We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Block of rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wedding Block of rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

What a great experience! We recently used the Marriott Gaithersburg as the hotel site for a wedding held in the area. I worked closely with Torri in Group Sales to set up all the details. She was amazingly helpful, courteous, resourceful and thorough. The rate extended to us was excellent.
This hotel had a wonderful room- a hospitality suite which we used as a general meeting area for family. This room had a Murphy bed so we were able to use it as one bedroom. What an excellent use of space. I would recommend this totally to anyone in this same situation. It would have been wonderful for a bride or groom to get dressed there and take photos.

The front desk staff handled all issues ( minimal) which arose. The service staff was very easy to work with.

All in all, all guests were happy and I was thrilled.

Room Tip: if you are with a group, the Hospitality Suite was a fabulous room to utilize a hub. Rooms facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay-AGM, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us for such a special occasion. I'll make sure to share your feedback with Torri and our Events Team. I hope to see you again on a future visit to the area.

Jay Lefkowitz
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    74
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
49
25
14
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here the night after our wedding and had a beautiful view of the lake with a balcony room. The room was very cozy and clean. Amenities we never got a chance to see or use, but our guest (60 of them) that also stayed raved about how great the hotel was and easy access to restaurants, movie theater and shopping!

Room Tip: Higher floor located on the lake side is the best side to be on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a lacrosse tournament, and although it was 10+ minutes to the field, it was a GREAT place to go with teenagers because you walk out the back door to a bunch of restuarants, shopping mall and a beautiful lake. I love staying where you can walk to eat, and there were many choices here. The hotel was clean and friendly staff. My only complaint is their roll aways are the old kind with super squeeky springs and it was horribly uncomfortable; but if you don't need a rollaway, you'll be fine. The beds were GREAT, and we all really enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake if you can get it for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Awesome experience. Great front desk staff - Janeth (if i recall correctly) and another member (male) whose name i cannot recall were very helpful and positive. The restaurant staff were very happy to see their guests. Janet at the egg station was wonderful. Made great eggs and pancakes for our children. Very courteous and helpful. The rooms were wonrerful - super clean. Room service and housekeeping - efficient. Spend 5 nights June 14-18. Came back for additional night on June 22. Was upgraded to club floor with complimentary breakfast. Janeth at the front desk ensured we got a lake view room. Great experience. The area around the lake is wonderful - very alive with music, restaurants and lots of open space to walk around. Especially, good for families with kids accompanying a family member on business. Surely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
494 helpful votes 494 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My group of 41 stayed at the Washingtonian Marriott from April 26-28. In my many years of meeting planning, I have to say the staff at this hotel were some of the nicest, most efficient and helpful people I’ve met. From the initial contact, during the site visit, through the planning stages, during the meeting and after, the service we’ve received were A+! One of my attendees said it best, every staff member we encountered had a “spirit of service”.

We’re a demanding bunch with several meeting rooms going at one time, group breakfasts, lunches, snacks and dinner, and food was tasty and always ready at the time we requested. This time around we booked 80 sleeping room nights and 4 meeting rooms and our guests only had good things to say.

I’d requested lakefront rooms for all our guests and everyone I asked, seemed to have gotten a lakefront room. There’s nothing better than waking up to the sunrise, you open your window and the lake is laid out in front of you. I had a king lakefront room with the mini fridge and everything worked fine. I had no noise issues on my floor despite the proms and banquets taking place at the hotel during the time we were there.

We only had one group meal outside the hotel and it was at Romano’s Macaroni Grill on a Friday night. The meal was OK and we were impressed with how quickly our food got to us, but because of some issues, either we did not get their top-level serving staff or the restaurant is just not equipped to handle 40 dinners at once.

All in all, we had a super experience and will not hesitate to go back to this hotel in the future.

If you found this review helpful, please click the “yes” button below. Thank you.

Room Tip: Go with a lakefront room (above the 3rd floor) if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Spent two nights while on college trip with daughter. Good access to highways and restaurants. Romm was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Great location at the Rio. Rooms are nice and the beds are great. Clean room, has a pool. Device is good. Restaurants and bar are a little expensive but expected at a hotel. Go for a drink or dinner at the other restaurants since there are lots of options around the lake.

Parking is free and there is plenty of it. Pool is nice. Is a full service Marriott so you know what to expect.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending both style and elegance, the Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center hotel is the ideal gathering place for families and business travelers alike. Conveniently located amidst the suburbs of Washington, D.C., This distinctive hotel's Gaithersburg, MD location puts guests near many popular businesses, including the Department of Energy, Lockheed Martin, NIST and the FDA, while surrounding them with the many historic sites and national monuments found in and around Washington, D.C. Overlooking a picturesque lake, the hotel's impressive accommodations in Gaithersburg feature rich bedding ensembles, Plug-In panels for easy connectivity, premium movie channels and Enhanced High-Speed Internet access. Boasting over 9,000 square feet of high-tech event space, our hotel is an ideal choice for corporate meetings and grand social events. Our Gaithersburg hotel's restaurant features indoor and outdoor dining and guests are within walking distance of the Rio Entertainment Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.