We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel for your money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I stayed in their suite and it was marvelous with all the amenity comparable to hotels in Las Vegas. The service was excellent from the desk to the bar attendant in their lounge. The. family enjoyed a real vacation with their indoor pool. Kids love it!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Greetings,

Thank you for your review we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you in the future. Thanks again.

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    56
    35
    13
    21
See reviews for
61
24
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

I had stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago for couple of nights during thanksgiving. The lower staff was courteous but the people in management were not helpful at all. We had a small engagement party in the hotel's ballroom. The ballroom was untidy; the food was not good at all. We requested 20 rooms and we only received 18 rooms at the last moment, as hotel was 'all booked'. This caused severe embarrassment to our hosts. They sold the rooms at higher prices I think......

Don't fall for the free internet - it's slower than a dial-up.

I am a frequent traveler and have stayed at more than 200 hotels in last 5 years and this was definitely in my last five. I would not come to this place ever again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Hello,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are always trying to improve our service to our guest and receiving reviews helps.
We would like to apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We can assure you that all of these issues have been addressed.
Thanks again for your review.

Sincerely,

The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan City
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Our tour group stayed here overnight from Washington DC en route to Hershey, PA. There was no elevator to the basement rooms given to us. The corridors were dimly lit and it carpets had a musty feel. There was wi-fi in the room and that was great! There was no pay phone in the lobby. The front desk staff were not too accommodating. Just OK to spend the night, but I am not sure for long stays.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Greetings!

First, thank you so much for your review on our hotel, the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg. We take every opportunity we can to better our service to you, the guest. Secondly, we would like to apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. We will absolutely take all of these comments into consideration for future projects and efforts.

Lastly, we hope that if you are ever back in the area on tour, that you choose to stay with us again. If so, please let us know if there is anything that we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable.

Thank you,
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

I'm a business traveler always looking for great rates at clean hotels. Selected this property becuase of 3 star rating, however wish that could be said for cleanliness of room. Dirty bathroom, hair everywhere, holes in window privacy curtain, coffee maker had dried coffee from previous guest. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ehager, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Hello,

Thank you so much for your review on our hotel, the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg. We are constantly trying to better our service to our guests and receiving reviews is one of the best ways to do this!

We would like to apologize that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay with us while traveling on business. We can assure you that all of these issues have been looked into and addressed.

Thank you again for your informational review on our hotel.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The room was ok but the maids stole the Ipod from inside my room. I had it in the morning and when I got back it was no longer on the table. Then, when I made a claim that I lost it, no one bothered to look for it. I had to argue for hours with the manager who was rather unhelpful. AVOID AT ALL COSTS! If you stay there, watch your stuff.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Slamming doors (often the housekeeping staff are the worst offenders) are my main complaint at most hotels I have stayed in, but not here. For once management has gone the extra step of installing door closers (the metal contraptions at the top), and they work wonderfully. Doors simply cannot be slammed, and it makes all the difference in being able to sleep. The AC was very quiet too, as was the in-room refrigerator (there also is a microwave). Knowing the hotel, I asked for a room away from Montgomery Avenue, as that side does get a fair amount of street noise. The beds were comfortable, there was a flat screen TV, free internet, both wireless and wired, free parking. I had not stayed at this hotel since they did a major renovation, and I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well, enrolling us in their free priority program to give us a late check-out.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilaryWalsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Dear swfnyc,
We are glad you visited our hotel again and noticed all the great new changes we have made! A good night's sleep and great service are two of the most important commodities a traveler could ask for and we are pleased you received both and enjoyed all of our other offerings too, such as the free high speed internet, new flat screen TV and enrollment in Holiday Inn Priority Club. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to see you again!

Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Having endured several hours of no power - we gave in to comfort and headed for our local Holiday Inn! We were so pleased to see two smiling faces to greet us as we dragged ourselves in! Both of the gentlemen at the front desk realized that we were indesparate need of a cool room - and cold shower! They provided us with rapid checkin - provided us with some of the toiletries we had left behind and wished us a pleasant night! The renovated room was a delight and the entire hotel gleams with pride! I'm almost looking forward to the next power outage!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HilaryWalsh, Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 30, 2010
Dear hometowngirl,
We were so delighted to read your review and that you thought of us during the recent power outage in Gaithersburg. Many times over the years we have been proud to offer a home away from home for local residents when storm-related power and water outages strike the Gaithersburg area! We are glad you were comfortable and accommodated during what was a stressful (and hot!) time. Our Front Desk team takes pride in welcoming everyone and anticipating their needs. We hope you will think of us next time too! Thank you very much.

Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, located in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor northwest from the attractions of Washington, DC. Rockville, Germantown and Frederick are also nearby. IBM, Lockheed Martin, NIST, DOE and Hughes are within minutes of this Gaithersburg hotel, as are the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Lake Forest Mall, Maryland Soccerplex, BlackRock Center for the Arts, and the Rockville and Cabin John Ice Rinks. The hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius, including Rockville Amtrak and Shady Grove Metro stations.Corporate travelers will appreciate this Montgomery County hotel s 301 executive rooms with plenty of work space and extra amenities. All guest rooms feature free wireless & hard-wired high-speed Internet access. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day! Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the indoor pool at our hotel. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center with whirlpool and sun patio. Enjoy American cuisine at the Village Park Cafe and Kids Eat Free! When it's time to unwind, O'Malley's Irish Pub is the place to enjoy your favorite beverage and a late night snack. We are also a pet-friendly hotel! Let the staff and outstanding service at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg make your stay a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.