We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
baltimore, md
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

One of my favorite marriotts. Concierge level is awesome, staff are friendly, rooms are clean and modern. Gym is small but modern and nice. Food at restaurant is good and they have a great cable package. It's attached to rio shopping center which is fantastic. Food options are chains which aren't my favorite but the shopping and movie theater are great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thanks so much for posting about your stay with us at the Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center. It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    69
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
46
23
13
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We loved our stay. We paid only $99 and had a large room overlooking the lake. The restaurant was perfect and we sat outside looking at the lake. We then walked around the board walk and listened to music and finally had our dinner at one of the many restaurants. This is a perfect spot for the traveler to get of the road and relax and unwind. It is a hidden gem as we have stopped on our way traveling in this area and not found this place before. Note the breakfast buffet will a little pricy is great with omelets, salmon and much more.

Room Tip: A high floor facing the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thanks for posting about your recent stay with us at the Gaithersburg Marriott. It's nice to hear stories how our guests enjoy the area and the amenities of the lake side patio on The Bench. Make sure to stop by again now that the weather's so nice!

Thanks again! Safe travels.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Business trip brought me to the area, but I'll come back for a family trip. Easy access. In a safe residential area. Even though rainy outside, it was sunny inside! Front desk, restaurant, bar, all cheerful and accommodating. Had a lake view room which was clean and had a fridge and microwave. Bedding was comfortable, plenty of towels, and plenty of room. Breakfast buffet was generous, fresh and delicious. Boardwalk all around the lake provided a nice, safe walking environment. Boardwalk connected hotel to movie theatres (right next door) and many shoppes and restaurants. And did I mention the hotel parking was free?! Loved this place and reasonable price, too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
So happy to hear about your stay at the Gaithersburg Marriott. Thanks for posting your feedback and review on TripAdvisor. It's always nice to read positive feedback that I can share with our talented team. We'll look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here for a week while attending a project training in Rockville. Another great Marriott property! The staff was incredible. Polite, accommodating and professional. Every evening after our training, a group of us would meet for Happy Hour in the bar area, where we usually stayed well past the Happy Hour cut off. Janet, the restaurant(?)/bar manager was so gracious and so friendly. It was wonderful to just step out of the hotel and into the Rio area where there are great restaurants and shops and a movie theater. My room was incredibly clean, the bed was very comfortable and the floor I was on was very quiet. I love this hotel. There is a reason that Marriott remains my No. 1 hotel choice, and this hotel just ensured that status.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
It's so great to hear such nice things about our staff and our service. Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center Hotel on TripAdvisor. I'll make sure our supervisor in The Bench, Janice, is recognized appropriately!

We'll see you next time.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I came to Gaithersburg for a bridal shower. The hotel was convenient to all our weekend activities and was a good deal as well. Check in and check out we're seamless. Room was comfortable. The extra pillows we requested were waiting for us.
We ate breakfast in the hotel lobby and while everything was fresh and delicious the wait staff seemed to struggle with getting the orders down.
The hotel is located next to the Rio which is filled with great shops and good restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad to hear your enjoyed your stay. We'll look forward to seeing you at the Marriott on your next trip to Gaithersburg.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We live 5 minutes away from Rio. My husband received free hotel stay from Marriott, but we didn't have a chance to go anywhere far, so we decided to take a mini vacation right in our back yard at Rio. I really enjoyed the stay, even though I live and work right next to Rio, I still enjoyed walking around the lake, attend free summer concerts and going to the restaurants for some good food and drinks.

The Hotel:
Fitness Center-
We used the fitness center which was very nice and clean, only one other person was there. There is a small TV in front of each treadmill and elliptical. They also have headphones that you can use.
Room-
The room was very nice and clean, we didn't have any problems at all. It's a standard Marriott room.
Breakfast-
We had the breakfast buffet, it was pretty good. Again, standard Marriott breakfast items.

Overall we really enjoyed the mini vacation, and will do it again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for posting about your stay with us. It's great to hear that we were able to provide you with the r&r you were looking for on your mini-vacation. Hopefully, we'll see you soon on your next getaway!

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I thought this was better than average, given that it is a large, chain hotel. I have also stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in the same location and I prefer the Washingtonian Marriott. The decor is more modern and the lobby area much more inviting. It's just as close to the action but quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our lakefront location in Gaiterhsburg. The Rio Entertainment Center has a great selection of shopping, dining, and entertainment and it's all within walking distance of our hotel. Thanks again!

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending both style and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center hotel is the ideal gathering place for families and business travelers alike. Conveniently located amidst the suburbs of Washington, D.C., This distinctive hotel's Gaithersburg, MD location puts guests near many popular businesses, including the Department of Energy, Lockheed Martin, NIST and the FDA, while surrounding them with the many historic sites and national monuments found in and around Washington, D.C. Overlooking a picturesque lake, the hotel's impressive accommodations in Gaithersburg feature rich bedding ensembles, Plug-In panels for easy connectivity, premium movie channels and Enhanced High-Speed Internet access. Boasting over 9,000 square feet of high-tech event space, our hotel is an ideal choice for corporate meetings and grand social events. Our Gaithersburg hotel's restaurant features indoor and outdoor dining and guests are within walking distance of the Rio Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.