We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Orange, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was in town with our wheelchair basketball team for a tournament. The hotel accomodated several teams. Heard no complaints from anyone about rooms so all must have been good. Room was clean and comfortable. Front desk staff was courteous and helpful. Team paid for rooms so not sure on price/value but location was good for us as it was close to 270, which was how we got to the gym. We received a small goody bag upon check-in with a bottle of water, apple, and bag of chips.....a nice surprise and treat. Good stay this time and would stay again....definitely for next year's tourney if not sooner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    50
    33
    12
    21
See reviews for
56
21
18
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I chose this hotel as the best value around for the area I was visiting, and so this was my 3rd or 4th stay. I was in the South wing last time (March this year) and returned for a 5 night stay in October, this time in the newly refurbished north wing. They have done a nice job and the room is exceptionally good for the rating. New TV, new carpets, better beds - all good stuff, so try and stay in the north wing until the south catches up. There must be a shortage of good plumbers in the area, as the taps still leak where they join walls or fittings, but everything else is good and this is not a serious problem. The toilet flush is also mighty powerful now - gone is the proneness to blockages, which was a regular occurrence, and probably still is in the other wing. The biggest improvement is the air conditioning. It works and it is quiet, which could not be said before the re-furb. If you are in the Priority Club (now the ICH Members; club) there as been a cut back on benefits. I have had complimentary breakfast vouchers every day and one free bar drink per visit. Now it is either one free bar drink or one complimentary breakfast voucher. This effectively adds $15 a day to the bill, after day one. The staff are good and helpful and everyone is doing their best, except maybe the plumbers!

Room Tip: Get a room in the refurbished wing, not the old one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and for being an IHG Rewards Member.We are happy to hear the accommodations were the highlight of your stay. I have shared your nice comments about our good and helpful staff with our team.I have already spent time with our managers and team to address your concerns. We wish you safe travels and look forward to your next visit.

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

As always, Isidro, the Guest Service Manager, welcomed me as soon as I passed through the doors. And, as always, he ensured that my room and visit would be my home away from home. This location is always very busy, yet Isidro and this team are always courteous and professional and ensure my return stays by their stellar customer service, and genuine caring for road warriors like me. Thanks again to the Gaithersburg team!

Room Tip: Just ask. This team will accommodate you as best as they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and thank you for your nice comments about Isidro.We will be sure to share your review with him and the rest of the team.
We wish you safe travels and we look forward to your next visit.

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was bitten by bed bugs on my first night of stay. Having been bitten by bed bugs before, I inspected the mattress and found 3 bed bugs. I immediately requested for room change. It was 4am then, and the hotel staff on duty responded promptly, although he doesn't sound apologetic for my inconvenience.

I stayed in the new room for the next 3 days. The new room is OK, no bed bugs found.

The location is out of the way if you don't drive.

Room Tip: Watch out for bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about our hotel during your stay. We rely on our guests to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet their needs. We have taken note of your feedback and we take the matter of bed bugs extremely seriously. We have one of this industries most prominent pest control providers in the country that conduct monthly inspections of our hotel to insure our beds are clean and bug-free. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to consider IHG. If you would like to discuss this please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel at any time. Thank you.

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After we visited Lancaster we headed to Maryland, but did not have any reservation and they had a convention in town. We were lucky to get the last room at the Holiday Inn. The room was very nice, also the price was pretty high but I understand due to the convention in town. We had a nice stay and the breakfast was very filling. Would stay at this hotel again if others were completely sold out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

At first sight this property looks clean and inviting, from the street, parking lot, and the lobby area. There are sitting areas in the lobby with comfortable easy chairs, tables, and sofas. There IS a rack of tourist info brochures for DC tours, museums, and other attractions, but it is a little out-of-the-way.... you will find it outside the gift shop near the North tower elevators (past the restaurant). Front desk staff were helpful, friendly, and efficient. (Remember to mention your Holiday Inn rewards membership to get a certificate for a free breakfast and a welcome bag with a snack and bottled water).
The guest rooms are in 2 towers, North & South, that are connected on the lobby floor (actually the 1st floor). My room was spacious and well laid out, with a king size bed, flatscreen TV (with a remote that actually worked properly), plenty of lights, both overhead and task / reading, and offered both complimentary wireless AND wired high speed internet service. (Front desk will give you wifi password upon request). There is also a refrigerator and microwave. The climate control, although a wall unit under the window, is operated by a thermostat on the wall nearest the door, and is temperature-set as opposed to warmer/colder.
The bathroom has a tub / shower with an extended curtain rail that gives you a bit more room to shower by bowing the curtain outwards, a good selection of quality toiletries, and a coffee pot with coffees, teas, and sweeteners / creamers.
The bar, on the lower level (ground floor, below the lobby) is open daily from 4-12. Drinks were priced a little high for my liking, but the staff were friendly, service was great, and the burger I ate in the bar for dinner one evening was excellent (Get the chips with it... fresh made and delicious).
The breakfast buffet in the lobby-level restaurant was what I expect from hotels of this level. Waitress service, with a good selection... Biscuits & gravy, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, oatmeal, a selection of breads / bagels, and a fresh-fruit bar. Coffe is excellent & they almost always bring you a to-go cup without having to ask. Drinks never ran dry and were served with a smile, I was even offered a to-go soda to go with my coffee-to-go on both days.
The gift shop is open until 10pm and has all the basic necessities for travel... medicines, toiletries, etc, and a wide selection of DC & MD souveniers.
We took a tour of DC, using the Metro (Subway system) to get downtown. The hotel took reservations for the complimentary shuttle, which drove us to Shady Grove station (the start point of the Red Line, which takes you right into downtown DC). The shuttle does not run after 11pm, but we were advised that there was a line of taxis outside the station that would be there as late as 3am on Friday night, and were even told the approximate cab fare for our taxi return by the front desk (they called it within 50 cents!!!... It was right about $15)
Highly recommend this hotel. Their staff are friendly, knowledgable, and helpful as all get out. The food is good, and the environment is inviting and comfortable.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

If you are going to DC and want to avoid traffic, hassle and additional cost for a night, this location is under a half hour away. Quiet. Near freeway. Best feature is the complementary breakfast. Wide selection, well prepared. For example, rather than using fruit in a bag (pre-prepared), the kitchen chops it fresh, hot and cold cereals, half dozen hot dishes, cottage cheese, yogurt, etc.

Pleasant and friendly staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, located in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor northwest from the attractions of Washington, DC. Rockville, Germantown and Frederick are also nearby. IBM, Lockheed Martin, NIST, DOE and Hughes are within minutes of this Gaithersburg hotel, as are the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Lake Forest Mall, Maryland Soccerplex, BlackRock Center for the Arts, and the Rockville and Cabin John Ice Rinks. The hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius, including Rockville Amtrak and Shady Grove Metro stations.Corporate travelers will appreciate this Montgomery County hotel s 301 executive rooms with plenty of work space and extra amenities. All guest rooms feature free wireless & hard-wired high-speed Internet access. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day! Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the indoor pool at our hotel. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center with whirlpool and sun patio. Enjoy American cuisine at the Village Park Cafe and Kids Eat Free! When it's time to unwind, O'Malley's Irish Pub is the place to enjoy your favorite beverage and a late night snack. We are also a pet-friendly hotel! Let the staff and outstanding service at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg make your stay a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.