We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!! Huge help” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9721 Washingtonian Blvd., Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!! Huge help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Thanks to this hotel for being very friendly! Radeka and Darrly were very helping with our large group. They were every flexible and patiente with us!! Stay here if you have a larger group. Right by the Rio Entertainment complex make it even better..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We appreciate that you choose to have your group stay with us and experienced our fabulous above and beyond customer service.
Our goal is to impress each traveler and it seems we did such with your large group.
Our suites are bigger than a standard hotel room so I am sure such a group enjoyed the extra space, and of course our location is convenient to all the fine restaurants and shops in the area.
We look forward to seeing your group in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    38
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
33
13
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
670 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 829 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is nestled in an upscale residential/business development surrounded by a shopping center with several theatres, good shopping, nice restaurants and a lake. What more can you ask for? The hotel itself is equally nice in terms of upkeep and has a great staff who make you feel right at home. This is a typical Residence Inn, but what makes it a good stay is all the amenities around it so you don't have to drive if you want to go out and do something after a long day of work or a long day of sightseing in DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Location, location, location.
I could not agree more.
We are in a wonderful area, that is so convenient, with so much to offer - restaurants, shopping, movie theater, etc. within a 5-7 minute walk.
With the beautiful weather we are experiencing our patio by the pool is so relaxing as well.
Thanks for letting us know our staff is fabulous and welcoming and provides the service that makes our property better than being at home.
Come back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherryville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

While not perfect, the rooms are neat and clean. (Yes, even in the corners and under the beds.) Breakfasts and dinners are basic, but varied and tasty. The location is very convenient for my work assignment. However, it's the staff that makes this Residence Inn a cut above. They take their host responsibilities to the highest level. Always pleasant, cheerful, caring, engaged and supportive, this team makes your stay feel like coming home. You can count on an efficient check-in and attention to detail (like preferring the third floor or a mat to make the bed softer). Repeat stays are a treat. This staff actually remembers you as a person.

As far as I'm concerned, this hotel sets the bar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
You have provided what I consider the perfect compliment.
We made your stay feel like a "home away from home".
It is such a bonus to hear "it's the staff that makes this Residence Inn a cut above".
Our focus is to make our guests happy and comfortable while they are away from home.
We am firm believers in providing the best service to our guests, each and every day, because while you are here you are family.
Thanks for making our property you home at times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My sister moved into the Resident Inn Gaithersburg for about a week, when she lost her son. Daryl and the rest of the Front desk staff were trully awesome. Every day Daryl and the other senior manager pitched-in to support their Buffet breakfast staff. They cleared tables and constantly asked their guests "How are we doing? Is there anything else that you need?"

Resident Inn Gaithersburg accommodated my sister, me, our out-of-town guests and her two dogs at a very affordable senior citizen rate. At her end of the floor, she had a problem with ants, that the Resident Inn was never able to fully resolve. At the opposite end of the same floor, my one bedroom unit was ant-free.

Again, it's an older property, but the lobby and breakfast buffet dining room appear to have been updated. Unlike some competing hotels, parking is still free. The Resident Inn Gaithersburg's parking lot was full every night and morning. This week most of the other guests seemed to be business travelers.

I and the other members of my family are Marriott Rewards Club members. When we registered on-line and/or by telephone, we might have received a better nightly room rate, because we are Rewards Club Members? In any event, this Resident Inn's weekend senior citizen nightly room rate is comparable to the Comfort Inn Quantico, Virginia.

The Fitness Center is small. It's clean and well maintained.

There is one elliptical exercise machine, two treadmills, a full set of weights with a weight bench. There is no indoor pool. The outdoor pool won't open until May 27th :-).

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor of Building "A", which is opposite the entrance to the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It was our pleasure to provide support and comfort to your family, especially your sister, during a time of need.
The numerous conversations I had with her were priceless and moving.
Appreciate each and every day was the common theme.
We are so glad you appreciated the very reasonable rates and all the complimentary benefits our property offers, such as hot breakfast buffet, parking, exercise room, and our great customer service.
We look forward to a return visit, under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here when attending the National Cherry Blossom Festival in DC. Property broken up into several buildings. Was a large combination bedroom/living room. Was somewhat worn and not up to the standards we found in other Resident Inns. Breakfast was okay. Front desk staff was helpful upon arrival. Enjoyed the shopping center/entertainment center nearby. Main problem was that only three devices could use internet at a time. We had two cell phones, a Kindle Fire and a laptop. Had to call technical support and they got us set up by eliminating one cell phone. However, we still had problems the next morning. I shared this informaton with the front desk and they seemed to not know about it. I never had this problem with any Marriott establishments and I am a Gold member

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We are pleased you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our excellent customer service.
Sadly we were not aware of the device limitation our new internet service provider placed on our rooms.
That is an oversight on our end.
Once we were made aware of this problem we were able to correct it.
We are sorry it impacted your stay.
Knowing you are a Gold member and fan of Marriott's I hope you will return to see this problem has been corrected and the service is a higher quality than experienced in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We always stay at Marriotts, if we can, because of the comfort of the beds, and Residence Inns by preference because of the full kitchens. This Residence Inn is just not up to the Marriott standards.

On the plus side, the staff are excellent and the place is clean. On the negative side, these beds are so hard that my husband and I are in agony. Furthermore, there are only queen-sized beds in the rooms in the 2-bedroom suite. Every other Residence Inn we've stayed in offered us king-sized beds.

My biggest beef, and deal killer, is that they only allow 3 internet-abled devices per room. Our two-bedroomed suite (that sleeps SIX), counts as ONE room. This is the most ridiculous thing I have ever encountered. Travelers today travel with a minimum of 2 internet-connected devices (a laptop, a smartphone and often a tablet). Our family of four requires connections for 4 laptops, 2 ipods, 2 smartphones and an iPad.

I had to call a 1-800 number to get just one more connection. They would not provide connections for the mobile devices. Apparently limit has been set by this hotel.

Once I got my laptop connected, my daughter's laptop was booted, so I had to call once again. This time, I spoke to a very "snotty" person on the help desk who finally got my daughter's laptop connected. No smartphones or tablets were allowed to be connected.

It is important to know that this system logs IP addresses, so if you initially connect with three smartphones, you will not be able to connect with any of your other devices without jumping through hoops. Bad luck if you are not a Marriott Rewards member. The help desk person too pains to tell me that the only reason they were allowing us a 4th device was because a) the front desk authorized it and b) we were Marriott Rewards members.

I struggle to see a hotel can attempt to gain business traffic with this strange 3-device rule. A rule that doesn't even allow every guest in a suite to be able to connect to the net.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for providing the information regarding our new internet service.
Unfortunately while we were able to provide a stronger, more stable signal and service we were actually unaware that a device limit was in place.
We too had never been aware of this.
Rest assured that this issue and been resolved.
Hopefully you will join us again and everyone in the family will be able to connect.
We are so sorry you experienced this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanham, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The bed was comfortable. The staff at the front desk made us feel at home. The rooms was cozy and quiet. It's pretty cool that they have Paul Mitchell shampoo & conditioner. This location is hard to beat, given that it's so close to the wonderful shopping and dining at the Washingtonian. The free breakfast all week long and free dinners during the weeknights are pretty awesome. Thank you to the staff for making this a wonderful stay! We will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We appreciate all your kind words and that you stayed at our property.
Providing a quiet, comfortable experience is one of our goals.
It means a lot that you appreciated the value of a complimentary hot breakfast each morning and the evening social (Mon-Thur nights).
Providing more for less is a wonderful quality experienced while staying at our Residence Inn.
Hopefully we will see you again soon and know we will treat those future recommended guests in a wonderful manner as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#9 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
0.1 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 9721 Washingtonian Blvd., Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all suite property with full kitchens.Convenient to restaurants and shops in the Washingtonian Center (Rio).Close to many Washington DC, I-270 and Shady Grove Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.