We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stopped at this Marriott on the way to the NC shore. The staff were all welcoming and helpful.

The rooms were fine, no complaints. The lobby is spacious, with a bar/lounge, very nice seating areas with televisions and a small restaurant.

The concierge level was excellent. All of the expected amenities paired with good service. The hostess was perfect and the food was tasty and plentiful.

This Marriott is located next to an impressive shopping complex, just a pleasant walk out the back door and around the lake. There are large retail stores, smaller boutiques, restaurants and a large cineplex. The walk around the lake in the evening and along shopping complex's outer bank is great.

There are three Marriott brands within a block of each other here. I believe the other two are a Residence Inn and a Courtyard. They had slightly cheaper rates, but no concierge level. One of them is also located directly on the lake, directly in the shopping complex. The other is off of the lake, two blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled that our hotel met all your needs and the staff were all welcoming and helpful. We have a great team here and I'm so glad that we topped your expectations. Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel on the way to the NC shore. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Please contact me with any questions or feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    71
    27
    8
    2
See reviews for
48
24
13
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Took in fireworks in DC and needed a place to stay as we headed back home. 30 minutes outside of DC was the Gaithersburg Marriott. We arrived at midnight and was greeted by Carter at the front desk. He professionally and quickly got us our clean and comfortable 2 double bed room. I earlier considered the close by Courtyard with the Queen beds but it seemed a bit seedy area and though close by, this Marriott was a bit more secure. No issues whatsoever. Back to Marriott beds, a bit soft for us, but not a deal killer. Room spacious and QUIET. Out of there by 8:00am the next morning so did not use anything else in the hotel but seemed clean and updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you found our hotel spacious, quiet and clean. Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel. Thank you again for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My mom is in a nearby nursing home but can visit with me while I stay at this hotel. She likes to eat at the full service restaurant and sit out on the patio by the lake. The staff here is wonderful! They made us feel welcome and went out of their way to be helpful. When was the last time that even the security guard tried to make your stay a little nicer?

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I agree with you regarding our “wonderful” staff and the joy of sitting out on the patio by the lake and eating at the restaurant. We'll look forward to welcoming you and your Mom back to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We had been traveling from the Outer Banks and needed to stop for the night. We got a room on the spot and since we did not want to drive anymore were pleasantly surprised when we saw many choices for eating walking distance from the hotel. It has a lovely green space for walking around around a pond. We had great nights sleep as well and the staff were all friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel and reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you had a “great night sleep” and the “staff were all friendly and welcoming” to you and your family. Thank you again for choosing our hotel for a last minute stop and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is a nice 3 star hotel. It's nice but not spectacular. The hotel seems a little old, but fine for a few night's stay. The best feature is it's close proximity to the Washingtonian Center, where there are numerous restaurants, boutique shops, movie theatre, and lake. Much of the center is relatively new.

Yes, I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara M, General Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
I'm sorry to learn that your impression of the hotel was less than satisfactory on your recent visit. I certainly understand your comments and appreciate the feedback. Should you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me directly at the hotel at 301-590-0044.

Kind Regards,

Sara Moore
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We attended a wedding last weekend and the choice was excellent. Check in was easy and accommodating. We had a lovely room with a view overlooking the lake. It was such a pleasure after a six hour drive to walk right outside and have everything at our fingertips from dining to shopping. Having restaurants, shops and a movie theater situated around a beautiful lake was amazing. There was even a live band by the lake at night
I cannot say enough about the staff. Ned was exceptional and took care of any need we had.He really is an ambassador for the hospitality business. I also want to give a shout out to Wade,Michael and Lindsey who also addressed our needs throughout the weekend.
We will definitely return if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Request one overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center while you attended a wedding. Looks like the staff at our hotel along with our location, contributed to making your stay excellent. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and thank you for providing your review on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Staff were exceptionally friendly during check in and were very helpful at suggesting surrounding activities and options for eating etc. I was only staying here one night on business, so was looking for some decent sleep and this was a fantastic bed - I could barely get out of it in the morning I was so comfortable.

The soda / pop machine on my floor was broken, which was annoying, though they have a little shop by reception so I was still able to get something. Also, the water did not drain well at this hotel in my room; I really hate that though I know many hotels have a lot of trouble with that. I usually try to mention it but didn't have time today.

Also, as with most Mariott's this hotel charges for phone and internet. Ridiculous in 2014; so cheap to provide and such a necessity. Oh well, just used the hotspot in my phone as everyone should when a hotel charges for internet. A smarter way is to offer basic internet for free, and charge for high speed. That seems much more reasonable to me.

Would happily recommend this hotel it is in a nice location and has a lake beside it, with lots of shops etc nearby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario L, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the hotel on Tripadvisor. I do apologize that the beverage machine was not working on your floor. I also wanted to note that in the restaurant and lobby area, we offer complimentary high speed internet. Thank you for choosing the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel and please stay with us again. Please contact me with any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending both style and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center hotel is the ideal gathering place for families and business travelers alike. Conveniently located amidst the suburbs of Washington, D.C., This distinctive hotel's Gaithersburg, MD location puts guests near many popular businesses, including the Department of Energy, Lockheed Martin, NIST and the FDA, while surrounding them with the many historic sites and national monuments found in and around Washington, D.C. Overlooking a picturesque lake, the hotel's impressive accommodations in Gaithersburg feature rich bedding ensembles, Plug-In panels for easy connectivity, premium movie channels and Enhanced High-Speed Internet access. Boasting over 9,000 square feet of high-tech event space, our hotel is an ideal choice for corporate meetings and grand social events. Our Gaithersburg hotel's restaurant features indoor and outdoor dining and guests are within walking distance of the Rio Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.