We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Marriott snuff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9721 Washingtonian Blvd., Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
1 review
“Not up to Marriott snuff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We always stay at Marriotts, if we can, because of the comfort of the beds, and Residence Inns by preference because of the full kitchens. This Residence Inn is just not up to the Marriott standards.

On the plus side, the staff are excellent and the place is clean. On the negative side, these beds are so hard that my husband and I are in agony. Furthermore, there are only queen-sized beds in the rooms in the 2-bedroom suite. Every other Residence Inn we've stayed in offered us king-sized beds.

My biggest beef, and deal killer, is that they only allow 3 internet-abled devices per room. Our two-bedroomed suite (that sleeps SIX), counts as ONE room. This is the most ridiculous thing I have ever encountered. Travelers today travel with a minimum of 2 internet-connected devices (a laptop, a smartphone and often a tablet). Our family of four requires connections for 4 laptops, 2 ipods, 2 smartphones and an iPad.

I had to call a 1-800 number to get just one more connection. They would not provide connections for the mobile devices. Apparently limit has been set by this hotel.

Once I got my laptop connected, my daughter's laptop was booted, so I had to call once again. This time, I spoke to a very "snotty" person on the help desk who finally got my daughter's laptop connected. No smartphones or tablets were allowed to be connected.

It is important to know that this system logs IP addresses, so if you initially connect with three smartphones, you will not be able to connect with any of your other devices without jumping through hoops. Bad luck if you are not a Marriott Rewards member. The help desk person too pains to tell me that the only reason they were allowing us a 4th device was because a) the front desk authorized it and b) we were Marriott Rewards members.

I struggle to see a hotel can attempt to gain business traffic with this strange 3-device rule. A rule that doesn't even allow every guest in a suite to be able to connect to the net.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for providing the information regarding our new internet service.
Unfortunately while we were able to provide a stronger, more stable signal and service we were actually unaware that a device limit was in place.
We too had never been aware of this.
Rest assured that this issue and been resolved.
Hopefully you will join us again and everyone in the family will be able to connect.
We are so sorry you experienced this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    27
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
28
10
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lanham, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The bed was comfortable. The staff at the front desk made us feel at home. The rooms was cozy and quiet. It's pretty cool that they have Paul Mitchell shampoo & conditioner. This location is hard to beat, given that it's so close to the wonderful shopping and dining at the Washingtonian. The free breakfast all week long and free dinners during the weeknights are pretty awesome. Thank you to the staff for making this a wonderful stay! We will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We appreciate all your kind words and that you stayed at our property.
Providing a quiet, comfortable experience is one of our goals.
It means a lot that you appreciated the value of a complimentary hot breakfast each morning and the evening social (Mon-Thur nights).
Providing more for less is a wonderful quality experienced while staying at our Residence Inn.
Hopefully we will see you again soon and know we will treat those future recommended guests in a wonderful manner as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times and both experiences were good. The hotel is pretty standard when it comes to facilities but where it gets great is the staff. They are really friendly and genuinely want you to have a great stay. This is why I would stay here again without a doubt if I were to visit the area again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property.
It is reassuring to hear that our goal at providing the best customer service is evident to our valued guests.
The best compliment is you would return to stay with us again, as mentioned.
Hopefully that will be soon.
We are a team that cares about guest satisfaction.
Once again, thanks for letting us know we succeeded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Under the stress of being forced from our home while our wood floors were being refinished, we just spent 9 days at the Residence Inn in Gaithersburg, MD. Their 2-bedroom suite gave us plenty of room to spread out and the full kitchen in room added to the convenience. Not that we needed to use the kitchen that much since a full and excellent breakfast was provided every morning (scrambled eggs, Canadian bacon, pancakes, waffles, Greek yogurt with granola, assorted cereals, and of course juices and coffees - and I know I'm forgetting plenty). Dinner was provided Monday through Thursday (I didn't notice this on their website ). The dinners were nothing special but more than adequate considering the convenience of dining right there. The hotel manager couldn't have been nicer, always asking us if we needed anything when he greeted us at every meal it seemed. Our accommodations were spotless when we checked in and kept that way with daily maid service. We were not happy to be displaced from our home for 9 days but the Residence Inn definitely took the edge off and made us very comfortable for the entire time we were there. The management knows how to make their guests feel welcome and we highly recommend it for anyone looking for a home away from home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It is so pleasing to know we provided you a "Home Away From Home" experience.

Each day our goal is to provide each of our guests the peace and serenity that some times is difficult to find in daily life, especially in a situation when you are forced from your home.

My team and I could not be happy that you enjoyed the roomy 2 bedroom suite and fine complimentary food offerings during your visit.

To me it should be a visit so you feel like part of our family.

Thanks for your response and we are so glad you visited our "home".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kensington, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel had a very clean room. Roomy enough for 6 people if you get the two room hotel, nice fireplace and relatively nice selection of channels. Wifi is a nice speed considering it's free, breakfast was great for what it was priced, and extremely extremely good staff. Only downgrade is making us have to get our extra blanket in the cold snow, in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed our 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite with a fireplace, along with our complimentary wifi and complimentary daily hot breakfast.

Even better is you found it to be a great value.

Please accept my apologies that there was not enough staff available for a blanket delivery.

Hopefully we will be seeing you again soon and will make sure to have an extra blanket delivered in advance to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here for a week while at NIST. The hotel, as a whole, was good. The rooms are very nice and quiet. My only disappointment was that the TV remote disappeared on the second day (after cleaning) and it took them 36 hours to get the remote replaced with one that worked. Food in the morning was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We are glad you enjoyed your week long stay while here in town, and got to enjoy the complimentary food offerings.
Providing a relaxing, comfortable environment for our guests is of utmost importance.
Hopefully NIST will bring you back to town and we can host your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We found this passing through from Myrtle Beach using a GPS selection. They were friendly and courteous and the suite with the kitchen was perfect for our stop over with the kids.
The free breakfast was also great very tasty and lots of options. Everyone found somethings they liked.
Would definitely consider staying again at the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIGaithersburg, General Manager at Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are happy you found us during your travels.
It is always a pleasure to hear hoe much our guests enjoy the complimentary hot breakfast and evening social.
Our goal is to make this your home away from home no matter how long your stay is.
Your time and feedback is appreciated.
Next time you are in the area please stop back by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center

Address: 9721 Washingtonian Blvd., Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An all suite property with full kitchens.Convenient to restaurants and shops in the Washingtonian Center (Rio).Close to many Washington DC, I-270 and Shady Grove Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.