We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good business stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The rooms were well proportioned, very well maintained, clean and attention to details were noted by the cleaning staff. I enjoyed the upgraded on shampoo and lotion, not the typical
Five and Dime experience. The location was conveinent to the interstate. The breakfast was hot, and had a large selection of fresh fruit, juices, cereals, yogurt, etc. Sign up for Holiday Inn
frequent traveler and receive upgrades, ie, king bed, breakfast,etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear W0nderfulLife,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to provide us with the details of your stay. I am very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and were happy with our amenities and our location! I will be sure to share your nice comments about breakfast with our Chef! We wish you safe travels and look forward to your next visit!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    50
    33
    12
    21
See reviews for
56
21
18
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a nice quite hotel.I stayed there for 1 night during out visit to Washington.Its a clean,quiet hotel.However there is no breakfast provided.The staff and front desk was polite and co-operative.

Room Tip: Try to take room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We originally booked for New Year's Eve, but my husband was sick with the flu so we rescheduled for the following wknd. We got the heart to heart special and it was wonderful!! We actually live in the area, but felt like we had been away for the wknd, even though we only spent one night. The check in was great and the manager on duty- Georges Duncan (?) was quite pleasant. When we arrived at our room, there was a bottle of chilled champagne, wrapped glasses and chocolate (part of the pkg). The shower was wonderful! Although I wish they had kept in the fan in the bathroom- not a big deal just a mention. The front desk called to make sure that our room was ok. Finally- room service was absolutely delicious!! Nice, big portions! The breakfast was good with a nice variety. We definitely plan on staying here again for a budget friendly staycation!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us sorry to hear that your husband was sick with the flu but happy to hear that you were able to reschedule your visit! I will be sure to pass along your nice comments to George as well as the front desk team.The Chef will be happy to hear that you enjoyed both breakfast and room service I am sure! Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times since Nov. 2012. The service has been great. The people working there are friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. I would recommend if in the DC area. O’Malley’s Pub has great food. The breakfast buffet was great for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night in December 2012 for an office Christmas Party. By the time I woke up the next morning I had red bug bites all over my body. I requested acopy the last bed bug inspection report and confirmation of an inspection of the room in which I stayed. Needles to say...I haven't received it to this day. I also spoke with the insurance company for the hotel, provided pictures of my bites, as well as a list of all the items which had to be replaced. My claim has been pending for weeks and I haven't heard a thing.

DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello, Janine M –

First and foremost, I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing top-notch experiences for our guests, so I assure you that your review will be thoroughly addressed.
As you know, you and I did not get a chance to speak in person at the hotel; I only spoke to your sister, so unfortunately I didn’t get an opportunity to see the bites. However, per our conversation, we had Steritech, one of the industry’s most prominent pest control providers, conduct an inspection of your guest room on December 20th (three days after you checked out) and I am relieved to say that there were no signs of bedbugs.
As I mentioned to your sister when we spoke at the hotel, the inspection results from the report were sent directly to the insurance company.
Regardless, please know that I am extremely regretful that you didn’t have a good experience at our hotel. I assure you that we take the matter of bedbugs extremely seriously, so when there is any type of bedbug claim we take thorough measures to ensure that our beds are clean and bedbug-free.
If there is anything we can do for you, or if you would like to discuss this in person, please feel free to contact me directly at any time.

Thank you,
Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel could easily charge double what we paid ($70 with discount). We were greeted by friendly front desk staff and given complimentary snacks and bottled water. Our dogs were welcome here. I am a Priority Club member so we were given free passes to the breakfast buffet ($24 value). They keep a pool attendant/lifeguard on duty so the pool is clean and as warm as bath water. We stayed to attend a New Year's Eve party and had a blast. The breakfast is above average for hotel buffets and the waitress (Maria) was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Book in advance and compare prices for various discounts (i.e., AAA, Senior, Govt/Military, Entertai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our friendly front desk staff. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the New years Eve Party and were able to experience the pool as well. I will be sure to pass along your nice comments about breakfast to Maria! Thank you again for your comments and continued loyalty as a Priority Club Member.

Safe travels,
Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel, but did visit the pub on the bottom floor. It's next to the pool, but has no direct access to pool area. Very inviting environment- it looks like what I picture a British pub looking like. Not crowded at all, which is nice. Service is very quick and the wings are great!! There are TVs at every booth along the walls and 3 at the bar. Since its in a hotel, there are fans of many different teams. Lighting is low and makes it cozy. This may be my favorite new sports bar!! Prices are reasonable too!!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your review of our O'Malley's Pub. We are happy to hear your compliments and will be sure to share them with our TEAM.
We look forward to serving you in the future. Thanks again and safe travels!

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, located in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor northwest from the attractions of Washington, DC. Rockville, Germantown and Frederick are also nearby. IBM, Lockheed Martin, NIST, DOE and Hughes are within minutes of this Gaithersburg hotel, as are the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Lake Forest Mall, Maryland Soccerplex, BlackRock Center for the Arts, and the Rockville and Cabin John Ice Rinks. The hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius, including Rockville Amtrak and Shady Grove Metro stations.Corporate travelers will appreciate this Montgomery County hotel s 301 executive rooms with plenty of work space and extra amenities. All guest rooms feature free wireless & hard-wired high-speed Internet access. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day! Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the indoor pool at our hotel. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center with whirlpool and sun patio. Enjoy American cuisine at the Village Park Cafe and Kids Eat Free! When it's time to unwind, O'Malley's Irish Pub is the place to enjoy your favorite beverage and a late night snack. We are also a pet-friendly hotel! Let the staff and outstanding service at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg make your stay a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.