We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Save Saved
You added Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Dining Credit
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

There is a cozy, comfortable atmosphere at this hotel despite its size. It is set on a lake with a variety of shopping and restaurants and a Loews theater. The rooms are clean and modern. The staff is cheerful and very helpful.
If you are trying to access DC from here,you will have to take a cab from the Shady Grove metro station (about $12). The hotel has the typical 12.95 per day internet charge. The Business Center costs you as well for internet time (flight check-in and boarding passes are free). You can access wi-fi for free in the lobby.
The lobby is small as is the gift shop, which is a small room next to check-in with some food and amenties. However, you can get anything you need by taking a short walk to Target.
Overall it's a lovely view and a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us. We are very happy that you were comfortable while you were here. I am glad you found our lake front setting convenient and our staff engaging. I do want to let you know that all of the services in the business center are complimentary. That includes internet browsing, printing, faxing, office software, and boarding passes. We have also recently expanded complimentary high speed wireless internet access to our restaurant and outdoor waterside dining.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback. Thank you very much for your business and we look forward to hosting you again. Please contact me if I can do anything to make your next stay more comfortable.

Best Regards,

Tom Gilliland
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    61
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
17
11
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen arm md 21057
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The manager, Mario Lara, is extremely friendly and always makes my husband and me feel welcome at this hotel. His friendliness and energy transfer into his friendly and welcoming staff's energy.

He is the BEST manager we have ever seen!

Especially welcoming are Fatinia, Janeth, Michael, and Ekli.

The hotel is a perfect spot for traveling to DC and is very clean.

Room Tip: The associates will give you the best available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our team and the cleanliness of the hotel. We sincerely appreciate your comments and will recognize each of the individuals you listed in our monthly associate rally.

We look forward to hosting you again very soon.

Please contact us if we can do anything to make your stay more comfortable.

Tom Gilliland
Director of Hotel Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yardley pa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Was here for a one night stay while visiting friends. This is a suburban, business oriented Marriott that does what it does very well, with very nice amenities.

It is located on a man-made lake at the end of very nice, new, outdoor shopping area with walking paths and access to many restaurants, stores and a movie theatre. The other end is anchored by a Target store (out of sight, but very convenient). Half the rooms are lake-view. Even a playground at the other end of the lake. Parking is free.

Rooms are very modern (my only complaint is Marriott's love of rain showers which are not my taste). Lovely small indoor pool and hot-tub overlooking the lake. Front desk service very pleasant.

Food services are fair, but you're a 1-5 minute walk from a dozen choices.

Room Tip: There are lake views and there are very nice lake views. Ask for a higher floor and a room towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomG_Hotel_Manager, Manager at Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your business and are happy you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

The hotel was in a good location with reastaurants and shops very close by. I had requested a quiet room but the first room I was offered was very close to the air conditioning unit and had a view over the road outside. I asked to be moved higher up which was much better. The room was good, clean, well organised and spacious. The hotel was very busy but the staff were reasonably helpful and friendly.
Breakfast was good (apart from the coffee but it's not easy to get a good coffee in the US!). I ate out each night so didn't get to try the restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This hotel has very clean rooms and good services. Many great restaurants, shops, and a movie theater are within easy walking distance. It is one of the best hotels in Gaithersburg, Maryland.

Room Tip: ask for a room looking over a beautiful pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

The type of clean, tidy room you would expect. Except that I had requested / reserved a smoking room and only when I arrived was told the whole hotel was non-smoking.

Many nice restaurants walking distance around the small pond / lake but it is a quiet area. If you are working uber-late however, the in-room dining menu is miniscule (really, only 4 entrees) and I was told I would have to come down to the bar to get food (at 11 PM). I took a pass as I didn't want to get dressed.

Was told there was shuttle service to the local train station, but when I arrived was told that the shuttles did not run late at night (9:30 - 10:00 PM). Thankfully there are cabs at the station.

They gave me a lake view but another customer who has been coming for weeks and has reservations for weeks ahead at the same rate as me got the inferior parking-lot view room.

Overall, I think this hotel is on a pleasant property but has trouble communicating what is it / has / does with its clients. Caveat Emptor!

Room Tip: Tell them to give you lake-side else you have a parking lot outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I attended a meeting at this hotel recently and really enjoyed it. I've stayed at several other Gaithersburg hotels and always felt like I was in the middle of nowhere. This one is maybe 2 minutes off the highway but then is tucked in next to this pretty little lake so it isn't noisy. The best part is that it is connected to a boardwalk that runs along the lake with little shops and restaurants along it. I'm pretty sure I saw a movie theater too but can't confirm. At the end of the boardwalk (maybe 15 minutes casual walk) was a Target in case you forgot anything. If you do wind up going, there is a little Indian place that is the second or third restaurant down. Very casual but amazingly good, very cheap food.

The hotel itself was basic but comfortable. The rooms were a nice size and the beds were good. The meeting rooms were easy to find and decent. One night I ordered room service and they did let me go off menu to get exactly what I wanted which was very appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center

Also Known As:
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Hotel Gaithersburg
Marriott Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Marriott
Address: 9751 Washingtonian Boulevard, Gaithersburg, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center offers convenient lodging near the I-270 business corridor and Washington DC. This hotel is 100% smoke-free and is ideal for business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.