We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What??? No Breakfast Area?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Woodridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“What??? No Breakfast Area?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

One would think that every TownePlace Suites is going to have the same amenities.. like breakfast. Their idea of breakfast is to set out some cereal, fruit, juice, coffee.. the bare basics and then.. YO CARRY IT BACK TO YOUR ROOM! The tray barely held the weight of a juice and coffee and now, you balance all this up the elevator, to your room where you need your card to enter... while balancing. Good luck.

We stayed in a Towneplace in OH the night before this one Tables, chairs, waffles, egg, sausage plus the usual cold breakfast...perfect, expected. Not here.

The room was fine, close to the tracks so trains can be heard but not a big deal. All in all.. fine until.. breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
22
3
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting NIST, this is a great place to stay. The rooms all have kitchens, and there is continental breakfast in the lobby. I have stayed here many times over the last few years, and I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I'm a regular visitor to NIST, and I've stayed in most of the hotels close by. This one provides the best value and comfort. The rooms are clean and comfortable, with kitchens. Staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is sort of crappy (coffee, donuts and cold cereal) but Einstein Bros Bagels are just down the road.

Very close to NIST, with good access to the interstate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here a couple of nights for business. The hotel is in need of an overhaul. The rooms and furnishings are showing wear, and the smoking ban is not being observed anywhere. This was not what i was expecting given the affluence of the general area. The staff is very friendly but the lack of keeping up with the wear, tear, and smells drags down the grade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our company had a number of employees travelling on work to Bethesda. We were looking for extended stay suites with kitchenettes and the TownePlace Gaithersburg offered the best deal.

Pros:
1. Perfectly efficient, friendly and attentive staff at the front desk and in housekeeping. I faced no billing problems despite frequently switching credit cards.

2. Free wifi in the rooms, and a printer in the lobby.

3. Well maintained facilities. All the laundry machines and driers were in working order throughout the stay, unlike some of their competitors’ properties. Washing and drying cost $1.50 each. I did have a problem with the heater in my room which was quickly fixed.

4. The property is close to Lakeforest mall. Walkable on a good day.

Cons:

1. There is only a single bathroom for a two bedroom suite. Obviously a hygiene issue when more than one person is using it.

2. The lack of a hot breakfast was bothersome. The only hot item at breakfast is…hot water, that you mix with your oatmeal. There is a fixed offering of muffins, danish pastries, cereals, cold milk, juice and fruits, besides 24-hour coffee.

3. The two bedrooms are of unequal sizes. The smaller one is too tiny to accommodate a work table and chair, and therefore the occupant of that room needs to use the table in the living area.

To be fair, many of the above are brand standards and the individual property has little control over them.

A taxi from Dulles costs $70. Toiletries are by Paul Mitchell. A copy of USA Today can be picked up from the lobby. Overall. I had a nice stay with good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was very disappointed with this hotel, and it was not at all up to the quality level of the typical Marriott property. It looks great from the outside but is very cheap on the inside (e.g., plastic doors and cabinets, only 2 spoons in the kitchen). For the complimentary breakfast, they served instant oatmeal, yogurt, pre-packaged pastries, cereal/milk, juice, coffee, and fruit. Again, not nearly as good as is available from other Marriott properties.
Additionally, it was not obvious from the website (unless you check the fact sheet) that a fee was required for a pet - $100 which is more than the cost of a room. Had I known the fee was so high, I would have stayed at the Hilton down the room; their pet fee is only $50 and is noted very obviously on their website.
I would not recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We chose to stay here because it offered a two bedroom suite at a very reasonable price when we went to Maryland for a family engagement party. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - thanks Sunny!!! We requested an early check in after a 7 hour drive to our destination and they were more than happy to accommodate our request. We found our room to be clean and beautiful. As soon as we got in our room there was a knock on our door to see if everything was alright and asked if we needed anything. After our party, we came back to the hotel and my family all gathered around the outdoor fireplace and enjoyed being together - it made for a wonderful memory. The outdoor patio closed at 11:00 pm and we asked the staff if it was alright if we hanged out a little longer. They were so friendly and said that since we were quite we were more than welcome to stay and they were happy to see us enjoying the space. Upon check out the staff were just as friendly and helpful as they had been the entire stay. I totally recommend this hotel for all!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg

Address: 212 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.