We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above averusiness I had to be atage Marriott (about time)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Above averusiness I had to be atage Marriott (about time)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

So stayed 2 nights at this Marriott, this week, very nice, great location, updated hotel, great little bar and friendly staff. Arrived late (close to midnight) and restaurant/bar was still open so need a byte to eat, they had a good selection of beers on tap, had a good salad. Bar area was nice, friendly and good bar staff. The rooms were updated and nice and large, clean and plenty of light. The location was great, near all the be at during my stay. Next to a large shopping complex with movie theater, restaurants and department stores but w/o be in the shopping mad house. I would go back to this location, nicely done (a little hard to find as it sits way back off main road).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdivsor about your stay at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. I'm glad you found The Bench restaurant and lounge to your liking. I agree we've got a great staff and a wide variety of local/regional beverage and food items available. I'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Gaithersburg!

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    96
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
62
32
16
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
223 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights. Got a great rate on Expedia for $99/night and they upgraded our room upon check in for free to a lake view room (usually $20 more). Service was very friendly.

PROS: Free newspapers, cookies and water in the lobby daily. Location cannot be beaten! It is right off of the lake and right on the walking path that goes all the way around the lake. It is less than a minute's walk from lots of restaurants, shops, a major movie theater and paddle boats right across the lake. The lake view was beautiful, day or night.

Room is spacious. Coffee maker, mini fridge, hairdryer, iron and ironing board in the room. Bath and Body Works toiletries. Good water pressure.

CONS: There are no safes in the rooms. The towels are thin and feel cheap. The tub is slippery when wet - they need non skid decals. Local cabs have taken to double parking in the parking lot hoping for fares which block the cars wanting to leave or enter parking spaces.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for posting your feedback about the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I wanted to make sure to inform you that complimentary safety deposit boxes are available for use at our reception desk in the lobby. We're looking at placing safes in the guestrooms at a future date. Additionally, we are in the process of introducing new towels and terry products into the guest rooms and are planning to have all guest rooms feature our new, plush, terry products by the end of 2014.

Thanks again,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel was excellent however it's the first time I have been in a full service Marriott where there was no pool. Since it was around 90 out I truly missed it.


Pros
nice room, very clean typical Marriott Concierge level room
located next to a mall with loads of restaurants & a Target.
great restaurant food.
concierge lounge very good.
We got upgraded to a concierge level room.
manangement sent a complimentary snack tray to our room- a very nice gesture.
The general manager sent a welcoming email to us- great personal service.
Maria in the Concierge lounge was excellent & went out of her way for us.

Cons
restaurant was overwhelmed for breakfast since there was 2 huge wedding parties there & we couldn't get a seat & had to wait. Maybe they can have reservations for large parties & stagger them so other guests can have a seat also? Also noise level was very high in restaurant during this time. It was fine when we had dinner there.

Some of the front desk staff were not familiar with the area at all as they were foreigners. I asked how far it was to the outlets in Hagerstown, Antietam National park & Harpers Ferry national park but they had no clue what I was talking about. Please educate them about what's to see & do in the area. Each of those places was less than one hour from the hotel.

We thought the Concierge lounge was closed on July 4 but it was not. The front desk should inform guests if the lounge is open or closed for holidays.

We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for posting a review on TripAdivsor. I appreciate your insight about making sure our Associates are knowledgeable about the area. Marriott provides itself in having a diverse workforce representative of the world we live in. With the recent events at various battlefields, it's an excellent opportunity for us to educate our team on the special events and historical sites in neighboring areas, outside of the Washiginton-DC metro region. We'll make sure to share the feedback with our team so we can continue to improve.

Best regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

the hotel is average, staff is not responsive to needs..had to take my own bags and the bags of my 80 plus year old in laws up to the room using the hotels baggage dolly/cart...no bellhops?? Staff not knowledgable as regards marriott rewards packages..had to produce my emails as proof...Server in breakfast buffet only concerned with her tip, couldnt understand the concept of the hotel breakfast buffet coupons(we did have a large group/family 15-25)..Assured her we would tip, and were not out to beat the hotel of any monies. difficult to understand waitress. mgr. from Michigan very nice and cut thru red tape to accomodate properly and redeem the marriott name.....Rooms are average business rooms.. Only would stay if had to be in area again.

Room Tip: try to book the lake side rooms(odd rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback about your stay on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear we fell short of your expectatoins. I'd like to learn more about your experience to learn some specifics of how we can improve. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly at 301-590-0044, at your convenience.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at this hotel several times. The location is great with a variety of shops and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. This time I stayed at a hotel with a view of non-lakeside. The view was not good. I suggested asking the room with a view of lake side. The room is clean and the bed is comfortable. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. I forgot to take the shaver with me. The hotel provided me a complementary shaver. My stay was excellent.

Room Tip: room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback about the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. It's always great to hear when we're able to exceed our guests expectations. I have shared your comments with our staff to make sure they hear the great things you've said and how they were able to go above and beyond for you. I'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Gaithersburg and the DC area.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great location with shops and walks right next door. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Staff was wonderfully welcoming. My only two "buts" are the fact that they charge $12.95 for wifi (really??) and there is no swimming pool. The former oversight is just silly. Why does Marriott feel the need to nickel and dime its guests that way? Instead of paying, I went to the nearby Starbucks, where they treat their customers well (and have free wifi). With regard to the lack of a pool, it's really not a big deal... unless you have kids who would like to go for a swim. Otherwise, my stay was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bashdup1980, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. It's nice to hear from our guests and when we've exceeded expectations. I want to make sure to mention that while there is a fee for internet in the guestrooms, there is complimentary access to wi-fi in the lobby area, restaurant ,and also on our lakefront patio at all times. All guests are welcome to use this free service while in the hotel.

Thanks again,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott Gaithersburg for 2 nights during my business trip to the area. My overall verdict - very professional and worth the stay!

Pros:
1. Close proximity to Gaithersburg, suburb of Washington DC.
2. Front desk and concierge very forthcoming, helpful and attentive.
3. The hotel and room decor is very modern.
4. The hotel in general and rooms are immaculately clean.
5. Concierge service on 10th floor opens at 6am-10pm with many appetizing and drink options.
6. Prompt check-in/check-out.
7. Had dinner at the restaurant and the food was tasty and flavorful.

Cons:
1. No free Wi-fi! Seriously? Every other hotel offers complimentary free WiFi nowdays!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback for the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. I'm happy to hear where we exceeded your expectations in many areas. For your next visit, please note that there is complimentary wi-fi access in the lobby and restaurant areas of the hotel. The fee for internet applies in the guestrooms and meeting space only.

Best regards and thank you again for sharing your feedback. I'll make sure our staff is recognized appropriately.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Gaithersburg Washingtonian Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
#4 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
SpringHill Suites Gaithersburg
#9 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.1 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
#5 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending functionality and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center sets the stage for a truly successful visit. Located just outside of Washington, DC. In Montgomery County, Maryland, our picturesque lakeside hotel is the ideal home base for business travelers and families alike. Upon arrival, you'll instantly be taken with our well-appointed accommodations, superior amenities, and friendly service. Our spacious hotel rooms and suites offer guests perks like stunning lake views, luxurious bedding, and flat-screen TVs; upgrade for a Concierge Level room for added benefits like a complimentary Continental breakfast. We invite you to dine with us al fresco at The Bench, or enjoy craft cocktails and small bites with friends at our Lobby Lounge. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible event space, we're also an ideal location for a business convention or wedding in Gaithersburg. Whatever brings you here, we look forward to your visit at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.