pet owners really should have the courtesy to pick up after their pet. This is not really Marriott’s issue, just calling it out as it was like walking around a mine field trying to get over to the Club House for breakfast.

It’s nice to get away, but if I had to do it again I wouldn't waste 30,000 Marriott points (and I certainly would not pay my hard earned money) to stay here until the property is updated and until the cleanliness issues are addressed.

The irony is that this property is right next to one of Marriott's corporate offices and several other Marriott hotel properties, so you would think that they would bring their A game.

We will likely return to the full service Marriott Washingtonian or Courtyard Washingtonian next time we are in Gaithersburg and pass on this Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Our room on the 3rd floor of Building B was not very clean. Hallways very dark. Parking not conven...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear FamilyManMD,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott at Gaithersburg. We appreciate you and your business. I also want to apologize for any of the issues you had regarding cleanliness and overall age of the guestroom. Please know that we operate at the highest levels of guest satisfaction and all issues will be addressed. We have standards that all staff members must perform to each day and when our guest is not happy, then we see this as an opportunity to improve on many levels. If you would like to speak with me directly, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 301-590-3003.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we look forward to you and your family staying with us in the future.

Yours Truly,
Karen Guinan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

I stayed at the Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center the night before my wedding, and on my wedding night. I had a two-bedroom corner suite on the side of the building facing Washingtonian Boulevard. I chose the property because it offers 2 bedroom suites, and I needed the space for getting myself and my bridal party ready for the big day. We booked a block of rooms at the Washingtonian Marriott Hotel next door for our guests, but stayed at the Residence Inn to give ourselves some privacy on our wedding night, and also because the hotel is pet-friendly and we had our two dogs with us.

The property itself is walking distance to many restaurants: Guapos, Tara Thai, Café Deluxe, California Pizza Kitchen, Potbelly’s, BGR Joint, Starbucks, etc. In the same area as the restaurants, there are also many shops and a movie theatre. As other reviewers have stated, in the warmer months, there is a nice pond that takes you around the entire RIO complex. The hotel is conveniently located next to major thoroughfares – I-270 is just around the corner.

The rooms are comfortable, clean and well-maintained. Even though this is a pet-friendly property, there is no lingering pet odor anywhere in the hotel. The front desk staff we interacted with was prompt, polite and courteous. Love that the property provides free WiFi and had no problems with connectivity any time during our stay. As with many other Marriott Hotels we have stayed in, the Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center delivers a consistent, pleasant guest experience. I recommend the hotel to travelers visiting the Gaithersburg area, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornell, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stopped here while driving through. The front desk staff was above and beyond welcoming and accommodating !!!!!
It is a very nice location..... We had a great room with fireplace, but the furniture needs updating! There are many restaurants and shopping within minutes!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear NanolaMarie,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott at Gaithersburg. I am so very pleased you enjoyed yourself while visiting in the area. You are the reason why we enjoy what we do each and every day. Please know that every comment is valuable information and we love to hear from our guests so we know what works best and what we need to improve. Please know that we are beginning a complete refresh of our hotel starting in July. I so hope that you will consider staying with us in the future so you can see the beautiful and exciting changes taking place. All my best.

Sincerely,
Karen Guinan
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is our third stay here. It is really the only choice in the area that offers 2 bedroom suites, which we need with two college-age kids. It is a good location in the Rio center with movies, shopping, and dining options all in walking distance, a nice pond to walk around, good access to I-270. I've also been able to catch a Ride-On bus to the Shady Grove metro. The rooms we've stayed in have all been identical. Only downside is that there is no option for a second bedroom with two twins rather than a queen, and the sofa bed is one of the most uncomfortable sofa beds ever, which is pretty bad. Staff is friendly and responsive. Breakfast is fine. Internet speed is so-so at best, but free wi-fi for up to 5 devices. Fitness room is fine with working equipment. We've never found it "dismal smelly damp" as the previous reviewer did, but find it clean, pleasant, and predictable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Peggy B,

I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure meeting you. We so appreciate that you choose to stay with us over the holiday season. It is our goal to make each guest feel they have a home away from home. All our best and we look forward to the privilege of serving you in the future! Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Karen Guinan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 9721 Washingtonian Blvd., Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all suite property with full kitchens.Convenient to restaurants and shops in the Washingtonian Center (Rio).Close to many Washington DC, I-270 and Shady Grove Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.