We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, but room was noisy at night-time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ontario
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great staff, but room was noisy at night-time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed at a Townsplace before in Erie PA, and loved it!!! So I was happy to go here, but it was older than that property and had no pool:( The staff was great, and so helpful. They informed us we could use the Holiday Inn's pool around the corner, as we were very disappointed about no pool...(I should have researched better) The breakfast is very continental and because of the lack of pool and lack of hot breakfast I would choose another hotel. I ultimately chose this one for the two-bedrooms, but the room was 202 and is right behind the stairwell for the entrance and I heard the door shutting all-night long (even with ear plugs in). Breakfast included juice, milk, cereal, and high fat pastries........and no sitting area either so you bring it to your room, which is ok since they have tables & chairs in the rooms. The Holiday Inn is close, but when I went to use the pool, it was closed for a wedding!!!! So we had to go back at 8pm, and then the hot-tub was filled with the wedding guests still!!! The staff saved this hotel from being a disaster. But I must say it was clean, which is more important than anything else mentioned! Oh, and it is a good value too!

Room Tip: Away from stairwells, and entrances....i.e not 202!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
3
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Checked in early without any problems from staff. No regular rooms were available, so staff upgraded me to a two bedrooms suite. 1st hotel I've been in with an actually oven, which is a nice feature if you get tired of eating out.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I had to stay at TownePlace Suites for approximately 11 days because my minor sons were relocating to Rockville, MD for school. The location was close to restaurants, groceries and the interstate. When I arrived, I found the front desk staff friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and more importantly--clean! The laundy facility, automatic dishwasher, full refrig/freezer, stove and oven, Direct TV and a nice flat screen TV made me feel at home. I was able to connect to Wi-Fi immediately to do work. The cooking utensils and appliances were awesome. The stove and oven allowed me to eat healthy instead of eating fast food was a definite bonus. I even baked cookies for my boys. Housekeeping came by everyday to meet my needs. Whether I needed the entire suite cleaned or just fresh towels, they were there with a smile and pleasant attitude. They even made a vacuum available for me when I asked. Things I feel need to be improved upon is the heating system. I couldn't get a consistent temperature at night. I had to wake up a few nights to adjust the room temp. The other issue is the work out room. The work out area is smaller than the suites. Much smaller than what I'm used too. Not many machines as well. Other than that, the stay was very nice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is in a quiet location in Giathersburg - off the beaten track. You'll have to drive to restaurants, shopping, etc.

The hotel is clean and spacious. The only minor complaints - no kleenex/tissues and no hooks in the bathroom for hanging a bathrobe or clothes while showering. Speaking of showering, the shower curtain rod was curved so the shower curtain gaped, which resulted in water on the floor. \

All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

There is no breakfast room per se. A limited selection of breakfast items is put out each morning. If you want something slightly more substantial than a danish, fruit and cereal, you'll have to hop in your car and drive to a restaurant. Coffee is always on, and it's fresh, which is a nice plus.

Each room in the suite has a nice flat screen TV. That would be a plus if you were traveling with a family and had a 2 bedroom suite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I recently stayed at this Hotel & it was a very nice place. Convienant to the Interstate, & the staff was very Helpful. Great price, Good location. Everything you could possibly need in room. Very Nice

Room Tip: Every level is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Booked the TownePlace Suites for one night because my son was playing in a local lacrosse tournament and didn't feel like driving all the way home. Booked the two bedroom suite and check in was a breeze thanks to Jennifer who was pleasant and very helpful. Each room has its own TV (which is really nice when traveling with kids) and the sofa pulls out as well. The room was clean and offered a good amount of space. We didn't travel around town and don't think we would be back (because we live in Maryland) except if we play in the tournament again. The breakfast in the morning is a more grab and go breakfast, which was helpful. If you are coming in from out of town and need a nice place to stay, a home away from home then I would recommend the TownePlace Suites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I like staying in suites. In this case we stayed in a 2 bedroom suite, but found it a bit cramped and small. This hotel struck me as tired and in need of work. Our room was situated next to the elevator, which provided for a lot of mechanical/people noise. The AC unit in our room had such a high pitched squeal that we went the night without it (which resulted in a warm room). This suite had signs of water damage in the ceiling, and just looked used up. The beds both squeaked on their springs like a cheap bed at a no-tell motel.

On the up side, the staff was very courteous, engaging and friendly. They were understanding and helpful when it came to permitting a late check-out brought on by a rescheduled flight.

Room Tip: Do not get rooms around #125/#126 (or 225/226, on up the floors). Too close to elevators, which make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg

Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Towneplace Suites Gaithersburg Hotel
Gaithersburg Towneplace Suites
Address: 212 Perry Parkway, Gaithersburg, MD 20877
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.