We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Dining Credit
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

After traveling through the nasty beltway traffic I was delighted to arrive at a very nice Marriott! Being a Platinum member I was given a room on the 9th floor facing the River Walk and a key to the executive lounge. The room was plush, Nicely decorated, comfy bed with great linens, flat screen tv, big windows(!), well lit and lots of plugs/outlets in all the right places.
The executive lounge was one of the best. There was a nice selection of Asian foods, cheese and crackers, veggies and all kinds of beverages. I must say...it was all very fresh and very good! I was exhausted from my work day and traffic...having this food available for a quick and nice dinner made this stay most memorable! Even the breakfast the next morning was excellent. All hot, nice choices and plentiful! You can see the effort put into the executive lounge...one of the best! This is greatly appreciated by someone on the road a lot!
Right out the back door of the hotel...the River Walk starts. Lots of Restaurants, stores, movie theater, and paddle boats. A great place to stroll or sit back and do some great people watching! I even enjoyed watching all the activity from my great window view!
I look forward to staying here again. Hopefully I will get another reasonable rate!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It's always nice to hear when things go well! I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Gaithersburg!

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
17
11
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Majorca, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a lacrosse tournament. We had stayed at the Courtyard the year before but it was booked. I was a little worried since the hotel was at the end of the complex, but it was very easy to walk around and get to where everything was happening.

We were on the ninth floor. The elevators took forever to get up and down but there were a lot of people there for the tournament , so it was understandable.

We had a king lake view room. The view was pretty and we could hear music from the restaurants down below. It quieted down at just the right time so it didn't keep us up.

I am a bed bug checker. I lift the mattress, the bedskirt, look in cracks...I am a maniac when it comes to this. I get very skeeved. I didn't see anything and my daughter and I woke up fine each morning....so it was bug free. The room was clean and we were quite happy.

Because of my daughter's schedule , we were in the room quite often. We wanted to watch a movie one night but the movie was 17.99! We couldn't believe how expensive that was. Also, you have to pay for wifi(which we didn't do). That was also annoying because we couldn't play on our phones/computers. We ended up going to a movie the next day at the Rio which was fun.

We did order breakfast and it came up at exactly the time I had put. We just got the continental which was a pastry and a muffin with coffee. It was fine.

We were lucky enough that the area's fireworks had been postponed due to weather from the 4th. They set them off one night we were there so we got to watch fireworks from our hotel window. That was really cool.

The front desk was extremely courteous and pleasant. I was asking for a spoon and they gave me napkins, forks, etc. They were all smiling and happy.

I would definitely stay here again. It was a very nice place to stay and the beds are extremely comfortable.

Room Tip: Lake view room was wonderful to look out at and see all the people. We were on the ninth floor which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for the compliements on our service and staff at the Gaithersburg Marriott! We hope to see you again for the next tournament!

-Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Very nice Marriott overall. The lobby is not new and not old, really up to date and nice looking. The staff are all very, friendly. There is a spectacular walking path around a large lake right out back of the hotel and it is right in the middle of a large area of restaurants and shops. Overall this is a park of a Live/Work community so there are a many Apartment complexes and big businesses that are all situated in walking distance to this hotel. I will be back!

Room Tip: Go for a walk around the lake immediatly after you arrive and you will get a great overview of the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a great experience! We recently used the Marriott Gaithersburg as the hotel site for a wedding held in the area. I worked closely with Torri in Group Sales to set up all the details. She was amazingly helpful, courteous, resourceful and thorough. The rate extended to us was excellent.
This hotel had a wonderful room- a hospitality suite which we used as a general meeting area for family. This room had a Murphy bed so we were able to use it as one bedroom. What an excellent use of space. I would recommend this totally to anyone in this same situation. It would have been wonderful for a bride or groom to get dressed there and take photos.

The front desk staff handled all issues ( minimal) which arose. The service staff was very easy to work with.

All in all, all guests were happy and I was thrilled.

Room Tip: if you are with a group, the Hospitality Suite was a fabulous room to utilize a hub. Rooms facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us for such a special occasion. I'll make sure to share your feedback with Torri and our Events Team. I hope to see you again on a future visit to the area.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here the night after our wedding and had a beautiful view of the lake with a balcony room. The room was very cozy and clean. Amenities we never got a chance to see or use, but our guest (60 of them) that also stayed raved about how great the hotel was and easy access to restaurants, movie theater and shopping!

Room Tip: Higher floor located on the lake side is the best side to be on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a lacrosse tournament, and although it was 10+ minutes to the field, it was a GREAT place to go with teenagers because you walk out the back door to a bunch of restuarants, shopping mall and a beautiful lake. I love staying where you can walk to eat, and there were many choices here. The hotel was clean and friendly staff. My only complaint is their roll aways are the old kind with super squeeky springs and it was horribly uncomfortable; but if you don't need a rollaway, you'll be fine. The beds were GREAT, and we all really enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake if you can get it for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Awesome experience. Great front desk staff - Janeth (if i recall correctly) and another member (male) whose name i cannot recall were very helpful and positive. The restaurant staff were very happy to see their guests. Janet at the egg station was wonderful. Made great eggs and pancakes for our children. Very courteous and helpful. The rooms were wonrerful - super clean. Room service and housekeeping - efficient. Spend 5 nights June 14-18. Came back for additional night on June 22. Was upgraded to club floor with complimentary breakfast. Janeth at the front desk ensured we got a lake view room. Great experience. The area around the lake is wonderful - very alive with music, restaurants and lots of open space to walk around. Especially, good for families with kids accompanying a family member on business. Surely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Marriott
Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center offers convenient lodging near the I-270 business corridor and Washington DC. This hotel is 100% smoke-free and is ideal for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.