We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Bar and Night Management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Horrible Bar and Night Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We made the mistake of having our wedding guests stay at this hotel. We were told by multiple staff that the hotel bar would stay open until 1am and longer if they had a lot of people at the bar. The miserable restaurant manager called last call at 11:15 and kicked out a packed bar because she obviously just wanted to go home. We also weren't allowed to bring our own wine to the outside patio. Not to mention a drunk local regular who was harassing everyone.
The hotel also refused to let us take a look at one of the hotel rooms prior to booking.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I'm sorry to hear about your experience. I'd be happy to discuss details and to review your concerns with you. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel at 301-590-0044.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    68
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
44
22
12
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. Excellent hotel, clean, however, as I entered the shower their was no rough surface on the floor of the tub, I slipped and injured myself. Not seriously, bruises and a fractured tail bone (per my doctor). The next morning I went to the front desk and told of them of the problem. I asked for a bath mat to be put in the shower. I was told it would be done. Oh well....not done. Not only that but the front desk person I spoke to never even asked me if I was ok.
I would have asked for a Manager, but we were in a hurry to get to the airport and I did not want to miss my plane.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear about the incident you described and would be happy to discuss it further with you. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel at 301-590-0044 at any time. I hope you feel better soon.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for more than 30 nights during the Spring, and I have to say, for the price paid, it probably was one of my top 5 Marriott experiences ever. Everything is newly updated - from top to bottom. Food good, gym good, rooms fresh, concierge lounge wonderful (especially Maria!!), free parking, complimentary shuttle to the Metro, overall excellent service from EVERYONE, and a nice location with the many dining and shopping options of the Rio Center within a short walk. There is even a more extensive health club facility at the Center with a great lap swimming pool (you have to pay $20 to use it - it would be nice if Marriott would bring back the free vouchers they once had for their guests to go over there). You really can't go wrong at this property if you get a reasonable rate.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay with us at the Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff exceeded your expectations. I'll make sure to share your feedback with Maria and the rest of the team. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite marriotts. Concierge level is awesome, staff are friendly, rooms are clean and modern. Gym is small but modern and nice. Food at restaurant is good and they have a great cable package. It's attached to rio shopping center which is fantastic. Food options are chains which aren't my favorite but the shopping and movie theater are great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks so much for posting about your stay with us at the Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center. It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved our stay. We paid only $99 and had a large room overlooking the lake. The restaurant was perfect and we sat outside looking at the lake. We then walked around the board walk and listened to music and finally had our dinner at one of the many restaurants. This is a perfect spot for the traveler to get of the road and relax and unwind. It is a hidden gem as we have stopped on our way traveling in this area and not found this place before. Note the breakfast buffet will a little pricy is great with omelets, salmon and much more.

Room Tip: A high floor facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for posting about your recent stay with us at the Gaithersburg Marriott. It's nice to hear stories how our guests enjoy the area and the amenities of the lake side patio on The Bench. Make sure to stop by again now that the weather's so nice!

Thanks again! Safe travels.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Business trip brought me to the area, but I'll come back for a family trip. Easy access. In a safe residential area. Even though rainy outside, it was sunny inside! Front desk, restaurant, bar, all cheerful and accommodating. Had a lake view room which was clean and had a fridge and microwave. Bedding was comfortable, plenty of towels, and plenty of room. Breakfast buffet was generous, fresh and delicious. Boardwalk all around the lake provided a nice, safe walking environment. Boardwalk connected hotel to movie theatres (right next door) and many shoppes and restaurants. And did I mention the hotel parking was free?! Loved this place and reasonable price, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
So happy to hear about your stay at the Gaithersburg Marriott. Thanks for posting your feedback and review on TripAdvisor. It's always nice to read positive feedback that I can share with our talented team. We'll look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here for a week while attending a project training in Rockville. Another great Marriott property! The staff was incredible. Polite, accommodating and professional. Every evening after our training, a group of us would meet for Happy Hour in the bar area, where we usually stayed well past the Happy Hour cut off. Janet, the restaurant(?)/bar manager was so gracious and so friendly. It was wonderful to just step out of the hotel and into the Rio area where there are great restaurants and shops and a movie theater. My room was incredibly clean, the bed was very comfortable and the floor I was on was very quiet. I love this hotel. There is a reason that Marriott remains my No. 1 hotel choice, and this hotel just ensured that status.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
It's so great to hear such nice things about our staff and our service. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'll make sure our supervisor in The Bench, Janice, is recognized appropriately!

We'll see you next time.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center offers convenient lodging near the I-270 business corridor and Washington DC. This hotel is 100% smoke-free and is ideal for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.