We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Marriott is...a Marriott. In other words, nice but not very unique. Located on a small man-made lake, there are numerous medium priced and medium quality restaurants within walking distance. The lake is quite nice, although the environment is a bit artificial. I would recommend this for a business trip or as a reliable place to stay on a vacation, not a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: A lake facing too is much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you recommending us as a reliable place to stay for a business trip or vacation. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again!

Mario Lara
Senior Manager Rooms Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    72
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
48
24
13
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here for a family reunion. The hotel is beautiful with a lovely setting on a small lake with nearby eateries and shopping within easy walking distance. Since my wife is a paraplegic, we require an accessible room with a roll in shower. This room was the best that we have encountered because the bathroom was set up with safety and accessibility in mind. The safety grab bars were properly located and the shower allowed for easy access without having a lot of water spill out from the base into the bath room area. Excellent design! The room was well set up also with ample space to maneuver around, everything was very clean, staff were very friendly and responsive, bar and restaurant were good. The Metro was just a few minutes away with ample parking and access to all that DC has to offer. The hotel also has free parking and Wi-Fi........always a plus so you are not hit with those extra charges. We highly recommend this property to visitors to the DC area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you chose to stay at our hotel for a family reunion. It’s wonderful that the accessible room was the “best that [you] have encountered” and you “highly recommend this property”! Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stopped at this Marriott on the way to the NC shore. The staff were all welcoming and helpful.

The rooms were fine, no complaints. The lobby is spacious, with a bar/lounge, very nice seating areas with televisions and a small restaurant.

The concierge level was excellent. All of the expected amenities paired with good service. The hostess was perfect and the food was tasty and plentiful.

This Marriott is located next to an impressive shopping complex, just a pleasant walk out the back door and around the lake. There are large retail stores, smaller boutiques, restaurants and a large cineplex. The walk around the lake in the evening and along shopping complex's outer bank is great.

There are three Marriott brands within a block of each other here. I believe the other two are a Residence Inn and a Courtyard. They had slightly cheaper rates, but no concierge level. One of them is also located directly on the lake, directly in the shopping complex. The other is off of the lake, two blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that our hotel met all your needs and the staff were all welcoming and helpful. We have a great team here and I'm so glad that we topped your expectations. Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel on the way to the NC shore. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Please contact me with any questions or feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Took in fireworks in DC and needed a place to stay as we headed back home. 30 minutes outside of DC was the Gaithersburg Marriott. We arrived at midnight and was greeted by Carter at the front desk. He professionally and quickly got us our clean and comfortable 2 double bed room. I earlier considered the close by Courtyard with the Queen beds but it seemed a bit seedy area and though close by, this Marriott was a bit more secure. No issues whatsoever. Back to Marriott beds, a bit soft for us, but not a deal killer. Room spacious and QUIET. Out of there by 8:00am the next morning so did not use anything else in the hotel but seemed clean and updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you found our hotel spacious, quiet and clean. Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My mom is in a nearby nursing home but can visit with me while I stay at this hotel. She likes to eat at the full service restaurant and sit out on the patio by the lake. The staff here is wonderful! They made us feel welcome and went out of their way to be helpful. When was the last time that even the security guard tried to make your stay a little nicer?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I agree with you regarding our “wonderful” staff and the joy of sitting out on the patio by the lake and eating at the restaurant. We'll look forward to welcoming you and your Mom back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had been traveling from the Outer Banks and needed to stop for the night. We got a room on the spot and since we did not want to drive anymore were pleasantly surprised when we saw many choices for eating walking distance from the hotel. It has a lovely green space for walking around around a pond. We had great nights sleep as well and the staff were all friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a “great night sleep” and the “staff were all friendly and welcoming” to you and your family. Thank you again for choosing our hotel for a last minute stop and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a nice 3 star hotel. It's nice but not spectacular. The hotel seems a little old, but fine for a few night's stay. The best feature is it's close proximity to the Washingtonian Center, where there are numerous restaurants, boutique shops, movie theatre, and lake. Much of the center is relatively new.

Yes, I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara M, General Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
I'm sorry to learn that your impression of the hotel was less than satisfactory on your recent visit. I certainly understand your comments and appreciate the feedback. Should you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me directly at the hotel at 301-590-0044.

Kind Regards,

Sara Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending both style and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center hotel is the ideal gathering place for families and business travelers alike. Conveniently located amidst the suburbs of Washington, D.C., This distinctive hotel's Gaithersburg, MD location puts guests near many popular businesses, including the Department of Energy, Lockheed Martin, NIST and the FDA, while surrounding them with the many historic sites and national monuments found in and around Washington, D.C. Overlooking a picturesque lake, the hotel's impressive accommodations in Gaithersburg feature rich bedding ensembles, Plug-In panels for easy connectivity, premium movie channels and Enhanced High-Speed Internet access. Boasting over 9,000 square feet of high-tech event space, our hotel is an ideal choice for corporate meetings and grand social events. Our Gaithersburg hotel's restaurant features indoor and outdoor dining and guests are within walking distance of the Rio Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.