We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Experience Repeated” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Rospk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Experience Repeated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just because you have a good experience one time, it doesn't mean that future visits to a particular hotel will be the same. However in the case of the Holiday Inn in Gaithersburg Maryland, the visits consistently have been outstanding experiences time after time. We make it a point to choose the Holiday Inn in Gaithersburg just for that reason having tried out many other hotels in the area.

The facilities are very clean and well maintained. The rooms and furnishings very comfortable. The staff is very pleasant, friendly and most helpful. I would like to recognize the front desk manager, Isidro Alberto, for his professional efforts to make our stay enjoyable, relaxed and making sure that everything goes right.

Travellers are very interested in getting value for their dollars. Once again, the Holiday Inn in Gaithersburg is an excellent example where the pricing is very reasonable and the value for the dollar is very great. The food was plentiful and tasteful.

The hotel being very near to major roads and highways also was most convenient for us since we could easily reach different places. Having a giant mall across the street is also very convenient.

Room Tip: We were very satisfied with rooms in different locations in the hotel at the different times we stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a response about our property and the nice comment about Isidro Alberto, he will love to hear your kind words! I am happy to here that your stay was enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit and wish you safe travels.

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    56
    37
    15
    24
See reviews for
66
25
20
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia,pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel was clean, bed comfortable and the employees were nice. Getting in and out of the parking lot was not easy. The WIFI was ok, slow at times. The hotel had 4 or 5 boy's soccer teams staying so needless to say, the breakfast buffet was not moving too smoothly in the morning (more help in the dining room when you have a hundred hungry boys staying would be smart). I have to give a shout out to Alania at the desk (hope I spelled it right). That girl had the biggest smile and a great helpful attitude. She helped us with directions and answered our questions. I don't know how many hours a day she works but everytime I needed something there she was!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay.Your comments are especially meaningful when it comes to taking care of and satisfying guest! I have shared your comments with our staff at a recent meeting and they meant a lot. We hope to see you again soon!

Safe travels,
Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is okay for people with cars, but access to central DC is not that easy. There is a big sign on the building, but as several companies are located on the premises, the actual entrance is not so clear. There should be signs on the street towards the optimum entrance to the parking lot, plus on each door that gives entrance.The free shuttle service to NIST and the metro subway was perfect. One morning the driver had not shown up, but they arranged taxi transport instead.
The rooms are okay with good internet connections, pillows and chairs. The bathroom was a bit tiny compared to the room itself. The hallway and entrance are the opposite: quite long and not so cosy. Breakfast area good and excellent, personal service. Nice staff in general. Good gym facilities and big enough pool. Ideal for a long-term stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nice place with a friendly staff. We stayed over a weekend. The food is generic at the restaurant/bar, but there are plenty of other places within walking distance to eat. Wireless was crawling at a very low speed until the early morning hours. They didn't serve a free breakfast in the morning either.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel has a 3-star rating, but compared to other 3-stars in the Maryland suburbs of Washington, D.C., it comes up short. From the odd lobby layout, to the parking garage with half the spaces taken by some nearby auto dealer's new car inventory, to the wobbly table in the room that serves as a poor excuse for a desk to the finicky in-room WiFi, the Holiday Inn - Gaithersburg will not be my first choice for future stays.
On the plus side, the pool area is very nice & the 3-cup carafe in-room coffee maker is much better those 1-cup drip-into-the-cup kind.

Room Tip: If you plan to work in your room, request a room with a desk instead of a wobbly round table like I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and your recent stay. I only wish it could have been more positive. I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and Chief Engineer and the issues will be corrected. Thank you for letting me know and we wish you safe travels.

Melvin Nichols
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Service, Service, Service. If you want an experience where staff go out of their way to make sure you are comfortable and satisfied with your stay. From shuttle service, front desk, restaurant, pub, housekeeping or maintenance the staff of this Holiday Inn did not miss any attempt to make my stay comfortable and pleasant.

Room Tip: Staff focus completely on service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIGaithersburg, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about our service and your stay. I will be sure to share your review with the Team here at the hotel! Thanks again and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the hotel that we stay at whenever there is inclement weather, and the stay is always great. The staff is very helpful and I have had no problems with any of the other services. Definitely a great place to go and stay if in need of a hotel in Gaithersburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, located in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor northwest from the attractions of Washington, DC. Rockville, Germantown and Frederick are also nearby. IBM, Lockheed Martin, NIST, DOE and Hughes are within minutes of this Gaithersburg hotel, as are the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Lake Forest Mall, Maryland Soccerplex, BlackRock Center for the Arts, and the Rockville and Cabin John Ice Rinks. The hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius, including Rockville Amtrak and Shady Grove Metro stations.Corporate travelers will appreciate this Montgomery County hotel s 301 executive rooms with plenty of work space and extra amenities. All guest rooms feature free wireless & hard-wired high-speed Internet access. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day! Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the indoor pool at our hotel. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center with whirlpool and sun patio. Enjoy American cuisine at the Village Park Cafe and Kids Eat Free! When it's time to unwind, O'Malley's Irish Pub is the place to enjoy your favorite beverage and a late night snack. We are also a pet-friendly hotel! Let the staff and outstanding service at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg make your stay a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.