We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location at the Washingtonian...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The location at the Washingtonian...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

The location at the Washingtonian Riverfront is beautiful and near shops and restaurants. The staff is right there for you. Wonderful customer care! Rooms are okay- nothing spectacular but the view of the water is wonderful .
The beds were not as comfy as I had expected. The hotel has a small fitness center with easy access to a full service gym nearby. A satellite Starbucks is on sit but needs to be open at 6am 7 days a week.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polarspeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Unmemorable just about sums it. "Unmemorable" is not necessarily bad. It just means the hotel is bland and average for the Marriott full-service hotel chain.

First, the appearance. Despite the recent renovation, it's difficult to conceal the fact that this is a 1980s vintage Marriott. Evidence of a half-baked renovation is everywhere: peeling wallpaper, detached door trims, worn-out doors. The rooms are clean but with a faint smell of musty wood - not quite mildew, but not quite new hotel smell either.

The rooms are of average size for the Marriott chain. Beds are the usual 7" foam Jamison beds without featherbed tops. Comfortable as usual. The room decor looks modern thanks to the recent renovation. 32" LCD TVs with HD programming. Bathrooms are standard Marriott bathrooms - marginally wide for an average size person and definitely not designed for two simultaneous occupants. The rooms are quiet (as long as they face the lake and not the highway). The AC is quiet and efficient. Points deducted for no in-room safe. The hotel charges $12.95/night for Internet access just like most other Marriotts (and most other full service hotels). Subscription to a national WiFi service (like Boingo or AT&T) allows you to access the internet for free. Parking is free - and worry-free as long as you don't leave any valuables in plain sight.

The staff is pleasant and knowledgeable by DC standards (you probably know what I mean if you've stayed in DC more than once). The fitness center is clean, fresh-smelling, and equipped with fairly new treadmills and stationary bikes. The restaurant is unmemorable just like the hotel. The food is decent but not visually appealing; the wine is overpriced; the service is unremarkable. The Concierge Lounge is also forgettable - mediocre food offerings and outrageous prices for self-service wine ($8/glass). What might they be thinking? Note to self: no smoked salmon for breakfast!

The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the Washingtonian Center. There are several restaurants immediately across the hotel - including Mexican (rather, East-Mex), Thai, Indian, and even Malaysian. There are several shops within walking distance, including a Target. The artificial lake next to the hotel is a pleasant sight with large flocks of geese, swans, and ducks frequenting it.

To sum it up - if you have business in the Gaithersburg area, go for it. You may not remember it a week later, but it's better for a hotel to be unmemorable than to be remembered for the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooneydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

I reviewed this hotel earlier in the year and we returned there recently. I felt I should post another review as we had a better experience this time around. The food was improved (we had a very good room service breakfast) the staff were really friendly and helpful and I felt it represented really good value for money.

I still feel the rooms are not that well equipped (no safe) but they are clean, quiet and very comfortable. The renovations are complete and so the atmosphere of the place was much nicer and the bar was quite lively in the evenings.

There is no particular wow factor here but it was a much better experience than last time. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a decent place to stay in this area at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

Location is out of washington, but useful for work in Rockville. Room is comfy, and clean. Staff in restaurant and front desk are ok, but could be more friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
254 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I used to live a block away from this hotel and I recently returned to the area for a visit and had the pleasure of staying for the night.

This hotel is located in a very, very safe residential neighborhood and is flanked by a nice outdoor retail shopping center. The hotel is within walking distance to several sit down restaurants (Macaroni Grill, Joe's Crab Shack, Hamburger Hamlet) and quick service restaurants (PotBelly Sandwich, Corner Bakery). You can also walk to lots of retail stores (including Target) and a large movie theater.

The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. There is ample free surface parking. The hotel had a newly renovated feel, and the furnishings, bedding and carpet all appeared to be new. The room smelled fresh and clean, and our room had a view of the lake (where you can rent paddle boats) and retail center. The hotel is 100% non-smoking, making it a great choice if you aren't a cigarette fan.

Note that this hotel is very close to a major highway and there is a bit of road noise (mostly in the daytime but there is some noise at night). If you don't have a car, the hotel had a free shuttle service to the nearby Shady Grove metro station. The hotel seems to cater to business travelers, but it would be a great choice for leisure travelers too (if you don't mind traveling into D.C.).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moviegal226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

Photos on the Marriott website make hotel lobby/restaurant/bar look bigger than it actually is. Room was fine since its a brand new hotel, king bed is extremely comfortable. Location is the best feature, there are plenty of restaurants/bars/shopping within walking distance, and the area is very safe and clean. Staff was very good, even got late check out on short notice.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank itbetterbeclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

My wife & I have stayed here before & will stay again. Had a king room & as always it was very comfortable & with a view over the lake. Also had a couple friends over for a few hours of talking & catching up & the room was fine for that with a few nice comfortable chairs. Stayed on a Saturday night, & usually that is cause for parking problems, but there were plenty of parking spots that particular night. Parking is free at this property. We did not have a laptop with us, but in the lobby, there was a small room with a desktop in it, which guests were allowed to use. So we checked our email on it, made sure to logoff (the previous user did not log off) & to delete our files. They also have another pc on the counter at check-in that can be used for free for airline check-in & print boarding passes. The Sunday morning brunch was good. Not sure if that was usual or special because it was father's day. There are some restaurants & shopping very close by, within walking distance. Cost, including tax, with AAA discount was about $110.

  • Liked — Very comfortable. Good view. Good location. Convenient for our travels.
  • Disliked — Seemed to have only 1 elevator working. Not the easiest place to find for the first time.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank readynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#9 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Gaithersburg/Washington, DC North
2.6 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending functionality and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center sets the stage for a truly successful visit. Located just outside of Washington, DC. In Montgomery County, Maryland, our picturesque lakeside hotel is the ideal home base for business travelers and families alike. Upon arrival, you'll instantly be taken with our well-appointed accommodations, superior amenities, and friendly service. Our spacious hotel rooms and suites offer guests perks like stunning lake views, luxurious bedding, and flat-screen TVs; upgrade for a Concierge Level room for added benefits like a complimentary Continental breakfast. We invite you to dine with us al fresco at The Bench, or enjoy craft cocktails and small bites with friends at our Lobby Lounge. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible event space, we're also an ideal location for a business convention or wedding in Gaithersburg. Whatever brings you here, we look forward to your visit at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing