We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Gaithersburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Gaithersburg
GreenLeadersGold level
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I was travelling with 2 other companions, one on business, the other on vacation, along with myself. We needed 2 rooms and this hotel was recommended due to the proximity to the IBM business center. After viewing the reviews on here about bed bugs, we were very concerned, so we called the manager to express these concerns before booking the rooms. The manager did not deny there had previously been an issue, and explained that all of the rooms are now thoroughly and regularly inspected. We were also told that the hotel had been experiencing renovations over the past 2 years, and we were given 2 of the newly renovated rooms in the North tower on the 7th floor.

The rooms were absolutely beautiful, everything was new and extremely clean. My room was the smaller one and still had a microwave and mini fridge, in addition to being spacious, while the other room was equipped with a full kitchenette and was even more spacious in size. The beds were also incredibly comfortable, and there was a darkening shade on the window, so I slept very sound every night. The staff were extremely nice and very helpful, they assisted us in acquiring the hotel shuttle (included with the rooms) to and from the nearest metro station, from which it was easy to go to downtown DC.

Breakfast was included with the room, and there was a large, varied buffet provided in one of the dining areas every morning. All of the employees working in the breakfast dining area were also very nice and extremely personable. Upon checkout, we told the manager that our stay was extremely pleasant, and we could not have been happier with the accomodations. We had no concerns whatsoever with the previous bed bug issue, and were so happy with our stay that we extended it for one extra night. I would highly recommend this hotel and would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: The newly renovated rooms are in the North tower on the 7th floor, but they book up quickly, so try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Dear Interested Traveler,

I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and your kind comments. I would also like to thank you for choosing us for your most recent stay. Thanks again! we look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
The Holiday Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    55
    34
    13
    21
See reviews for
61
23
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here after visiting DC. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. When a problem arose (a dog barking in the next room constantly), they moved us to another room. There was a very nice hot breakfast buffet that was free for Priority Club members. The hotel was very clean and inviting. The staff made time to chit chat with my daughters. The manager was great. After our stay, he made a follow up call to make sure our stay was satisfactory.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Ashriella,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments about your stay at our hotel. I am happy to hear we were able to resolve the barking dog issue as well. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to serving you and your family in the future.
Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Park, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed one night while visiting family. Hotel was clean, front desk polite. As Priority Club member, we got complimentary breakfast buffet which was very good and more than a muffin and coffee. Only complaint is with the pool attendant or "lifeguard". My daughter & grandsons were enjoying the pool and within minutes a full tour bus-load of rowdy teenagers arrived. They were jumping in the pool and running around with no word from the "lifeguard" who actually had earphones in his ears. My family decided it was time to leave. Another mother also left with her kids saying "someone is going to get hurt here".

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear onholiday_10,

Thank you for your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your expierence at the pool and reassure you that it has been addressed. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

O.k. place to stay but not room user friendly for bedside reading, etc, no lighting on either night stand, annoying, very odd for a business type hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hello Flechar,
Thank you for your review of our hotel and the feed back about the lighting. I have past your review on to our Engineer and asked for some recommendations to improve the lighting in that room. I would like to thank you again for choosing our hotel and look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The quality of this Holiday Inn is way above the norm. I spent three nights and had an opportunity to see first-hand how the staff work, and they are impressive. Food quality in the lobby cafe was good and a nice breakfast buffet is offered free to Priority Club members. I slipped in a Friday night at a promo rate (I understand the same promo may be avilable on other nights) that included a discounted room plus $30 credit at O'Malley's Pub. The credit applies to food and/or drink. On separate nights, I tried O'Malley's strip steak (very good) and herb roasted chicken (also very good). Food and drink prices are reasonable for the area - much less than downtown DC. My room was comfortable, quite, very clean and the hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. This is my new first choice for lodging in the Gaithersburg MD area. Special thanks to Brenda in the bar - she's a pro! (Note: Wednesday is karaoke night in O'Malley's - other nights are much quieter.)

Room Tip: The hotel is on a corner at the intersection of two busy streets. My room faced the main road and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Vistar,

First thank you so much for your review of the hotel. We would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg as your home away from home on your most recent visit. We appreciate your review and look forward to serving you in the future.

Thanks again!
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I ve been staying at this hotel for years and know the staff there is exceptional. They recently remodeled some rooms that really utilize the entire room. From headlamps over your bed to the couch tucking into the corner. I think they should really consider doing all of the rooms this way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Hi Max J,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are always trying to improve our product and service to our guest and receiving reviews helps.We would like to thank you for choosing us and look forward to serving you in the future. Thanks again!
Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Many thanks to Isodro and Trudy for making our stay truly exceptional this past weenend. We especially loved the accomodations and was made to feel very special. Also much appreciation to Orville at O'Malleys for the special attention given to us. Have stayed at this hotel many times and have always noticed the great service and attention to detail. Will recommend this hotel again and again. P. M.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinNichols, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear P M

Thanks for your review of our hotel and O'Malley's as well as your nice comments about Trudy,Isidro and Orville we will be sure to pass them on. Thanks for choosing our hotel and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Sincerely,
The Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gaithersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gaithersburg

Address: 2 Montgomery Village Ave, Intersection of Rte 355 & Montgomery, Gaithersburg, MD 20879
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Gaithersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gaithersburg
#2 Business Hotel in Gaithersburg
#3 Green Hotel in Gaithersburg
#4 Family Hotel in Gaithersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Gaithersburg 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, located in the heart of the I-270 High Tech Business Corridor northwest from the attractions of Washington, DC. Rockville, Germantown and Frederick are also nearby. IBM, Lockheed Martin, NIST, DOE and Hughes are within minutes of this Gaithersburg hotel, as are the Montgomery County Fairgrounds, Lake Forest Mall, Maryland Soccerplex, BlackRock Center for the Arts, and the Rockville and Cabin John Ice Rinks. The hotel offers free shuttle service within a 5-mile radius, including Rockville Amtrak and Shady Grove Metro stations.Corporate travelers will appreciate this Montgomery County hotel s 301 executive rooms with plenty of work space and extra amenities. All guest rooms feature free wireless & hard-wired high-speed Internet access. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day! Business and leisure travelers alike will enjoy the indoor pool at our hotel. Maintain your exercise regimen in our fitness center with whirlpool and sun patio. Enjoy American cuisine at the Village Park Cafe and Kids Eat Free! When it's time to unwind, O'Malley's Irish Pub is the place to enjoy your favorite beverage and a late night snack. We are also a pet-friendly hotel! Let the staff and outstanding service at the Holiday Inn Gaithersburg make your stay a memorable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Gaithersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gaithersburg Hotel Gaithersburg
Gaithersburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gaithersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.