We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
“We came back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Unlike other reviewers who say they will revisit a property, my group actually came back to the Marriott Washingtonian in June after our initial April visit. My group of 41 was once again treated to wonderful service, good food and professionalism. True story ... on our first day while I was in the lobby waiting on our attendees to arrive, a hotel manager walked by and said hi. She stopped and we chatted a bit. She was new to the hotel, we'd never met and she had no clue who I was. Yet she took the time to stop and initiate a conversation about how I was enjoying my stay. That kind of friendliness speaks volumes about the Marriott Washingtonian staff. No request that I or my attendees had, was too much to fulfill. The spirit of service that the hotel staff have echo those of my co-workers and myself, so it did much to make my meeting attendees comfortable and productive.

On this stay, several of us received rooms with a lake view and others the view of I-270, but no matter, no one had anything bad to say about their hotel room, staff, meeting rooms or anything else.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a lake view - and particularly one above maybe the 4th floor. If you're plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback about your group's experience at the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center. I'm so happy that our team again exceeded your expectations and that you shared this story on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and to Marriott. I'll look forward to meeting you on your next trip to Gaithersburg!

-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
42
21
12
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's a typical hotel but the location is outstanding. There's a Starbucks and several restaurants within a block. A movie theater too. Within a few blocks there are more restaurants, a Target (for those things you realize you forgot), lots of shopping and the hotel sits on a small man-made lake with a path around it - great for walking! I had no problems with noise and absolutely everything I needed was right outside the door. And some things I didn't need like the gourmet cupcake shop and 16 Handles. If traveling for fun I might choose a cheaper place but for business where I have little time and need convenience, I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for sending in your comments to TripAdvisor! It's great to hear how pleased you were with your stay at the Gatihersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center! I agree the location of our hotel is one of its greatest assets. We'll look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the area!

-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights because we wanted to be close to shopping and restaurants. It was great. Had a 3rd floor room facing 270 with no road noise at all. Hotel staff was great! Room very clean and spacious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for the great comments about your stay. I appreicate your taking the time to share them on TripAdvisor. I will also make sure to share the sentiments with our team to celebrate!

I look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Gaithersburg.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Gaithersburg Marriott provided an excellent stay with helpful staff, a comfortable room, and -best of all - great access to numerous restaurants with a variety of cuisine just moments away on foot. Oddly, this Marriott is located in an area well away from the Nation's capital, with no major landmark employer nearby, a legacy of a relationship with the local Sodexho office just down the street.

Despite its location being odd relative to local major offices, staying at the Marriott, my bed was comfortable, my room was comfortable, in the lobby is starbucks coffee, and frankly an overpriced hotel restaurant. I am not sure why anyone would patronize the in-house establishment with so many high quality dining options nearby.

The water pressure was nice in the morning, and while the room service menu is small, both the breakfast and dinner I ordered at different times over my stay were pretty good, and little more exhorbitant than a trip to the restaurant down stairs would have been.

On that note, one thing future travellers should note: this property has an awful habit of making follow up calls for room service. I call, i ask for pillows. Someone knocks on my door and brings me pillows. I get a call 10 or 15 minutes later asking if I got my pillows. I call, I ask for breakfast. Someone brings my breakfast 30 or 40 minutes later. Some time after that, someone calls to ask if I got my breakfast and I like it.

I am sorry but it was just annoying! It stops the process of going about whatever else I am doing, or, in one case, woke up my 4 month old daughter. Its just unnecessary. If I don't have my pillows or breakfast, or whatever 30 minutes later, chances are I can pick up the same phone that I used to order them to repeat my request.

The reason that I really like to stay at this property is that its enough off the beaten track that prices are pretty good, but part of the larger Washingtonian Center! There are so many restaurants with a wide variety of food types, many of them good, plus great shopping just a few minutes away. And, while the fitness center itself is kind of small, the hotel backs up to the Washingtonian center's man-made lake, which includes a walking trail all of the way around, great for walking or jogging when the weather was decent.

All in all, I would call the room a good value, and a pretty good sleep, and except for the annoying repeat calls, and the unaccountably high lobby restaurant prices, its a great place to stay in a few weeks when I need to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. The 2-hallway spoke design of the floors sometimes means th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for the detailed feedback from your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the area and all of the amenities the hotel and Washingtonian Center have to offer. I certainly agree that it's a great hidden gem in Maryland. I appreciate your comments about the amount of follow up. While we want to ensure satisfaction by contacting our guests while in the hotel, I understand the need for balance during the stay and will use your comments as we continue in our on-the-job training for our Associates.

Best regards and again, thank you.
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at this property this summer. Different room same problem: the rooms aren't cleaned properly, particularly in the bathrooms. Between a tub that doesn't drain properly and to a shower curtain with obvious black marks and smudges. This property is a basic 3 star with dire need of a new cleaning staff. If you have the option stay at the neighboring Marriott Courtyard neighborhood property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I appreicate your taking the time to share the comments. I will make sure to use this as a training opportunity for our Housekeeping team to ensure that rooms are properly addressed between guests. If you'd like to share any additional feedback about your stay, please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel 301-590-0044. I hope that you will allow us to serve you again in the future.

Regards,
Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family just stayed at this hotel yesterday and really liked it. The room was clean, the staff was very helpful, and the area was great. It's very close to a lot of restaurants and stores. I would have given this hotel an "excellent" except for one thing, and that was the pool. In the printed material it said that it was open until 11PM, then there was a handwritten note on the same page that said it was open until 10PM, but when my sister called the front desk they said that it was only open until 8PM. To top it off, when we tried again in the morning, we couldn't even find the darn pool! If you don't care about a pool, this is a really great hotel. If you are looking for a lot of swimming, either look elsewehere or be prepared for some crazy hours!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out onto the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergreen, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Most of my stays at Marriott's have been very good. However, this particular one is right next to I-270 and, even staying on the 7th floor, we could still hear the road noise. We were confirmed with a King Size bed and when we got there none were available. The air conditioning was barely operating and the room was humid. Also, the dining room food was lousy and expensive. On the positive, very comfortable beds, nice workout room and bar.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake side close to the theater buildings are quieter and have a better view. Also, avo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you found our beds comfortable and apologize for the inconvenience of your preferred bed type not being available. I'm happy to discuss your specific situation directly, if you prefer. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel 301-590-0044.

Regards,
-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center offers convenient lodging near the I-270 business corridor and Washington DC. This hotel is 100% smoke-free and is ideal for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.