We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Best Choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Yuma, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not the Best Choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a business meeting. First off the location is great, but overall It was a disappointing experience. The furnishings were looking warn and the room had a musty smell even after it was cleaned. The bed was lumpy and the heating unit didnt seem efficient. The food in the restaurant was expensive but plain. Trying to get room service breakfast in the morning was troublesome for many in my group. I had signed up for the earlest delivery time and managed to get the overpriced meal, however many got theirs' late or not at all. It needs to noted that the lobby and restaurant are being renovated so some of the isues may be attributed to that reason. That being said, the front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdivsor regarding your recent stay at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was less than expected. I'd welcome to speak to you personally about your specific situation. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel 301-590-0044. Our multi-million dollar transformation is scheduled to be completed in Early April and I look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated lobby, restaurant and Lakeside ballroom.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    84
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
56
30
15
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has become an annually stop due to an meeting I attend. This time there's was construction. Other than the entrance change and lack of an official restaurant (Salons A and B are open for business !)it is business as usual. Perhaps the staff was even more friendly. There was a comraderie that made this visit even more fun.
The food was great. Housekeeping excellent. Comfy beds and a beautiful lake view. The fitness center has plenty of ellipticals, treadmills and weights. I enjoy being able to shop nearby for necessities : Target, wine, Lindt chocolate or Barnes and Noble. Plenty of restaurants too. The metro is a $14 cab ride away but a friend was able to take the bus from the metro to the hotel for under $2. Next time!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments on TripAdvisor for your recent stay at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. Our multi-million dollar transformation will be complete in early April and I look forward to welcoming you back to our newly renovated hotel!

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Courteous staff, easy parking, great location. Close to shops, theatre, etc. nice fitness room. No highway noise in room facing lake. Overall a great experience for a relatively low price. Beds were a little lumpy.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your taking the time to give your feedback. I'm glad that you found the hotel's staff and location to have exceededd your expectations. I'll look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit to Gaithersburg.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a High School Trip to the Presidential Inauguration. I wasn't expecting much since it was a high school trip. The hotel was great!! We had a group of over a 100 and everyone had a nice room. It was clean, comfortable and a great location. It was walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel was about and hour outside of DC but an easy drive. I don't know the cost of the hotel so I cant compare that, I would imagine it wasn't cheap due to the inauguration.

Room Tip: ask for a view towards the boardwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. It's always great to hear how our hotel exceeds our guest's expectations. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over the Inauguration and we look forward to seeing you back in Gaithersburg on future occasions.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was very happy with this hotel. The location overlooking the lake is great, not to mention it's proximity to shopping, starbucks, cinema, beltway. A stroll around the lake is peaceful and feels safe even if it's next to the highway. Our room overlooked the lake and the view was great day or night. The staff were friendly. Parking is great, compared to the garage parking on neighboring Courtyard hotel, and is complimentary. There is a shuttle to the metro during weekdays only.

Room Tip: request for lake view, book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences at the Gaithersburg Marriott on TripAdvisor. It's always nice to hear when our staff is able to provide a great travel experience for our loyal guests.

Thanks again,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dragoer, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Easy to access for the highway, with good pakring on the doorstep. Resception staff exceptionally fiendly, as is the case for the top level lounge. Close to plenty of restaurants. Try to get a room overlooking the lake. Otherwise a bit worn and tired interior

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that our staff treated you royally while our guest. That's always our mission. Our hotel transformatoin will be complete in early 2013 and I look forward to welcoming you to our new space when it's unveiled. Should you have any additional comments or questions, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Each year, we visit family in nearby Rockville, MD for Thanksgiving and have always stayed at this hotel because the rates are very reasonable and the accommodations are comfortable. However, we will no longer be returning because I do not trust this hotel with my money.

First, when we initially made our reservation, the Marriott website provided absolutely no communication that this hotel was under renovation. When we arrived, check-in was brutally slow.

With that being said, upon reserving the room and checking-in, we held the room on a CREDIT card (not a DEBIT card) as we always do when we travel. Upon checking out, we switched our form of payment to a major DEBIT card that is linked to our checking account so we could reconcile the $93.50 balance immediately and not have to pay it later. Should be simple, right?

WRONG. For the third year in a row, we were charged for more than double the amount of the room on not only the CC but on the DC which resulted in over $400.00 in charges for a one night stay. This doesn't add up, because our receipt upon leaving was $93.50 for one evening. When I called the hotel the next day, the same supervisor that checked me out first tried to tell me that I held the room on the debit card, resulting in the inflated charges. Sorry, but I am not that stupid. Once I gently corrected her and reminded her that the room was held on a CC, she refused to admit any wrongdoing on the hotel's part, claiming that they only charged us for $93.50 and that the responsibility was the bank's to refund the extra money that they took from our DC. However, the bank only charges what you tell them to charge, so apparently Marriott, you did charge us the incorrect amount.

This has happened over the last three years only at this hotel. When we called our bank, the representative indicated that Marriott, and only Marriott, is notorious for this type of miscommunication, which I figured.

This should be simple. Use a credit card to hold the room, so incidentals are not applied to your debit card. Then, pay with a debit card when you leave to immediately resolve the balance. Now because of Marriott's mistake, we have to wait one week to get over $100 in cash back to our debit card. When you're living month to month, this amount of money is a big deal. They can carelessly take the money from you, but when you need it back, it takes a week in spite of their error. Unacceptable. I suppose I should carry a stack of $100's next time.

While I will say that Marriott did allow us to check-out early and not charge the second night because my wife was sick, the supervisor unprofessionally threw this up to me as a rationale so I can accept why this happened. All of my goodwill towards them doing this is now gone.

I travel several times per month, and this happens nowhere else. It will not happen at this hotel anymore, because I will not be staying there anymore and I will strongly consider not staying at Marriotts' again. Memo to corporate - train your front desk staff properly because this happens nowhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review of your stay. It sounds like there was a bit of miscommunicatoin during your stay and for that I apologize. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel and I'd be happy to discuss your specific situation and see what we can do to improve our service. I can be reached during business hours at 301-590-0044.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#6 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending functionality and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center sets the stage for a truly successful visit. Located just outside of Washington, DC. In Montgomery County, Maryland, our picturesque lakeside hotel is the ideal home base for business travelers and families alike. Upon arrival, you'll instantly be taken with our well-appointed accommodations, superior amenities, and friendly service. Our spacious hotel rooms and suites offer guests perks like stunning lake views, luxurious bedding, and flat-screen TVs; upgrade for a Concierge Level room for added benefits like a complimentary Continental breakfast. We invite you to dine with us al fresco at The Bench, or enjoy craft cocktails and small bites with friends at our Lobby Lounge. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible event space, we're also an ideal location for a business convention or wedding in Gaithersburg. Whatever brings you here, we look forward to your visit at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.