We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to usual marriott standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not up to usual marriott standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This town place suites appears to be a rehabbed older hotel. The hallways are smelly and a bit beat up. Nice kitchen, space is a bit awkward--the TV is between the couch and the bed, but does not swivel so you can watch it in bed, you have to actually move the table. The windows were open when I arrived, I think to cover up the rancid smell that came out if the AC. I'm pretty sure I will never stay here again--should be $99 at the most.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSGaithersburg, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate all guest feedback, especially when it will help us improve our product and service. I am disappointed that your experience was not up to the standards you expected, and we will be working hard over the next few months to improve our product. I have shared your comments with the head of maintenance here at the TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg, and we are working on making sure that the AC units are up to par. Should you have any other comments or concerns please contact me via email at dan.appolonio@bfsaulco.com

Dan Appolonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
3
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for several nights in July. No matter who was at the reception desk, we had terrific service - everyone was courteous and gracious -- especially Sunny who went out of his way to help us when we were checking in. We ended up with an upgrade, and it was wonderful to have so much room. The breakfast needs some major help! We visit this area often, and will continue to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSGaithersburg, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for taking time to let everyone know how you enjoyed your recent stay at the TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg. The management and staff always enjoy hearing from our guests, and we are very appreciative of guests who share their comments. I have posted your comments for the entire staff to view, and it is great to see that our team provided the service you expected of TownePlace Suites. Thank you again for staying with us. Should you have any additional feedback please feel free to contact me at dan.appolonio@bfsaulco.com. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dan Appolonio, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is fine if train whistles don't bother you or if you keep ear plugs handy. Beds were great, and we enjoyed having access to a kitchen so we can prepare our own meals on vacation. But my husband complained that he was awoken by train whistles several times during the night. I wasn't impressed by the breakfast offerings, either. No protein choices, only carbs.

Room Tip: The only thing I can is see if you can get it located further away from the train tracks
See more room tips
Green Features: I am unaware if the Towneplace Suites has any environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPSGaithersburg, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Good Afternoon. Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with TownePlace Suites by Marriott Gaithersburg. We always appreciate feedback from our guests, especially when we can utilize it to enhance future guests’ stays. I have passed along your comments on the breakfast offerings and we will work on continuing to provide the quality service and product guests expect from a TownePlace Suites. Should you have any additional comments or concerns please do not hesitate to contact me. I can be reached at dan.appolonio@bfsaulco.com. Thanks again and we look forward to you staying with us again!!

Dan Appolonio
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Needed to be in the area for a few days and really only one or two chains in the immediate area. Called the listed number and had great help from Charles. Got to the site and found a very clean room, easy to access for all my immediate needs. Not really caring about much more than a good bed for sleep and a hot shower this fit the bill. Would certainly recommend to others, as they are quality and seem to have the best rate compared to others in the same chain of hotels.

Room Tip: Upper floors I suppose would keep you from hearing the non-stop pacers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here for business travel recently. I normally stay at Courtyard Marriott, but decided to try this one my Marriott. It was really a neat setup with the kitchenette in the room. The staff was really friendly and always helpful. Even the grab and go breakfast was very convenient, as I usually don't have time in the morning for a full sit down meal. No complaints.

Green Features: I like the fact that the hotel didn't do a full service clean everyday, only a "freshen up" clean. I opted not to have my room cleaned because I frankly didn't need it.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One would think that every TownePlace Suites is going to have the same amenities.. like breakfast. Their idea of breakfast is to set out some cereal, fruit, juice, coffee.. the bare basics and then.. YO CARRY IT BACK TO YOUR ROOM! The tray barely held the weight of a juice and coffee and now, you balance all this up the elevator, to your room where you need your card to enter... while balancing. Good luck.

We stayed in a Towneplace in OH the night before this one Tables, chairs, waffles, egg, sausage plus the usual cold breakfast...perfect, expected. Not here.

The room was fine, close to the tracks so trains can be heard but not a big deal. All in all.. fine until.. breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting NIST, this is a great place to stay. The rooms all have kitchens, and there is continental breakfast in the lobby. I have stayed here many times over the last few years, and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg

Address: 212 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.