We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, newly remodeled, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, newly remodeled, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Greatly enjoyed this hotel. Fitness room is open 24 hours for those who wake up at 5 am, like me!
No pool, but situated on the manmade lake at the Rio complex in Gaithersburg with a nice trail around the lake. Many stores and restaurants within walking distance to choose from.
Very nice room with a view of the lake. Especially comfortable bed. Looking forward to coming back here on my next visit to the DC area!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    69
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
46
23
13
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I love this hotel and location - situated in Rio Washingtonian area. I have stayed in dozens of hotels all over DC area in the past year and this is a favorite. The rooms are new and modern. Extremely clean. I haven't eaten here but the bar area is very chic, with reasonably priced happy hour specials. With so many other venues within close walking distance I suppose prices must be competitive rather than the usual over-priced hotel restaurant/bar. Plenty of free parking. Nice gym. My room overlooked a nice lagoon surrounded by walking path. Everything you need is walking distance. I will return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for a few days whilst on business in the area but I also extended my stay for a couple of days to go and see some of DC. I cant think of anything negative to say about the hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, at one stage I enquired about laundry facilities and instead of only being offered the expensive "sending off to the cleaners" option, reception kindly pointed me to the Marriott suites hotel along the road which has coin op washing machines available - I caculated that that little bit of information saved me around $50.

The food at the hotel was nice too, breakfast is "buffet" style and offers a range of hot and cold items (I can recommend the Granola with fresh fruit) I only had one evening meal there but that too was really nice.

As others have said the hotel complex is adjacent to a shopping / entertainment centre which caters for a range of cuisines with menus to suit all budgets.

The hotel makes a good base for touring the area too, it's only 2 or 3 miles from Shady Grove metro station which makes for a good journey into the centre of DC. Given where Gaithersburg sits in Maryland, the hotel is ideally situated for trips into Virginia / West Verginia too.

I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I agree that our staff and location are two of the "jewels" of the hotel and I'm glad you got to experience both. We'll look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the area.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for multiple nights last summer and have returned for a two-night stay this spring. The internet service this time around is excruciatingly slow this time around. We can barely connect one laptop let alone two, and the first runs very slowly. The front desk sent someone up to have a look but he didn't seem to really know what to do about it. The hotel is not busy at all so it's not a matter of many guests slowing down the service. Very disappointing for a hotel that aspires to serving business guests regularly. Although I'm traveling with my family, I'm unable to get the work I need to do done in an expeditious manner due to the slow internet service. Had we not been able to stay on a free night promotion this would have been a total waste of money; the going rate for a Monday night stay was nearly $250. And as a Gold member I receive free internet, but had we paid a la carte it would have been pointless.

This is really a shame because the staff here are generally quite friendly and helpful and the hotel is nicely situated near the Rio complex in Gaithersburg. But note there is no pool--not a plus for families.

Room Tip: Rooms farther down the hall away from the elevator toward the highway have a better view down the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and comments about your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear that there were troubles with the internet speed. We pride ourselves on being able to provide amenities that our business and leisure travelers can use while staying with us. I'll review your notes with my team to see if we can troubleshoot and figure out a permanent solution to the internet access points. Should you have any additional feedback or questions, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
301-590-0044
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We just got back from a great weekend in Gaithersburg, MD. for a family party. We chose this hotel because it was very close to the party. This hotel is set in a beautiful little shopping area and ia located on a walkway along the water. When we arrived the weather was beautiful and we went for a walk along the water. After our rough winter here, it was a pleasant experience to walk and enjoy the view.
The room and the facilities were perfect. The staff was great. The prices were more than reasonable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to exceed your expectations. I'll be sharing this with them as an example of how we've been able to go above and beyond. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I appreciate the friendly staff, the clean rooms and the proximity to the little lake, but this hotel is definitely more convenient if you are traveling by car than by Metro. Other nearby hotels such as the Comfort Inn Shady Grove offer free shuttle service to the Metro. It is about a 20 dollar cab ride from this hotel to the Shady grove Metro if you include the tip, which adds up quickly. Offering a free shuttle to the Metro would be a great addition. There is a public bus from the Metro during the day but no one at the hotel was able to tell me the bus number so I had to keep asking the bus drivers at the station until I found the right one. Apparently there are 2 separate bus systems...Also, there is no shuttle service available to any of the airports so be prepared to spend 50 or 60 dollars on a cab to DCA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake and not the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry you weren't able to take advantage of our complimentary hotel shuttle. It runs weekdays in the peak AM and PM "rush-hour" time periods. Next time you're at the hotel, please let us know of your schedule and we'll do our best to coordinate for you.

Best regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel lives up to my previous Marriott experiences. The staff was pleasant and made guests feel welcomed. The room was clean with the usual amenities in the bathroom. It is situated only a short distance from highway so it is great location if you are working or visiting in the Washington area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending both style and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center hotel is the ideal gathering place for families and business travelers alike. Conveniently located amidst the suburbs of Washington, D.C., This distinctive hotel's Gaithersburg, MD location puts guests near many popular businesses, including the Department of Energy, Lockheed Martin, NIST and the FDA, while surrounding them with the many historic sites and national monuments found in and around Washington, D.C. Overlooking a picturesque lake, the hotel's impressive accommodations in Gaithersburg feature rich bedding ensembles, Plug-In panels for easy connectivity, premium movie channels and Enhanced High-Speed Internet access. Boasting over 9,000 square feet of high-tech event space, our hotel is an ideal choice for corporate meetings and grand social events. Our Gaithersburg hotel's restaurant features indoor and outdoor dining and guests are within walking distance of the Rio Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.