We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with great staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place with great staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while in town for a wedding. The hotel is very easy to find. Upon check in, the staff was very friendly, and helpful. When I originally made the reservation, it was supposed to be for two nights, but for some reason, they only had us down for one night. They were able to add the second night, and gave us a discount for staying with the wedding party (originally the discount was only for the first night). The hotel and rooms were very clean. We had a King size bed which was actually very comfortable. the rooms were not anything out of the ordinary. I think the only complaint I had about the rooms were how noisy the air conditioning units were. I know a couple of other guests with the wedding said theirs was very loud as well.
We had breakfast at the restaurant which was pretty good. They had a breakfast buffet which was a little on the small, side selection wise and a little overpriced, but it was decent tasting food. The bar they had at the hotel wasn't open until 4, so we didn't spend much time there, but the staff did keep it open a little later to accommodate the wedding party for the rehearsal and after the wedding itself. It would have been nice if they were open a little earlier for lunch by the pool.
Overall, we had a very nice time, and if your in the area, I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    51
    34
    13
    21
See reviews for
59
21
20
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

They went above and beyond to make my stay great. Anytime I came from the Metro they pick me up. I was given a complimentary welcome basket. They had a really good breakfast buffet in the morning time. They have a different breakfast every morning. They always greeted me with a smile. I want to thank all of their employees for going above and beyond to make my stay great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and the review of our hotel. We will be sure to share your comment about our Breakfast Buffet with our Chef. We will also share your review with our entire team here at the hotel. We look forward to serving you in the future and wish you all the best!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The rates are fair so I didn't have high expectations. The staff were courteous, particularly when I locked myself out of my room and had to go downstairs (6 floors) into a crowded reception dressed entirely inappropriately to ask for a spare key! I had booked a standard room and was given a kingsize which was great. It seemed to have been recently refurbished with contemporary furnishings; very neat. A fridge and microwave were included. There were no plugs at the desk which meant I had to work on my bed in order to charge my laptop as this was the only place I could find a power outlet. On the first day, housekeeping arrived at 3:30pm to clean the room, just as I returned from work. I asked if they could return a half hour later but I was advised that she was going off duty and it wouldn't be possible. The Irish restaurant closed at 1:15pm on Sunday as I walked in to have a meal. It is within walking distance to the large Lake Forest Mall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our hotel and the nice comment about our courteous staff. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The staff at the hotel is very nice. I have stayed here several times for work events. Rooms are pretty much what you would expect but most recently our room had a strange smell to it. The bar/restaurant serves pretty good food and occasionally has more lively evenings. The indoor pool area is nice and has a tropical vibe. It is a convenient commute if you don't want to stay in Washington DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping. Thank you for your nice comments about our indoor pool and the commute! We will be sure to pass along your comments about the food to our Chef. Thanks again and safe travels!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I was in Maryland on a 5 day business trip and was very satisfied with my stay at this Holiday Inn. The staff was very helpful, the restaurant on the lower level was very convenient and the food was good. There is an indoor pool and exercise facility there too. I will be staying at this hotel any time I can in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I would like to recognized some of the wonderful staff that made my stay here the BEST! Isidro Alberto, Julissa who does a wonderful job blocking rooms. George and Barack. Front Desk: Cira, Katherinne, Ayoola, Syed, Vanessa Alaina, Shirley, Collins Syed. At night Raymond and Charles. Banquet Staff. Orville, Allan, and Hilda, Anselica & Trudy. Mauricio demostrate great work ethics and not that the others do not. Melvin Nichols you have gold in these people. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear your compliments of our staff and we will be sure to share them with everyone you have taken the time to recognized. Thanks again and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is top notch. The grounds are beautiful, the rooms are great, but the really truly greatest asset this hotel has is the staff. Everyone bent over backwards to make me feel comfortable. They were incredibly friendly and it was a great stay. I'm in the area relatively frequently, and I wont be staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, located in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor northwest from the attractions of Washington, DC. Rockville, Germantown and Frederick are also nearby. IBM, Lockheed Martin, NIST, DOE and Hughes are within minutes of this Gaithersburg hotel, as are the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Lake Forest Mall, Maryland Soccerplex, BlackRock Center for the Arts, and the Rockville and Cabin John Ice Rinks. The hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius, including Rockville Amtrak and Shady Grove Metro stations.Corporate travelers will appreciate this Montgomery County hotel s 301 executive rooms with plenty of work space and extra amenities. All guest rooms feature free wireless & hard-wired high-speed Internet access. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day! Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the indoor pool at our hotel. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center with whirlpool and sun patio. Enjoy American cuisine at the Village Park Cafe and Kids Eat Free! When it's time to unwind, O'Malley's Irish Pub is the place to enjoy your favorite beverage and a late night snack. We are also a pet-friendly hotel! Let the staff and outstanding service at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg make your stay a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.