We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!.... as usual.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!.... as usual.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Another excellent experience at this Holiday Inn. Great staff. Thanks to all of you!!!!! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in this geographical area. Also, the bartender (Richard?) is truly a professional. The restaurant was busy, so I ordered dinner at the bar which also was full. He didn't miss a beat, no one had to wait. He performed the way a professional bartender should - always looking at customers while working to ensure they don't have to wait. Great job all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    75
    42
    16
    24
See reviews for
79
33
27
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel restaurant, O'Malleys, was a horrible restaurant. Slow service & below average food. Hotel & rooms were average. Room was kind of dingy. Room never had enough towels. Liked the bedding though. Pool area had a strong chemical smell & irritated the kids' eyes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We apologize for the shortfall during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your comments and will use them to improve the quality of service we offer to our guest.
Rest assured, we will address this and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.
We hope you will give us a chance in future.

Safe travels!
Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Check in process was easy, even though they didn't know I was a priority club member at first (although I booked it on the priority club site with my number). The room was well used; although still fully functional; just looked worn. Beds and pillows were perfect. I was a bit taken back that my booked meeting room was on the 8th floor, but later found out that there was another large group in the main conference rooms that obviously took first priority since I never really talked with anyone and had to ask for my board room to be opened and had to wait for it to be setup a few minutes before my meeting started. There was also a few large groups with about 7 buses between them staying at the hotel, which slowed everything down and made everything busy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologize for the delay in having your meeting room open. I have addressed that with the Department Head. I would like to thank you for being a Priority Club Member and wish you safe travels. We look forward to serving you in the future.

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while in town for a wedding. The hotel is very easy to find. Upon check in, the staff was very friendly, and helpful. When I originally made the reservation, it was supposed to be for two nights, but for some reason, they only had us down for one night. They were able to add the second night, and gave us a discount for staying with the wedding party (originally the discount was only for the first night). The hotel and rooms were very clean. We had a King size bed which was actually very comfortable. the rooms were not anything out of the ordinary. I think the only complaint I had about the rooms were how noisy the air conditioning units were. I know a couple of other guests with the wedding said theirs was very loud as well.
We had breakfast at the restaurant which was pretty good. They had a breakfast buffet which was a little on the small, side selection wise and a little overpriced, but it was decent tasting food. The bar they had at the hotel wasn't open until 4, so we didn't spend much time there, but the staff did keep it open a little later to accommodate the wedding party for the rehearsal and after the wedding itself. It would have been nice if they were open a little earlier for lunch by the pool.
Overall, we had a very nice time, and if your in the area, I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

They went above and beyond to make my stay great. Anytime I came from the Metro they pick me up. I was given a complimentary welcome basket. They had a really good breakfast buffet in the morning time. They have a different breakfast every morning. They always greeted me with a smile. I want to thank all of their employees for going above and beyond to make my stay great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and the review of our hotel. We will be sure to share your comment about our Breakfast Buffet with our Chef. We will also share your review with our entire team here at the hotel. We look forward to serving you in the future and wish you all the best!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The rates are fair so I didn't have high expectations. The staff were courteous, particularly when I locked myself out of my room and had to go downstairs (6 floors) into a crowded reception dressed entirely inappropriately to ask for a spare key! I had booked a standard room and was given a kingsize which was great. It seemed to have been recently refurbished with contemporary furnishings; very neat. A fridge and microwave were included. There were no plugs at the desk which meant I had to work on my bed in order to charge my laptop as this was the only place I could find a power outlet. On the first day, housekeeping arrived at 3:30pm to clean the room, just as I returned from work. I asked if they could return a half hour later but I was advised that she was going off duty and it wouldn't be possible. The Irish restaurant closed at 1:15pm on Sunday as I walked in to have a meal. It is within walking distance to the large Lake Forest Mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our hotel and the nice comment about our courteous staff. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff at the hotel is very nice. I have stayed here several times for work events. Rooms are pretty much what you would expect but most recently our room had a strange smell to it. The bar/restaurant serves pretty good food and occasionally has more lively evenings. The indoor pool area is nice and has a tropical vibe. It is a convenient commute if you don't want to stay in Washington DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping. Thank you for your nice comments about our indoor pool and the commute! We will be sure to pass along your comments about the food to our Chef. Thanks again and safe travels!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaithersburg
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Washington, DC North - Gaithersburg
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, DC North/Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
Comfort Inn Shady Grove
#3 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
HYATT house Gaithersburg
HYATT house Gaithersburg
#7 of 15 in Gaithersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Washington DC North Gaithersburg
2.9 mi away
Gaithersburg Marriott Washingtonian Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, located in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor northwest from the attractions of Washington, DC. Rockville, Germantown and Frederick are also nearby. IBM, Lockheed Martin, NIST, DOE and Hughes are within minutes of this Gaithersburg hotel, as are the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Lake Forest Mall, Maryland Soccerplex, BlackRock Center for the Arts, and the Rockville and Cabin John Ice Rinks. The hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius, including Rockville Amtrak and Shady Grove Metro stations.Corporate travelers will appreciate this Montgomery County hotel s 301 executive rooms with plenty of work space and extra amenities. All guest rooms feature free wireless & hard-wired high-speed Internet access. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day! Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the indoor pool at our hotel. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center with whirlpool and sun patio. Enjoy American cuisine at the Village Park Cafe and Kids Eat Free! When it's time to unwind, O'Malley's Irish Pub is the place to enjoy your favorite beverage and a late night snack. We are also a pet-friendly hotel! Let the staff and outstanding service at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg make your stay a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.