We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the business traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the business traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice hotel. Rooms are well equipped and quiet. The gym is good with a large selection of equipment.

The bar serves a decent selection of beers on tap and in bottle and the food is better than any of the local restaurants.

I wouldn't stay in the area other than for work, and the hotel serves that market well.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    93
    33
    9
    2
See reviews for
60
32
16
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I've stayed here several times on business trips to the Gaithersburg area. The rooms have always been very clean and comfortable. The location is very convenient too: there are a number of restaurants and a movie theater within a very short walk. I've only eaten breakfast in the restaurant, but the buffet had a nice assortment of tasty options.

My one word of advice is to pay attention to which Marriott you are going to: there are three on the same street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Gaithersburg Marriott. We'll look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the area.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed in the Washingtonian Center Area for several weeks, I wish I had realized how close the Marriott was to everything else in the center. It offers far more amentities than the Courtyard down the hill. The GM of this property was friendly and helpful and the restaurant has some pretty decent options on the menu which came in handy due to the winter storm that swept through. This location is very close to all the Washingtonian Center has to offer and backs up the pond and walking trail.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pond!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for your post about our hotel and for sharing on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you found the hotel to have a great location and that our staff was friendly. We'll look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Gaithersburg.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

When the first thing you receive upon check in is all the reasons they can evict you from the hotel, my radar went up. We attended a wedding reception at which the food was very good and we had a nice time. I was very disappointed at the fact that phone calls were over $6 per call and Wi-Fi was not free. Then to my horror, the breakfast buffet was $20 per person! Really, for breakfast? The poached eggs on the benedict were quite undercooked, the scramble was rubbery and most of the breads were stale. Being in the food service industry, I know that the plate of breakfast that most guests consumed only cost about $2-$4 per plate, the mark up was ridiculous! A person could have a great steak dinner for that amount. Anyway, I will not be staying with this hotel again in the future and will not recommend it. There are tons of other local hotels with better service and more reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
I'm sorry to learn that your experience was less than satisfactory on your recent visit to our hotel. I certainly understand your comments and appreciate the feedback. Should you have any additional feedback or comments, please reach out to me directly at the hotel at 301-590-0044.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel was very nice, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I ran in direct from the airport and running late for a business meeting, and the man at the front desk stored my bags for me right away. The room was nice and clean. My only complaint about the room is that it overlooked the front entrance, and was a bit noisy and felt a little too open. Also, the wifi wasn't free in the room, but I could connect to the lobby wifi, which was free.

I didn't get a chance to explore the neighborhood, but there's a big shopping area with restaurants within walking distance.

It's not close to DC, and not terribly close to the Metro (need to take a cab), but if you have business in Gaithersburg, it's great.

Room Tip: I would recommend a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed the hotel. I'm glad our staff was able to provide you with the service for which Marriott has become so well known. Happy New Year!

-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The location is reason to choose this hotel. Great hotel near a beautiful lake, movie theater and a strip with lots of places to eat and shop.. Many restaurants and lots of shopping all within walking distance along with a movie theatre and lake.Love the staff here. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake front view and enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center. I'll make sure to share your comments with our staff. I'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Maryland.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Good friendly hotel . Wifi that works and is fast , comfortable beds , room well equipped but not too fussy. Location was just right for my needs.
Overall a great experience. The only downside for me was the shower , which didn't give me much control , it was off or Niagra .

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback and review on TripAdvisor of your recent stay with us at the Gaithersburg Marriott. I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. I'll follow up with our Director of Engineering about the shower in your room to make sure everything is working properly. We'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the area.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#9 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#5 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending functionality and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center sets the stage for a truly successful visit. Located just outside of Washington, DC. In Montgomery County, Maryland, our picturesque lakeside hotel is the ideal home base for business travelers and families alike. Upon arrival, you'll instantly be taken with our well-appointed accommodations, superior amenities, and friendly service. Our spacious hotel rooms and suites offer guests perks like stunning lake views, luxurious bedding, and flat-screen TVs; upgrade for a Concierge Level room for added benefits like a complimentary Continental breakfast. We invite you to dine with us al fresco at The Bench, or enjoy craft cocktails and small bites with friends at our Lobby Lounge. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible event space, we're also an ideal location for a business convention or wedding in Gaithersburg. Whatever brings you here, we look forward to your visit at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.