We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a pleasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“always a pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have visited this hotel countless times over the years. Unlike most of it's visitors we do not come for business, but to visit family in the area. We always enjoy the complex the hotel is located in. There is a movie theater, cupcake shop, Starbucks, and a yogurt shop. There are also many casual dining restaurants. In addition there is a Target and many other smaller retailers. On the weekend the place is family friendly, well lit and lively. There is a manmade lake with swan peddle boats that can be rented during the warmer months.The hotel has free parking and Washington D.C. is within easy reach, about half an hour by car. Rooms are modern and all look alike. The double rooms have 2 beds, a night table, an armchair and a desk and chair. The king rooms have an extra footstool and small table. Rates on the weekend are reasonable. Some packages include the breakfast buffet. The buffet includes fresh cut fruit and many choices. They have more of a selection on the weekend including grits and biscuits. Julie the server/hostess always welcomes us back with a smile. Janet, the chef at the omelet station, is always friendly and makes yummy waffles and a variety of omelets. They both make us feel at home and welcomed. The pool is open all weekend but has limited hours on the weekdays. It is an indoor pool located on the second floor. It has a wall of windows so you do not feel closed in. There is a concierge floor, but we have never been there. When there is an issue the front desk staff usually handle it quickly and will call to follow up that things have been taken care of. We have tried many hotels in the area over the years and keep coming back to this one.

Room Tip: Weekend rates (which start on a Thursday night) are much lower than weekday rates. Packages that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    66
    23
    6
    2
See reviews for
42
21
12
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stony Brook, New York
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel if traveling for business in the area. The staff in the hotel are friendly and welcoming. Parking is free and right in front of the hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable, reasonable in size and have the usual furnishings that one expects for this type of hotel. Although the hotel seems a bit out of the way and doesn't have easy access to public transportation, it is close to I-270 and the recently built 'inter county connector'. (Note, however, if you're driving a rental car, that the latter route is a toll road without toll booths so you need an EZ Pass.) I also liked the fact that the hotel is an easy and pleasant walk (around a lake) to the dining and shopping possibilities of the Washingtonian Center. This was my second stay at this hotel and I would definitely return if I have business again in the area!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your returning to our hotel. We appreciate your business. Please let me know if I can provide anything to make your next stay more comfortable.

Please note that you can use the ICC toll road without an EZ Pass. However it will charge the toll plus $3.00 to the registered owner of the vehicle. They photograph the license plate of the vehicle when you pass the toll area.

Best Regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Visiting friends in suburban DC, this Marriott was convenient and perfectly nice. We even ended up talking while walking around the man made lake after a decent Sunday brunch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

There is a cozy, comfortable atmosphere at this hotel despite its size. It is set on a lake with a variety of shopping and restaurants and a Loews theater. The rooms are clean and modern. The staff is cheerful and very helpful.
If you are trying to access DC from here,you will have to take a cab from the Shady Grove metro station (about $12). The hotel has the typical 12.95 per day internet charge. The Business Center costs you as well for internet time (flight check-in and boarding passes are free). You can access wi-fi for free in the lobby.
The lobby is small as is the gift shop, which is a small room next to check-in with some food and amenties. However, you can get anything you need by taking a short walk to Target.
Overall it's a lovely view and a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are very happy that you were comfortable while you were here. I am glad you found our lake front setting convenient and our staff engaging. I do want to let you know that all of the services in the business center are complimentary. That includes internet browsing, printing, faxing, office software, and boarding passes. We have also recently expanded complimentary high speed wireless internet access to our restaurant and outdoor waterside dining.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to hosting you again. Please contact me if I can do anything to make your next stay more comfortable.

Best Regards,

Tom Gilliland
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen arm md 21057
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The manager, Mario Lara, is extremely friendly and always makes my husband and me feel welcome at this hotel. His friendliness and energy transfer into his friendly and welcoming staff's energy.

He is the BEST manager we have ever seen!

Especially welcoming are Fatinia, Janeth, Michael, and Ekli.

The hotel is a perfect spot for traveling to DC and is very clean.

Room Tip: The associates will give you the best available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our team and the cleanliness of the hotel. We sincerely appreciate your comments and will recognize each of the individuals you listed in our monthly associate rally.

We look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Please contact us if we can do anything to make your stay more comfortable.

Tom Gilliland
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley pa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Was here for a one night stay while visiting friends. This is a suburban, business oriented Marriott that does what it does very well, with very nice amenities.

It is located on a man-made lake at the end of very nice, new, outdoor shopping area with walking paths and access to many restaurants, stores and a movie theatre. The other end is anchored by a Target store (out of sight, but very convenient). Half the rooms are lake-view. Even a playground at the other end of the lake. Parking is free.

Rooms are very modern (my only complaint is Marriott's love of rain showers which are not my taste). Lovely small indoor pool and hot-tub overlooking the lake. Front desk service very pleasant.

Food services are fair, but you're a 1-5 minute walk from a dozen choices.

Room Tip: There are lake views and there are very nice lake views. Ask for a higher floor and a room towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your business and are happy you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel was in a good location with reastaurants and shops very close by. I had requested a quiet room but the first room I was offered was very close to the air conditioning unit and had a view over the road outside. I asked to be moved higher up which was much better. The room was good, clean, well organised and spacious. The hotel was very busy but the staff were reasonably helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was good (apart from the coffee but it's not easy to get a good coffee in the US!). I ate out each night so didn't get to try the restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center offers convenient lodging near the I-270 business corridor and Washington DC. This hotel is 100% smoke-free and is ideal for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.