We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
new york city
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I didn't have a choice in staying at this hotel: it was organized by my conference. But, my goodness, it is fabulous. If you need a hotel in this area, you will be very happy here. Let me single out one person at the front desk: Akil. A very professional young man who knows what the hospitality industry is all about. I had some specific requests for a room and he just found the best room for me. None of that "Let me see what I can do" of, worse, "No, not available." He just did his best with a smile. Though this Marriott is a bit isolated (the cab ride from the Shady Grove Metro cost $15 with tip), the Washingtonian Center is not bad. I recommend BGR for a quick burger that is excellent. For those particularly frugal (like me), there's a Target in this mall that has a large selection of groceries. Go! You'll be glad.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at the Gaithesrburg Marriott. I'm glad that Akil exceeded your expectations. He, along with all of our Associates, are our greatest assets and it's always great to hear when we've taken such great care with our valued guests. I'll make sure he is recognized appropriately. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    79
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
53
26
14
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chelsea,me
Top Contributor
355 reviews 355 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel three times and it is consistently welcoming, clean and updated. They have a restaurant and an outside deck overlooking a duck pond with surrounding gardens which is delightful. The meals are interesting and reasonable. This hotel is adjacent to other Marriott properties, restaurants, theaters and stores for shopping.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Gaitherburg Marriott on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed our lakefront location in the Rio Complex. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Gaithersburg.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved the surroundings and this hotel. I enjoyed the restaurant within the hotel as well as the staff. This hotel has the best gym ever! Make sure to bring your camera, outside offers a wonderful scenery for photography. I will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts about the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Gaithersburg!

-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I spent one night here in March. I was actually mostly impressed by the surroundings. The hotel is located right next to a small lake. There are many resteraunts, shops, and a movie theatre right next to the lake. You can have a nice walk along the lake after the dinner if the weather is nice.

The hotel was under rennovation at the time of my stay, so there was not much a lobby. The guest room was pretty nice (just as you would expect from a full service Marrtiott).The staffs were extremely friendly!

There were four Marriott properties within walking distance of each other. So you can do some price checking to find out the right one for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I agree that our surrounding area is one of the best assets of the hotel. From the location on the lake to the convenient walk to shopping and dining, it makes a business trip that much more enjoyable to have everything so close. Our renovation is finishing up and we've reopened our new lobby and new restaurant, The Bench! You'll have to check it out on your next visit to Gaithersburg.

Thanks again,
-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location, with several good restaurants nearby (theirs is under construction and was a little pricey last years) and shopping including all the necessities of life: Target, Kohls, and a Barnes and Noble bookstore!
The renovations meant traipsing (quickly) via the outside entrance to the gym, and one of the meeting rooms had been converted to an impromptu bar and food service. The staff was really friendly and accommodating as a result. The front desk was also helpful but not too knowledgeable about the local bus line (so they have cars!) The construction noise was never evident. And there are fresh cookies or brownies every night at the desk. (Sometimes there is ice water with sliced lemons.)
There is a bus stop at the end of the sidewalk, the 64 bus goes directly to the nearest Metro station, and from there everything is handy. The hotel has a shuttle to Metro, but the bus has longer hours of operation and is $1.80 one way. You can't get a cab for that!
The rooms could still use new mattresses, and the air conditioning doesn't always get as cool as I like. This trip I just cracked open the window (no screens). Last year I had the end room on the hall and it "adjoined" another: no privacy in terms of sound. The halls are very straight and you can hear people from the minute they get off the elevator.
ALSO they host a lot of middle-school and younger sports and school events so some weeks there are a LOT of kids up and down the halls. Ask about this before you book.
I'm looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: They have a concierge floor if you follow Marriott. I choose "away from the lake" to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I'm pleased to hear how well your stay went and that our staff was able to accommodate your requests. Our renovation is in the final stages and we are excited to welcome you back into our newly transformed lobby, restaurant, and Lakeside Ballroom. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel if I can be of any further assistance.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business meeting. First off the location is great, but overall It was a disappointing experience. The furnishings were looking warn and the room had a musty smell even after it was cleaned. The bed was lumpy and the heating unit didnt seem efficient. The food in the restaurant was expensive but plain. Trying to get room service breakfast in the morning was troublesome for many in my group. I had signed up for the earlest delivery time and managed to get the overpriced meal, however many got theirs' late or not at all. It needs to noted that the lobby and restaurant are being renovated so some of the isues may be attributed to that reason. That being said, the front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdivsor regarding your recent stay at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was less than expected. I'd welcome to speak to you personally about your specific situation. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel 301-590-0044. Our multi-million dollar transformation is scheduled to be completed in Early April and I look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated lobby, restaurant and Lakeside ballroom.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has become an annually stop due to an meeting I attend. This time there's was construction. Other than the entrance change and lack of an official restaurant (Salons A and B are open for business !)it is business as usual. Perhaps the staff was even more friendly. There was a comraderie that made this visit even more fun.
The food was great. Housekeeping excellent. Comfy beds and a beautiful lake view. The fitness center has plenty of ellipticals, treadmills and weights. I enjoy being able to shop nearby for necessities : Target, wine, Lindt chocolate or Barnes and Noble. Plenty of restaurants too. The metro is a $14 cab ride away but a friend was able to take the bus from the metro to the hotel for under $2. Next time!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments on TripAdvisor for your recent stay at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. Our multi-million dollar transformation will be complete in early April and I look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated hotel!

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#6 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending both style and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center hotel is the ideal gathering place for families and business travelers alike. Conveniently located amidst the suburbs of Washington, D.C., This distinctive hotel's Gaithersburg, MD location puts guests near many popular businesses, including the Department of Energy, Lockheed Martin, NIST and the FDA, while surrounding them with the many historic sites and national monuments found in and around Washington, D.C. Overlooking a picturesque lake, the hotel's impressive accommodations in Gaithersburg feature rich bedding ensembles, Plug-In panels for easy connectivity, premium movie channels and Enhanced High-Speed Internet access. Boasting over 9,000 square feet of high-tech event space, our hotel is an ideal choice for corporate meetings and grand social events. Our Gaithersburg hotel's restaurant features indoor and outdoor dining and guests are within walking distance of the Rio Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.